Low-fat Microwave Carrot Halwa

Cricket fever is on full-swing. Getting the man of the house to pay attention to what you’re saying has become next to impossible even after repeating most sentences a dozen times. Most of you (I mean the women here) reading this would definitely nod your head in approval. There’s just one way to get the man to pay attention to you at times like these…dish up the most lip-smacking meal. While he’s being the perfect couch potato, if you can just spend a few minutes in the kitchen on and off and make a special meal replete of a special dessert, I’m sure he’ll turn to look at you atleast once for an appreciative nod and a charming smile during dinner, so much so that you’ll even forget he was ignoring you all the while 😉

We had a favourite couple over this weekend, and with two men around and that too during a cricket match, I couldn’t but help dish this up to have after a nice and simple home-made Chinese meal of Vegetable Fried rice and No-fry Cauliflower Manchurian Gravy. I know what you’re thinking…Chinese food and Carrot halwa? Yeah, summer’s here and the sweet pinkish winter carrots will be gone soon so I had planned to make the carrot halwa anyway. And the carrots were grated and ready too. Try stopping me once I have my heart set on a dessert! So I made this quick-fix dessert alright, and we enjoyed it to celebrate India’s victory South-Africa’s victory (yeah what a bummer that India lost). What’s more, since I made this microwave version, I didn’t spend too much time slaving on it and since it was low-fat, we didn’t feel guilty digging into it either. I have always loved Amma’s traditional, rich carrot halwa recipe which entails cooking and stirring the halwa in a large kadai over the flame. That halwa is to die for. This time however, I thought I’d let my MW do all the dirty work so I could put my pretty feet up on a chair and enjoy the halwa with relish. Thank god for Microwaves. And thank god for gadgets that make our life so much easier.

Low-fat Microwave Carrot Halwa

Ingredients:

  • Long pinkish Winter Carrots – 5-6 nos, large-sized, cleaned and grated (should make about 2 – 2 1/2 cups grated carrot)
  • Sugar – 1/2 – 3/4 cup (I used 1/2 cup since we like our desserts just mildly sweet. You could use upto 3/4 cup depending on your sweet tooth)
  • Low-fat Milk – 2 cups
  • Skim-milk powder – 4-6 tbsps
  • Ghee – 2-3 tbsps
  • Elaichi/Cardamom powder – 1 tsp
  • Almonds – 1/4 cup, blanched and slivered
Serves: 4 persons

Note:
  1. I prefer to use the long pinkish winter carrots for my carrot halwa since they’re naturally sweeter, and hence more suitable for the halwa; regular carrots would work just as fine too.
  2. I’ve used skim-milk powder in place of khoya to make us a low-fat version. I must tell you though that there was absolutely no compromise on the taste. If you don’t mind the extra calories, feel free to skip the skim-milk powder and use khoya instead.
  3. My Microwave sets to 900W at 100% power, so the cooking duration may vary with yours. Please use the recipe as a guideline and work out the cooking time as per your MW.

Procedure:

  • In a microwave-safe bowl, heat the ghee at 100% power for 30 seconds.
  • Add the grated carrots, stir and microwave at 100% powder for about 5 minutes.
  • Add milk, sugar and the skim-milk powder. Stir and microwave at 100% power for 10-12 minutes. Stir the mixture every 2-3 minutes.
  • Cover the top of the bowl with a cling film and punch a few holes on top using a knife/fork. Microwave at 60% power for another 10 minutes till the carrot is completely cooked and the milk has been absorbed by the carrot.
  • Sprinkle the cardamom powder and the blanched and slivered almonds (I roasted the slivered almonds in 1 tbsp ghee and then added them to the halwa). Stir lightly and microwave at 100% power for 2 minutes, this time without the cling film. Allow to stand for 5 minutes.
  • Serve hot with a dollop of vanilla ice-cream. Bliss.

For someone who won’t even care to look at sweets, the hubby asked for a second serving. Soon after he finished his first bowl-full, he was heard saying “Hmmm, verrrrry nice. Some more please” Now, that’s something coming from him cos he hardly ever is vocal about such things. See, didn’t I tell you that you can have this effect on the man even during the World Cup? The way to a man’s heart is indeed through his tummy 😉

Low-fat. Microwave. Carrot halwa. It really cannot get better than this.

Here are a couple of servings just for you. Want to pick them up? Feel free…I laid them out here just for you.

PS: How do you like my shiny new white Ramekins? Needless to say, I love them. Thanks a million Dee, for lugging them around for me all the way from across seven seas. Every time I look at these ramekins now, your sweet smile flashes across my eyes. You rock my world. Hugs.


14 responses to “Low-fat Microwave Carrot Halwa

  1. Seems very easy to do. But whenever I have tried MW cooking it hasn’t come out well. So am a bit apprehensive about it.
    The ramekins look fantastic. Now you can make a veg versions of puddings and creme brulee.

  2. WOW halwa is making me drool ….Like ur ramekins too 🙂

  3. I was about to ask you from where did you get ramekins here….You are so lucky to got this as a gift 🙂 I’m sure after serving this low fat treat, you were successful to snatch away few moments while watching Match

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  4. I love carrot halwa a lot…. and enjoyed reading your recipe. And the story line you had mentioned was so true and fun to read. 🙂

  5. I agree with u about these men and cricket 😉 and what a way to draw their attention!! worth a try for sure!! LOL

    http://tamalapaku.blogspot.com/2011/03/first-event-announcement.html

  6. Super cool..Sri has been asking for carrot halwa and I have been postponing it just to avoid the stirring part of it…:-)…So, will surprise him with this ….As always, Thanks , Madhuri

  7. Thank God hubby and kids aren’t into watching cricket or I would have gone crazy! And yes, thanks to microwaves and all the other wonder gadgets that make our lives easier and help us gorge on stuff with less guilt 🙂

    The halwa looks just yumm, I must make this too before these lovely carrots disappear…

  8. Halwa looks absolutely droolworthy..Lipsmacking here..

  9. Oh yeah ! Your Mother’s halwa is to die for!! I miss it. Believe it or not, carrot halwa just makes me think of her 🙂

  10. Love your low-fat version, I also love how you have presented it.

  11. I am going to pick up a nice big bag of carrots on my next grocery trip. I loved these clicks, babe. The polka dotted cloth, the spoons, the background, the recipe….and oh, the ramekins…. muhahahaha 😛

  12. Lovely clicks Madhuri…Loved the ramekins too…I am sure you were waiting to use them!!! Love that hand made paper…and the light in yur kitchen! The halwa looks yummy and very scoopable!

    Shobha

  13. Wow wow and wow! One for carrot halwa, second for microwave and a third one for low-fat!
    Lovely…

  14. Hi Madhuri,
    Looks great ! am sure it would taste great too …

    And for Deepa who was wondering where you can get ramekins here….
    Treo ( I think the brand which makes Milton plastics, not sure) has lovely ramekins with lids … I saw them in our crockery shop in Hyderabad, am sure will be there in other cities as well.
    Here is the link :
    http://www.treo.in/product.php?recnum=18&ID=12

Leave a comment