Ginger-Capsicum Fried Rice

I’m a sucker for Chinese food and when we dine out, most often than not, I pick Chinese cuisine (you can guess the argument that ensues!). Nowadays, we aren’t eating out that much cos of two things…work’s keeping us busy so we just flop tired in front of the TV on weekends. And two, we are trying our best to eat healthy. Sure, eating out once in a while never did anyone any harm, but we’ve both turned into health freaks off-late.

I made us this simple rice entrée on the weekend cos I felt like some Chinese food and we didn’t feel like going out. If Abu doesn’t go to the mountain, the mountain comes to Abu yeah? Also made us some Baby-corn Manchurian to go with this and we enjoyed a relaxed meal as we caught a wonderful Romantic Comedy flick on our Home Theatre, and laughed hard…something we hadn’t done in a long time! As you may have already guessed, we had some wine to go along with our meal, and I’m not really sure what made us laugh so hard – the movie, the wine, or a combo of them both. I’ll leave that for you to figure. Hic! 😉

Ingredients:

  • Jeerak Samba Rice/Jeera Rice (short-grained, fragrant rice used in Chinese cooking) – 3 cups
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium-sized; finely chopped)
  • Capsicum/Bell-pepper – 2 nos (large-sized; finely chopped)
  • Ginger – 2″ long piece; finely chopped/minced
  • Garlic – 8-10 pods; minced/crushed (alter to suit your taste)
  • Green Chillies – 2-3 nos (or as much as you like; finely chopped)
  • Spring Onion Shoots – 15-20 nos (chopped to 1/2″ pieces)
  • Soy-sauce – 1 tbsps
  • Chilli-sauce (optional) – 1-2 tbsps (or as much to suit your taste)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Ghee – 2 tbsps
  • Oil – 1 tbsp

Note: I do not use MSG or Ajinomoto in my cooking since it is believed to be very un-healthy and cancer-causing. If you are using it currently, I urge you to stop using it cos some of the things I’ve heard about it are not so pretty at all.

Procedure:

  • Set the rice to cook with rice:water in 1:2 ratio. Ensure you add about 1/2 tsp of salt to the water before you place in the cooker. I cooked my rice in my rice-cooker and got perfect, non-sticky and separate grains of rice once done (You could even use your normal, everyday rice. Only, it wouldn’t taste just the same, so don’t say I didn’t warn you!).
  • Once the rice is done, gently spread on a wide plate and let it cool, preferably under a fan whirring in full speed. Don’t stir too much, else you’ll end up with mashed rice. Just let it do its thing while you get the other things ready.
  • Now, heat oil in a wok. Add the finely chopped onions, ginger, garlic and green chillies. Saute on a medium flame till the onions are cooked tender and the whole house starts to smell like a Chinese restaurant.
  • Add the spring onions and saute another 2 minutes till they wilt.
  • Next, throw in the chopped capsicum/bell-pepper and continue to saute till the capsicum is cooked too.
  • Add adequate salt (don’t forget the rice has salt added too, so be careful of how much you put in). Stir well.
  • Add the ghee, stir well and let the lovely aroma fill your nostrils. (This is my secret ingredient in place of MSG. Try it..it works wonders! All you need to do is walk a mile or two extra the next morning, and you’re not guilty anymore)
  • Simmer the flame and add the soy-sauce and chilli sauce (if using). Ensure you simmer before you add the soy-sauce, else you’ll end up with a funny, burnt taste in the fried rice…something I’m sure you wouldn’t relish. Stir well.
  • By now the rice would have cooled. Use a long, flat spoon/spatula and gently flatten out any lumps in the rice. Add the rice to the wok , stir well to incorporate and cook on a high flame for 3-5 minutes, stirring continuously.
  • Remove from flame and serve hot with some appetizing Manchurian or some Sweet-n-Sour Sauce, or any other Chinese gravy of choice. Bon-Appetit!

Psst, Happy All Fools’ Day to y’all! Have fun fooling around! 😉

15 responses to “Ginger-Capsicum Fried Rice

  1. I can imagine how the house would smell when u make this:-)) I LOVE Chinese food in a big way!! Sure gonna try this out, and thanks for that tip on the soy. Psst.. have had that funny smell in my fried rice on more than one occasion and now I know why.

    Waiting for the BCM!!

  2. Great presentation, Madhuri…and, needless to say you have my tummy growling. I can eat Chinese food all day, all year round! Will try this one soon!

  3. I’m loving the ginger rice – but even more seeing the glass of red wine at the back! Now I know why you were laughing hard at the romantic comedy – it was the wine! LOL!

    I would love to eat this – love the flavor of ginger!

  4. And now I’m waiting for the Baby corn Manchurian recipe and pictures!

  5. HI madhuri, You’ve been presented with the prestigious ‘Inspiration award’:)..Kindly accept it and you inspire me to always try something new everyday…keep going.

    Inspirational…

  6. The click is absolutely beautiful…..

  7. Jayashree Rajan

    Hi Madhuri! Love the way you write! You’ve missed your vocation you know,should’ve been a writer or journalist! Lovely recipe n the tip abt simmering the fire before adding soya sauce will be very helpful to many including myself.Only,i prefer high quality non sticky basmati to jeera rice in my fried rice.I feel it gives a better flavour. Jeera rice has the advantage of being non sticky compared to ordinary basmati n much cheaper too. About you n your hubby not having laughed for a long time, I find that hard to believe…with Madhuri around, can laughter be far behind??????? 🙂

  8. Wat a fantastic fried rice..makes me drool..

  9. Looks so delicious…and a very tasty combo!

  10. Madhuri! I am envying your husband who gets to eat these treats! Yeah I am man! I have always enjoyed home cooked fried rice than the oil loaded ones outside. And your’s look delicious!

  11. We want manchurian recipe toooo !! 😀 😀

  12. Thanks All!

    @Anu: You bet! (hic!!)

    @Jayshree: Thanks so much for those compliments. I’m seriously considering taking to writing when I get bored of being an Architect 😉 Oh, and these past few months have been horrendous with hubby being too busy for anything (that includes his terribly bored wife) and we hadn’t had a chance to sit down and have a decent conversation in ages, which we did that day. Its back to the grind now. Luckily tomorrow being a weekend, Im hoping for some respite.
    Oh and btw, from what I’ve known, Basmati rice isn’t used in Chinese cooking; they use only the short grained rice for their rice entrees. Basmathi rice is best suited for Indian rice specialties. But hey, whatever goes for you!

    @Shubhada: Thanks very much babe! 🙂

  13. Madhuri, it’s really awesome. I tried it and it was yummy. Thanks for sharing this recipe. And above all, i love the way you write. All the best.

  14. Thanks for posting this!

    regarding the MSG debate – I find the argument against it a bit lopsided – I mean the Chinese ppl use it almost everday – and they’re doing just fine!

    Plus MSG exists in most snacks and condiments we eat on a regular basis, even in maggi noodles…. whenever a packet says “no added msg” it means small amounts are very much there, extra amounts are not there (and most of us think ‘no added msg’ is the same as ‘no msg’)

    They say MSG + regular salt is what harms you – but MSG in moderate quantities cannot harm you..of course hypertension cases might want to stay away from both salt and msg

Leave a comment