Flax seed-Mint-Garlic Chutney podi

A cholesterol-free, healthy chutney podi version from Daddy dearest. Yet another successful experiment of his which I’m proud to share with you all. After chocolate, my next favourite flavour is garlic so no doubt this podi had me sold all the way. What I particularly loved about this chutney podi is what the mint and garlic do to your taste-buds…they tease and they taunt, and before you know it you’ll be reaching out to the jar to get some more onto your plate. The nutty flavour from the flax seeds works wonders too. Those of you following this blog should know by now about how I obsess with flax-seed. So does Daddy. Like father, like daughter. This traditional spice powder with the coeval healthy twist is a must-try. Traditional chutney podi uses dry copra and I don’t deny that it lends a beautiful distinct flavour. However, this healthy version does not make you miss the copra one bit. I urge you to give it a shot. It’s totally worth it.

Flax seed-Mint-Garlic Chutney podi

Ingredients:

  • Channa dal – 1 cup
  • Urad Dal – 1/2 cup
  • Methi/Fenugreek seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Salem Chillies (the hot variety) – 8-10 nos
  • Byadgi Chillies (the colouring variety) – 8-10 nos
  • Tamarind – a lemon-sized ball
  • Jaggery – 1 1/2 tbsps
  • Curry leaves – 4-5 sprigs, sorted and cleaned
  • White sesame seeds (optional) – 2 tbsps
  • Hing/Asafoetida – 1/4 tsp
  • Flax seeds – 1 cup
  • Mint leaves – one big bunch, sorted and cleaned
  • Garlic – 5-6 pods
  • Salt – to taste

Procedure:

  • Lay a cotton cloth in 2-3 layers on a flat surface. Spread the sorted and cleaned mint leaves on it and allow it to dry in the shade for 4-5 hours. You could do this in the morning, so then it will be ready to go into the chutney podi in the evening.
  • Once you’re all set to make the podi, do a mise en place…it does help you get organised, and all the ingredients look so vibrant and colourful. You should also stop to take a picture of your mise en place. It’d make a very pretty picture.
  • Dry roast the flax seeds, allow to cool and powder in the mixer. Set aside.
  • Dry roast the channa dal, urad dal, and methi seeds together with the hing, till the dals turn golden brown and fragrant. As the dals start to turn golden brown, tip in the garlic, sesame seeds, and lastly the dried mint leaves as well. Transfer roasted mixture to a wide plate and set aside to cool.
  • Dry roast the red chillies till they turn fragrant. Tip them into the wide plate along with the dals.
  • Next, dry roast the tamarind, and lastly the curry leaves. Tip these into the wide plate as well.
  • Allow the entire mixture to cool.
  • Grind this mixture in batches, along with jaggery and salt to taste, in the mixer. The dals should still be a little coarse after you’re done.
  • Once done, mix in the ground flax seeds. Allow the mixture to cool, and store in an air-tight jar.
By the time our chutney podi made it to the air-tight jar, it had reduced to half its original volume! I loved having this chutney podi with dosa, idliakki rotti and most of all, with curd rice. Yummmmmax! And what’s more, there’s no guilt feeling associated with this one. In fact, with the flax seed, mint and garlic, you’re only doing your body good by including this chutney podi with your meals. Now that I’ve told you all of this, there really is no stopping you from trying this one is there? 😉


20 responses to “Flax seed-Mint-Garlic Chutney podi

  1. I have a packet of flax seeds, that my husband got when he was in this ‘health freak’ mode .. I now know what to do with it ..

  2. Hey Madhuri,
    I had never heard abt Flax seeds until I saw ur blog…A BIG THANKS to u….i have fallen in love with it too… I add a tsp of Flax seed powder to all my saarus , chutneys & palyas…I will try this recipe for sure & let u know…

  3. I was looking for recipes using flax seed and your post came right in time. Will surely try it Madhuri. Love the addition of fresh mint leaves.

  4. Excellent looking flavourful podi..

  5. Wow! I was just thinking of finding everyday-recipes with flax seeds.. and this one is a perfect one for people who love chutney pudi!
    Will try this soon…

  6. This chutney powder falls into the ‘must try’ folder for sure..the sooner the better else it would get into the ‘forgotten folders’ ..thx for this gr8 recipe!

  7. Hey, one doubt, won’t flax seeds lose out on nutritional value when they are roasted?

  8. Very yummy podi.Great idea of using flax seeds in it..

  9. Me and my kids gorge on chutney pudi, eating it with anything and everything. I normally run out of this within a week of making the pudi. This is super-tempting with flax seeds, garlic and mint, healthy is a BIG bonus! Will try ASAP! Lovely pictures!

  10. That’s looking yummy. Wishing you a very Happy Valentine’s Day!

  11. Hi Madhuri,
    I made this yesterday… was great ! Only – I could not add the colouring variety chillies from my grocer.. he had run out. But I thought I should go on and make it any way.. It turned out very well, tastes awesome. Only it does’nt look so good, may be due to the fact I omitted the colouring chillies…but still.. wonderful idea to use flax seed in chutney powder, hats off to your dad and you to have thought of it.
    Oh yes, and thanks for letting us know roasting doesnt kill the nutrition value.. all this while I was powdering the flax seeds ( to add to oatmeal) with out roasting.

    • Valli,
      Thanks so much for writing in to let me know you made this. You are very kind. I told my dad about your comment the instant it came in, and he was so happy to hear about it too.
      Yes, I think the loss of colour can be attributed to the absence of the colouring variety of chillies. Im sure the taste was just as great as what Daddy made though 🙂 Thanks a million for your feedback! Really appreciate it.

  12. Healthy and delicious accompaniment!

  13. Yeah, very nice!

  14. seemz delicious……. without jaggery can v do this chutney ??

  15. Hope you remember me. I was your student at one of the baking class 🙂
    I made these & it turned very tasty. I have made some minor changes to the original. Will be posting about it in my blog soon. Thanks for such a healthy pudi.

  16. thank you for a delicious podi as you said it is terrific with curd rice

Leave a comment