Basic Eggless Sponge Loaf Cake

There are times when you want to bake just because it makes you feel good, and there are times when you want to bake just so you can feel good. You get the difference? I sure as shooting hope that you do, ‘cos its rather important to be able to tell the difference, else you wouldn’t understand me. This was a time when I wanted to bake something just because it would make me feel good on a lonely and boring Saturday afternoon. The hubby was out for lunch at some official party, and me, the bored wife was home alone, twiddling thumbs and wondering how I could while-away the afternoon that lay before me. And then, with a twinkle in my eyes, I thought – “What else other than baking would make me feel good?” Baking being my BFF, I knew it wouldn’t let me down whatsoever. Yeah, that was it…I was gonna bake something alright, but at the same time, I didn’t want to slog too much either. I am like that sometimes you know, just plain lazy, wanting to have my cake and eat it too (pun intended)!! So I set out to make the simplest cake ever, from one of my Nita Mehta cookbooks. You have to make it yourself to be able to take my word for this being the simplest cake ever. I did modify the amount of sugar that went in b’cos I thought the original called for too much. The cake tasted just fine, so I’m putting down the recipe with my proportion for the sugar.

Ingredients:

  • All-purpose flour/Maida – 1 1/2 cups
  • Sugar – 3/4 cup (The original called for 1 cup)
  • Baking powder – 1 1/4 tsps
  • Baking soda – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Thick curd – 1 cup
  • Cooking oil – 1/2 cup (I used Rice Bran)
  • Vanilla essence – 2 tsps

Procedure:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 200C/400F. Grease a standard-sized loaf-pan (7″ x 4″) or a 7-inch round pan and set aside.
  • In a bowl, mix the curd and sugar till the sugar dissolves completely. To ease the process, you could powder the sugar once you have it measured, and then stir in with the curd.
  • Once done, stir-in the baking powder and baking soda into the curd mixture. Mix well and set aside for 2-3 minutes. The curd will turn frothy and start rising and increasing in volume.
  • In the meanwhile, sieve the flour thrice and set aside.
  • Add the oil and vanilla essence to the curd mixture. Stir gently so that the air in the mixture is not lost.
  • Next, gently fold in the flour. Dont stir very vigorously; ‘gentle’ is the mantra. The batter should have a lovely dropping consistency. At this stage, I couldn’t help dipping a finger into the batter and licking it up. You should do it too!
  • Pour the batter into the readied loaf-pan and bake in the pre-heated oven for 10 minutes.
  • Lower the temperature to 180C/350F, and bake for another 35-40 minutes. (It took exactly 35 minutes in mine).
  • Remove the loaf-pan from the oven, do the toothpick test to test doneness.
  • Once it is done, though you’re raring to let the cake cool and dig into it, do one last thing, and you’ll thank me for this – Using a pastry brush, gently brush the top of the loaf with milk and stick it back in the oven for 2 minutes at 200C/400F. This is what gives the loaf that wonderful glazed finish on top. See that glazed finish in the pictures? Yeah, that’s what I’m talking about. I love the glaze and the browned top. Trust me, the crumbs around there are just out of this world!
  • Once done, remove from oven and let the tin cool on a wire-rack for 10 minutes. Upturn the loaf from the tin and let it cool on the wire-rack for a good amount of time before you can slice it.
  • Once fully cooled, slice the bread with a bread knife/serrated knife and get down to attacking it!

What’s best is that you cannot taste the curd! You will most certainly love this cake in terms of simplicity in making, and taste too. So don’t think too much, run into your kitchen right away and make yourself one of these, ‘cos it pairs perfectly well with your afternoon cuppa. I’ve given you the perfect excuse now…so GO! Don’t forget to come back and let me know how you liked it. Run along now 🙂


81 responses to “Basic Eggless Sponge Loaf Cake

  1. wow , that is super easy and less fat as well :).. what more I can ask for .. looks too good ..

  2. I vouch for the terrific, melt-in-the mouth taste of this one as I have made this too and on the same day as u made… same pinch!!! Thanks to Nita Mehta, we have one egg-less cake which is seriously good and oh-so-easy to make!! Lovely pics Madhuri!!

  3. Wow! What texture of this lovely baked goody. Would surely bake it to make me feel good 🙂

  4. Looks perfect!! I was looking out for one eggless version, will try this one. I experienced a power cut on sunday just as soon as I put my cake in the oven and the first thing that came to my mind was ur post :). Guests were at home and I didnt know what to do! After a quick brainstorming session, i decided to put the tin in AMC vessel I had and luckliy the cake turned out good enough to save my maana 😉

  5. Hi Madhuri this is my first time here and do I need to say am bowled over? you are an amazing baker and before reading this post I just drooled over at your other baked goodies. beautiful page with so many mouth watering recipes. this cake seems awesome with so less fat and the texture looks just perfect.

  6. Very moist and spongy cake!

  7. Just one word – YUM!! My co-sis gave me this recipe and I loved the simplicity of this cake,so easy to make and so so delicious too!!Here’s my version – http://divyascookbook.blogspot.com/2010/05/eggless-vanilla-cake-with-chocolate.html

    One more thing[which is completely irrelevant]- I have the same silver platter..I’ve used it here – http://divyascookbook.blogspot.com/2009/07/cherry-almond-loaf-cake.html

  8. Awesome! the texture looks so good I cannot believe it has not eggs. Great! Thanks for this recipe I am bookmarking and sending it to a friend who has been asking for a egg less cake for a while now.

  9. Thanks for arming me with this one….Now, I am SO ready to ditch Iyengar Bakery 😛

  10. Looks fab… will be trying this soon. loved the tip of adding the baking powder and soda to the curd to create the froth…

  11. Ok..I’m going to run to go bake this but let me comment before that like you said.

    A basic sponge cake is the only cake that my husband actually voluntarily likes eating – all the other I force him too! And I normally don’t eat a lot of this because of 2 reasons – 1. its normally got too many eggs and 2. its too white for me. (you know what I mean – I miss the brown in there). But, your recipe here will take care of my #1 complaint and I might just overlook 2 and eat it up.

    When is your husband going on his next official weekend party?

  12. Prefect looking and super soft cake, tempts me a lot..

  13. lovely cake!! thanks for sharing eggless version

  14. Loved the recipe..will surely try it

  15. This whole loaf is for me!!!
    Going to try this sooooooooon.
    Thanks.

  16. cake looks super soft n spongy dear …love this eggless version very much …yummy
    Satya
    http://www.superyummyrecipes.com

  17. This looks so good for an eggless version. I will be making it.

  18. No Nivedita..I want some too 🙂 great pics and droolworthy cake!

  19. I couldn’t believe that this is an eggless cake. So moist it is and the texture is so perfect. I was looking for an Eggless cake recipe, so that I can make it for my friend’s birthday. Thanks so much for sharing this.
    & Happy Ganesha Chaturthi to you and your family.

  20. hey Madhuri… great cake / bread… will try this one tonite… just thinking though if I shud replace vanilla with lemon, orange or ginger… ?

  21. Good information. I know that using curd will produce an Eggless sponge cake. But I was using the baking powder and baking soda into the maida and sieve it and allow it to self raise. Now after reading your blog I shall try it. Theoratically I hope your preparation method should work great

  22. Thanks a ton for this recipe. Been looking for some simple eggless cake for tea time. I tried this out yest….it turned out awesomely awesome! 🙂 It was so spongy and tasting delightful! Been a constant follower of your other delicious preps too. Keep it coming!!!

  23. Amazing cake!!!!
    This was my first eggless cake and it’s the best! I’ve never enjoyed baking cakes hence always avoided. But today is my dad’s birthday and I was asked by my sister to bake a cake. I was opting to by a ready made mix, but then she encouraged me to try at home since the mix was expensive.
    So I dared to try this recipe and my family was full of appreciation! It’s so soft and spongy! This is better than any egg-in cake I’ve tried!
    Thanks for posting 🙂

  24. As I write this, I am munching on a tiny slice of the cake Madhuri.
    Neither i taste the curd nor do I feel that oil has been an ingredient:)
    Perfect with tea, though it is about lunch time here and I am indulging while the actual lunch is in being prepared stage..Howzzat? ( I’m not hungry…just that the cake is sitting there and …fill the rest of the scenario)

  25. Hey Madhuri!!! Baked this cake today!!! Wow!!! Came out Great!!!
    Actually made it in two Silicon Moulds, one the normal and the other as a Chocolate Cake!!!! Whole place is smelling Vanilla!!!!
    Thanks for sharing Dear!!!

  26. What can I say? Even a thousand scented candles would be useless when compared to the aroma of this one baking in the oven. And does it taste good? Boy, that’s an understatement!! Thanks heaps, Madhuri. Loved it to the hilt!

  27. Madhuri – What a lovely and easy recipe.
    I made it last night for my son’s birthday. It came out perfect – just like your pictures. I couldn’t resist, had some tiny crumbs stuck on the pan 😉 (don’t tell the birthday boy) – it was amazing. This was my first time baking with yogurt, so I was a little apprehensive of the final product – since I had an excited, cake loving 5 year old to please. Will let you know the crowd’s verdict later, but I was happy with the result… and my kitchen smelled awesome. Thanks for a great keeper.

  28. Annapurna Ganesh

    Madhuri, splendid recipe for a sponge cake. I just baked it, the aroma has spread around the house. Turned out spongy, soft and delicious. Your idea of reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup worked very well as Ganesh does not like items that are too sweet – was perfect. Thank you very much. 🙂

  29. Hey Mads,

    Tried this awesome recipe when i had all the guests over at my place…and it was such a hit that i had people asking me to bake it every day (3 days in a row i obliged…but of course happily since even i enjoyed eating it as much as i did baking it..) with just a few changes like i used WWF instead of Maida,reduced the oil a bit and added a bit of fresh orange juice also reduced about 1/3rd of the sugar since it was just right for my taste this way, and i also reduced the amount of vanilla essence since that’s how they like it at my place…wullah…it turned out awesomely moist…again like everybody has said earlier…this one’s a grabber…and guess who got to eat the heavenly crumbs mostly..??? 😉 I Absolutely lOved it…!!! & i am sending in the pics of the same…& i even posted it on my blog with all due credit to CCN & You…;) Thankx babes & Take care..Inspire more..!!

  30. Every time I see a great post I do one of three thing:1.Forward it to all the close friends.2.save it in some of the common social sharing websites.3.Make sure to come back to the same blog where I came accross the article.After reading this post I’m seriously concidering doing all three…

  31. Hi,
    Lovely blog! thanks alot for this great recipe I made it yesterday. I added 1 teaspoon vinegar to the mixture and made half into chocolate,so I got a marbled effect.
    It was great,I iced it with nutella choc and hazelnut spread.

    Please send me an eggless victorian sandwich/sponge cake recipe if you have one.

    Thanks again and keep up the good work.

    • Thanks so much for the testimonial Sidhi. Really appreciate you letting me know your experience after trying this recipe. It’s a very mutual thing…its people like you that keep me going.

  32. Oh, I forgot to say that I used castor sugar and reduced the quantity to 1/2 cup ,it was just right.

  33. Alright.. i am gonna try this tomorrow if possible or during this week…This is so tempting..

  34. I tried this today Madhuri and it came out really soft and spongy. I replaced 1 1/2 cup sugar with 1/2 cup honey & 1 cup sugar. It was really yummy!!

  35. Hi Madhuri,
    I made this cake on christmas eve, had been trying to for a looooong time.
    But boy, was it worth the wait ! It came out so well. I followed the recipe to a T.. except that I added some tutti fruiti bits ( my kid wanted to). oh, and I used the microwave for four minutes, then took it out, glazed with milk, and used the grill for 3 minutes. Just letting you know so that in case some one wanted to do it even quicker, they can do that in the microwave.
    It was wonderful and I sent some to some friends and they loved it.
    I used up all the curd I had at home, leaving only a little for my hubby – and I love curd, cant do without it .. but then, I had been wanting to do it for so long and I had decided I will make it, no matter what, even if it meant no curd rice (gasp!)
    I took pictures but … well the pictures dont do the cake justice.. but I had an impatient kid tugging on my hand – WAITING to eat the cake ! 😀
    am sending you one pic.

  36. Hi, I am planning to make this cake soon, can you please let me know thehow much is 1 cup curd in gms and 1/2 cup oil in ml? I usually use 250 gms as 1 cup and 250 ml as 1 cup..let me know your version..thanks a lot in advance!

  37. Hi Madhuri

    I am new to baking, and I tried this cake as my first cake attempt…It turned out VERY GOOD.. I was looking out for such a starter cake recipe and I got it from your blog, that I got linked to, from Nags of Edible Garden (Yet to try her Banana Cake next) …Thanks for the recipe.

    • Thanks so much for the testimonial Rekha. Really appreciate you letting me know your experience after trying this recipe. Your testimonial will always be remembered since its the 100th testimonial Im receiving on the blog.

  38. Hi Madhuri,

    I was attracted to your website when I was looking out for eggless sponge cake. Your description of the recipe, the photographs attracted me.
    Thanks for such beautiful explanation.

    I tried your recipe and it came out pretty well.

    One observation I had was that the cake dipped in the middle. Do you have any suggestion to avoid this. (I could not have baked the cake any longer as the outer had already become quite brownish)

    Thanks again!!

    • Thanks so much for the testimonial and all your kind words Anitha. Really appreciate your gesture. So sorry about the late response though. I don’t know how I missed seeing your query.
      About the cake dipping in the centre, there could be two reasons. One, the position of the rack in the oven when you baked in it. I hope it was positioned in the middle. Two, it could be the baking powder. Was it stale, or did you accidentally add a little more than the recipe mentioned? Im hoping its one of these two reasons and that I’ve helped figure out your problem. Do write back to me and let me know.

  39. Hi Madhuri di…
    Hope you’re doing good…this cake recipe is awesome. I had tried one more cake earlier but that was a disaster…this one turned out to be great, all thanx to you…will be trying other recipes of urs too. I have already become a fan of your’s :).

    Regards
    Neha

  40. Can u tell me which book of Nita Mehta has this recipe? Thanks.

  41. Made this again. Loved it again. And, will make it again. This is such a super-fast, delish, easy-to-bake cake. Lurrrv it!

  42. Hey Madhuri!
    A big thank you to you and the fellow reader who had testified err.. tastified this eggless basic sponge cake.
    Last time i had tried baking an eggless cake, it wasn’t satisfactory, so i had kind of given up baking eggless cakes – esp the basic ones! But i so badly wanted to make one for my niece’s birthday yesterday and started searching, when i landed here (well, i am a regular here and remembered reading this one earlier). But all the testimonials from others halped me decide THIS is the recipe that I’m gonna follow. I did, and voila! What a nice sponge cake i got! My inlaws, cousins, their kids, my hubby all loved it! And i’m gonna keep this recipe for long… will blog about it next time i make it, of course with credits to you… Couldn’t take good pictures as i baked it in the evening….
    Thank again!
    Cheers,
    Sum
    http://sumscuisine.blogspot.com/

  43. Tried this recipe with exact measurements and steps…it came out perfectly. My quest for an egg less sponge cake ends here. A BIG Thankyou! 🙂

  44. Hi dear
    Thanks a lot for the recipe. I am rare baker, just bake cake n cookies
    To my son birthday parties. I had not tried sponge cake before coz
    Everybody tell it won’t be good without eggs. But after I came across
    Ur blog n saw pics just gave a shot for school celebration it was ok but
    Second time I baked for celebration at home n it turned out great thank u so much. N I baked it in round pan. Thanks again will let u know how did others like it after party.

  45. Sudha Narayanan

    Made this wonder yum yesterday! Told you I cannot resist this one till the weekend!! 🙂 Tasted like heaven! The sugar quantity you’ve mentioned was perrrfect! It was slightly less spongy than I had expected, because when I was following you ‘mix it in gently, mind you’ statement, the flour didnt mix well without lumps when I did it gently, so I was slightly rough on it, not too much though and mixed it well.. **hiding under the chair**.. 🙂 But it was lovely and A and me finished the whole loaf in no time!!! Thanks a lot for the recipe! Please let me know how I can improve this! And I had one more doubt, can I replace oil with butter in this recipe?

  46. Ok, Madhuri, As promised before, here is my post about your Eggless Sponge recipe….
    http://sumscuisine.blogspot.com/2011/05/eggless-basic-sponge-cake.html
    Once again, Thanks!

  47. HI
    from your blog to my kitchen.
    Thanks for such a lovely and simple recipe
    http://niveditaskitchen.blogspot.com/2011/07/basic-sponge-egg-less-cakefood-remake.html

  48. Thanks a ton for the suggestion to make this cake..I enjoyed making it and now my niece is enjoying eating it..It is a perfect recipe and I wuld recommend this to anyone who loves eggless cakes..Thumbs up for this recipe

  49. Hi Madhuri, just dropping by to say THANK YOU! This worked really well-i didn’t miss eggs in my bake at all :). And the best part is, your recipe has just the right amount of sweetness. Thank you, thank you!

  50. hey can v use ghee instead of oil.pls reply me

    • Hello Deepa,
      Why would you want to use ghee in place of oil? I would understand if it’s the other way round, but not this!
      I haven’t tried making this cake with ghee, so I cannot tell you for sure. If you really insist on using ghee, use melted ghee instead of oil.

  51. Hihi

    Greetings from Singapore. I’m a Chinese and I stumpled upon yr website when I goggled for eggless vanilla sponge cake.
    The texture of the cake really attracted me so much I made my own curd even though I had never really done it before.
    The curd came out great and I went on to make the cake as per yr instructions.
    The cake ( I made them into little cupcakes) came out great and the texture is indeed spongier and softer than other eggless cake that I had made.
    We had some durian so I added some pureed durian into the cupcakes too! But I hasn’t tried the taste of the durian cupcakes. Haha
    Would like to say ‘Thank you’ for the easy and nice recipe.
    Enjoyed it alot 🙂

  52. Can I mix cocoa powder and make a marble cake with this recipe? If so, how much cocoa powder do I add, and do I need to make an adjustment to the rest of the ingredients.

  53. hey Madhuri
    THE RECIPE of basic sponge loaf cake was very helpful it turned out wonderful today on dussera i am going to make it for my relatives thanx 1 again!!!!
    just wante dto know if u conduct workshops in Delhi as well pls tell as soon as possible i am thoroughly interested
    my phone no.9810404821 or u reply up here i;ll check !!!!!!!!
    manharika

  54. Thank you for this awesome recipe. I have been baking this cake for the past four months, on my third daughter’s monthly birthday and each time it comes out finger licking good!

  55. Hi
    I tried this recipe, the taste and the texture was really awesome, but the top crust of the cake gets broken. i did it twice and i followed your step-by-step procedure, but still it happend both the time…Any reason, or modification i can do to that! please help….

  56. Hey Madhuri!!! 🙂
    I tried a couple of cake recipes from the Internet (None of which used curd) . But i used to get a depression in the middle every time and that part of the cake simply sticks to the dish while flipping over! Eventually came across this recipe of yours and tried it ! Guess what ? It was so perfect . The texture was lovely and the cake was incredibly soft . Thanks a tonne! 🙂 I have a query . The measurements you have mentioned gives me one layer . Say i want to make twice the quantity of cake (to make it like a birthday cake with icing etc for which i’ll need two layers) , do i just double the measurements ? What about the heating time ? I tried this along with a friend of mine by doubling the quantity and it turned to be a disaster 😦 Please help! And in case i want to make it chocolate , do i just replace half cup maida with cocoa powder ? Is that enough ?

  57. Hey hi Madhuri,

    Thank u soo much to share such an awesome recipe. its my first valentine after my wedding n was looking out for eggless options, by gods grace found ur recipe….. i hv tried eggless cakes with condensed mil but dint find the texture all that great..
    I true enjoyed baking ths recipe.. Hope Vinit (my husband) like it too! 😉

    Thanks a ton once again!! Cheers

    ~ Neha!

  58. Prefect Recipe………..:-)

  59. What consistency must the yoghurt be like? greek yoghurt or will a thick but runny yoghurt do the job as well?

  60. hi madhuri..wanted to try this recipe as the base cake for your pineapple pastry recipe.But,will refrigeration affect the texture of the cake..ie..will it be still soft even after refrigeration..Also can you please help with the measurement for baking thiscake in a 9″round pan? Thank you..

  61. Hi, I tried using this recipe too. The cake came out well. However, I noticed that small lumps were formed when I mixed the flour. Is that normal? What could have been the reason?

  62. Such a simple recipe. My cake is inthe oven right now. I wll update on how it turns out 🙂

    thanks for this!

  63. Tried this yesterday, came out perfect! thank you. it was such a welcome to use curd in a cake recipe instead of eggs or butter.

  64. Thank you so much for this recipe.Even though making an eggless cake may feel really simple but not without a perfect recipe. I have tried so many simple eggless sponge cake recipes but yours is “The Best”. Thank you my cake came out just perfect,so happy.The only problem I had it had few cracks on the top while baking,is there a way to prevent it?
    Again thank you for this perfect recipe,its been bookmarked in my favorites!

  65. I blog often and I sriously appreciate your information. Thhis article has truly peaked my interest.

    I am going to take a note off your site and keep
    checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your
    RSS feed as well.

  66. Thank you so much for this superb recipie.. I finally suceeded in making a cake nd it turned up to be so soft and yummy…. Thankx

  67. Enjoyed reading this. Will enjoy making and eating it too!

  68. How to make mixed cake like normally Iyengar bakery offer??

  69. The pics look great and I definitely want to try it. Some eggless recipes call for the use vinegar. So I’m a bit unsure whether to follow this recipe or another that uses vinegar. I’m afraid of baking in case it becomes a mess 😦

    • Yachna, I urge you to always follow the recipe to the T when it comes to baking since it is an exact science.
      Once you take the bull by the horns and gain more confidence, feel free to experiment 🙂

  70. Hi Madhuri,
    Today I baked this cake and added tutti frutti, it came out perfect, thanks a lot. Can I post this in my blog by giving you complete credit.

Leave a comment