Sprouted Moong Salad

The hubby and I were watching a movie yesterday evening, and we suddenly had the urge to snack on something but we dint really feel like gorging on any junk food. I suddenly remembered that I had some sprouted moong lentils in my refrigerator, and voila!…in 5 minutes, I had our healthy snack ready! 😀

IMG_1099

Ingredients:

  • Sprouted Moong – 2 cups (uncooked)
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium sized – finely chopped)
  • Tomatoes – 3 nos (medium sized – finely chopped)
  • Cilantro – a fistful (finely chopped)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Kala Namak powder – 1/4th tsp
  • Lime juice (from half of a large lime)

Serves: 3-4 persons

Method:

  • Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl and keep in the refrigerator for half hour.
  • Serve chilled for a refreshing snack! It can also be served as a salad along with a full course meal. Go ahead, eat healthy!

I usually make this salad with raw, sprouted moong. I have even heard of some people cooking the sprouted moong before making the salad. However, I prefer the uncooked version any day…for that crunchy and refreshing taste! You could even try this with other lentils like chickpea (white channa/kabuli channa)…but unlike sprouted moong, chickpea has to be cooked first before adding to your salad.

This crunchy salad finds its way to Padmajha’s ‘No Cook’ Event. Thanks Padmajha, for having this one!

4 responses to “Sprouted Moong Salad

  1. Beautiful salad that is! I’ve some sprouted moong in my fridge… will try this salad with that 🙂

  2. Sure, and do let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  3. I tried it and turned out pretty good. I had enough sprouts to try the raw as well as cooked versions and liked them both. I added a couple of pinches of channa masala (as I ran out of chat masala) along with the other ingredients though 🙂

  4. Oh wow, thats great! You could try using Kala Namak next time…in case you have it handy that is. The yummy twist it lends is unbeatable 😀

Leave a comment