Crunchy Peanut Cake | Chikki

I remember first making this, or rather help make this favourite time-pass snack when I’d been over to my maternal Grandmom’s for my summer hols. I guess I was about 10-12 years old then. I kept pressing Nani (as I would lovingly call her) to teach me to make some snack. Since we both shared the love for Chikki, we decided to make some. I was eagerly assisting her with everything, or ahem, was I actually getting in the way?…I don’t really know! 😀

Yesterday, I was remembering Nani so much and decided to make something she’d taught me. The first thing she had taught me was to make Chikki. So chikki it was, in fond remembrance of my dear Nani 🙂

IMG_1093

Ingredients:

  • Peanuts – 1 cup
  • Sugar – 3/4th cup

Serves: Makes roughly about 25-30 pieces (note: depends on the thickness you roll it to)

Method:

Note: Please work on a low/simmered flame for this preparation. I would also suggest using a non-stick wok/kadai to make it less messy to clean later on 😀

  • Dry roast the peanuts (I did it in the microwave, for about 2-3 minutes).
  • Remove the skin and coarsely powder the peanuts. Keep aside.
  • In a wok, melt the sugar till it turns into a caramel/liquid consistency, stirring continuously. (do not add any water).
  • Once you see the sugar having melted fully, immediately add the coarsely powdered peanuts and stir well real quickly. The mixture hardens very fast, so you have to work really quickly from this step on.
  • Remove from flame and pour onto a greased platform (you could thoroughly clean your kitchen counter, grease it and pour the mixture onto it).
  • Now, quickly roll the mixture with a greased rolling pin to a desired thickness. (I rolled it to a thickness of 1/2 inch)
  • Immediately make square cuts as deep as you can go. If you are not able to cut through and through, ensure you get atleast the grooves which will help you snap it into pieces once it has cooled and fully hardened.
  • Once cooled, snap the chikki into pieces and store in an air tight jar in a cool place.

You could even replace the peanuts with cashewnuts or other dry fruits…they do turn out very well.

IMG_1090-1

4 responses to “Crunchy Peanut Cake | Chikki

  1. I think you can use jaggery too instead of sugar. My mom made it with jagegry most of the time. That’s the taste I remember. I’ll try with sugar though !

  2. Sure, jaggery works too. But I like the one with sugar better. Sugar chikki has more of a caramelized taste, and that’s unbeatable! I do agree that the one with jaggery is healthier. Well, like they say…everything that is tasty is bad for your health 😀
    Do try this one when you get a chance…its a lot less messier than the one with jaggery.

Leave a Reply

