Eggless, Butterless 5-minute Microwave Chocolate Cake

Did you know that ‘stressed’ spelt backwards gives you ‘desserts’?? So when you get stressed, go dig in to some dessert to reverse some of that stress! What a lovely idea, don’t you think?!! Yeah I know that its bad to do, but dont we all eventually reach out to the proverbial treat to help us feel better when we’re upset/stressed about something? Yeah, that’s what I thought too! Im no saint when it comes to food…I need to have my share of sinning so I try and bake healthy to feel less guilty when I do sin once in a while. This was an experiment inspired by the ‘2-Minute Chocolate Wonder Cake‘ since I had to bake quite a big cake for a party at home. Turned out just perfect!

CCN completes 6 wonderful months today! Love you all for being so supportive and encouraging as I take each baby-step 🙂

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour/Maida – 1 1/2 cups
  • Cocoa – 1/2 cup
  • Granulated Sugar – 1 1/2 cups
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Baking Soda – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Flax seed powder – 4 tbsps mixed in 1 cup warm water
  • Milk – 1/3 cup
  • Water – 1/3 cup
  • Oil – 1/3 cup (I used Rice Bran)
  • Vanilla essence – 2 tsps

Note: If you wish to make a Vegan version, omit the milk and increase both water and oil to 1/2 cup each.

Procedure:

  • Grease and dust a 8-inch square or 9-inch round microwave-safe glass/silicone pan.
  • Stir the flax seed powder in 1 cup warm water and allow to rest for 5 minutes, till the mixture turns gelatinous.
  • Sift all the dry ingredients together (flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt) and transfer to a wide bowl.
  • Add the sugar, stir well to incorporate.
  • In another bowl, mix the milk, water, oil and vanilla essence. Stir well.
  • Add this to the gelatinous flax-seed mixture and stir.
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix just until there are no traces of the flour.
  • Pour the batter into readied pan and bake on high for 5-7 minutes (My microwave sets to 900W at high power. Please check yours and increase/decrease the time by a minute or two, as required).
  • Give it a standing time of 5 minutes and put it through the toothpick test to check if its done well. Stick it back in the oven for a couple more minutes only if required.
  • Once done, let it cool in the pan for a while. Turn onto a wire-rack and let cool completely before you serve it.
  • Serve with a dollop or two of icecream, topped with nuts and chocolate sauce…aaaah, divine!

Note: If you wish to bake this cake the conventional way, you will need to bake at 180c/350F for about 45-50 minutes, till done.

Apart from giving in to your cravings/urges, this cake is also perfect for when you’re having a party ‘cos it just takes about 10 minutes to put together. Give another 10 minutes for the cake to bake and dessert is fixed already! Bake it the previous evening so it gets it share of time to cool and when it’s time for dessert on the day of the party, bring it out, cut into equal portions and serve with a dollop or two of ice-cream, top it with some chocolate sauce and some nuts (if you like) and watch everyone’s eyes go wide from the first signs of food coma!

Update: This cake was showcased by me at a Cookery Competition here in B’lore in June ’10, and it was the First prize winner!! It is also the most sought-after recipe on CCN. Have received nearly 10-15 testimonials already, and looking forward to many more!! Thanks to all those who tried this cake and let me know that you loved it…warm hugs!

37 responses to “Eggless, Butterless 5-minute Microwave Chocolate Cake

  1. I see your sinner face reflection on the chocolate. Mean you…drooling me.

  2. I am in food coma just seeing it…! I’m ‘dying’ to eat this HEAVENLY click
    Did you eat the whole thing? That is soooooooo NOT fair.

  3. this is just looking awesomely yummy….simply mouthwatering..nice clicks…can u pls lemme know subsitute of flax seeds /eggs as well ..i just want to make this and have it immediately but im not getting flax seeds here (in melbourne )…thanx sonal
    http://www.sonu-palatecorner.blogspot.com

  4. I agree with Deepti 😉 Food coma here too!!! Hey what cocoa do u use? U’ve got lovely rich dark color there! Envious!

  5. hey lovely cake and very easy too..will def try and let u knw..lovely pic too.

  6. Hey Mads…
    Thanks so so much for the recipe.. I made this for Pradipto’s birthday and people at home thought it was bought at a cake shop and being served. They didn’t believe it was home-made! All kudos to you!
    And more importantly, a hearty congrats to you and CCN for completing 6 months.
    Thanks for sharing such wonderful recipes! Wish you all the best ! 🙂

    Love
    Kruthi

  7. Looks sinfully good Madhuri!! What better than a dessert and a chocolaty one at that to drive away the blues 😀 Congrats on completing 6 months!! With you all the way!

    CCN rocks gal!!

  8. Wow,thank you for the eggless recipe yours looks gorgeous.I have a query, is it safe to use cling film while microwaving?

    • Thank you! Yes, its absolutely safe as long as you make sure to punch some holes in the film once you have covered the container. Else, it might just result in a cake bomb inside your microwave!! So, please don’t forget to punch those holes in 🙂

  9. Awesome Clicks & mouth watering Cakes !!
    Belated New Year Wishes to U !!

  10. wow this looks delicious,will be glad if u send this for mec kids party food event

  11. I have to try it like now. I am going to get cocoa powder and make it. Beautiful click and congrats on completing 6 months. And, wonderful info on “stressed” and “desserts”. I never knew it before 🙂

  12. Yummyilicious cake, prefect for chocoholic person like me..

  13. Oh my my, that looks absolutely yummmilious, mouthwatering dessert’…moist and rich:)

  14. What makes it so dark ??

  15. What a color..How did you get that 😀 Such a decadent cake, Madhu Congrats on your milestone 🙂

  16. Thanks All, for the wishes and the encouragement!!

    @Anu: Lol 🙂

    @Deepti: No, I did not eat up the whole thing…gosh, no way! I did share one piece with the bitter half, to make him a little less bitter 😉

    @Mallika: I’ve used Cadbury’s Cocoa powder.

    @Shubs: Sure, please do.

    @Prakruthi: Hey, my pleasure! And thanks so much for the wishes…hope to keep going 🙂

    @Suma: Thanks so very much!!

    @Deepthi: Belated New Year wishes to you too!

    @notyet100: Sure, I’d love to!

    @Priya Mitharwal: Thanks so very much for your wishes!

    @Manju, Namitha: Its the cocoa powder! 🙂

    @Namitha: Thanks so much for the wishes girl! 🙂

  17. Divine madhuri..for a chocoholic like me..this is really slurp..!!!and really a wonder cake.. without butter .yummy..madhuri..this looks awesome with the sauce.off i go to prepare..and feel..Divine thnx for this recipe..

  18. Hey, cool cake! Why don’t u send it to my ‘no bake cake’ event!

  19. @Veena: Thanks much! Do try it out and give me your verdict 🙂

    @Aparna: Sure, I’d love to send it over!

  20. Gurl, just wanted to know ho wmany servings this makes. Tx! Yup, am gonna try it 😀

  21. I simply could not wait until you responded, so I tried makign this.. only change is I downsized it a tad bit and added Hershey’s chocolate syrup instead of cocoa powder. Will post it on my blog soon…with due credit to CCN and you, of course!! You are a TRUE inspiration for me. I mean it!

    I am waiting for it to cool down as I type this comment…It is time for the mister to get home from work and the entire space is filled with the aroma of the delicious chocolate cake…What a welcome!! I shud have done this on our anniversary may be? 😛

    Oh well, at least I have tried it now.. so I can do it again!!

    Thanks again babes!!!

  22. This is such a wonderful recipe. Bookmarking it, so that I have instant access when i get a dessert craving.

  23. Hey Madhuri!
    Perfect recipe…quick & yummy!
    Tried it out & came out just superb…will be preparing again for hubby’s bday!
    Thanks 🙂
    Waiting for ur Black forest recipe!

    • Bhagya,
      Thanks so much for the testimonial. Im really glad your family could enjoy the cake since it is eggless. I will definitely share the recipe for Black Forest cake very soon…just waiting for a couple of birthdays in the family later this month and early next month to make pastries. Planning to make a Pineapple pastry too…so watch this space for more 😀

  24. Tried this cake and it turned out absolutely wonderful! I however did add eggs and a tablespoon of regular coffee powder as a variation from this recipe..But the result was heavenly, and the cake tasted even better the next day…Such a quick and easy recipe…Thanks a ton!!!

  25. Baking a cake was always a dream for me as there was restriction at home for usage of eggs. Have tried baking eggless cake with the mix available in the supermarket but results were pathetic…you have made baking so easy & so simple that even a 10 yr old can bake a cake without any difficulty. I baked it for my son’s 6th Birthday & it came out so well that my son announced to the whole world that his mom had baked cake for his birthday!!! The joy on his face was because of you…Thanks a ton!!

  26. I have made this cake SOOOO many times. Its soooooo awesome, I actually have a whole post about it here – http://sinlessdelectables.blogspot.com/2010/10/marvellous-6-minute-microwave-cake.html !! 😀

  27. Very nice blog. Congratulations.

    Cool cake! Love the idea of adding flax seed. I did not know it could substitute for eggs.

    I try to incorporate flax seeds into the diet as much as I can. I add equal measure of flax seed as of Menthya while making menthyada dosai. It tastes really good and the texture is great!

    Thanks for sharing,
    Shaamala

  28. hi madhuri,
    today i made this cake..for my birthday…oh my..its an awesome recipe!
    i had plans of making some other cake..but due to last minute mess i made… i decided to bake this cake…wonderful..im glad i made this cake! i have already finished half of the cake all by myself 😀 thanks again for the recipe.

  29. Hi!
    I have never ever baked before in my life.
    Tried out your chocolate cake recipe and “baked” a cake for the very first time for a friend on her birthday.
    The result: A super-delicious birthday cake made by a beginner.
    Thanks a ton!

  30. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe….i had been searching one without eggs and that too for a microwave.. thanks a ton

    Harsha J

  31. hey madhuri, how are you doing !?? I want to make this cake once again (yep already made it twice) :D… but this time in microwave.. wont have access to an old school over… most of my earlier baking experiences with microwave baking have been disastrous… can you please share some effective tips !??

    PS – i have 3 other frnds with me here, looking fwd to your reply 😛

    • Hey Surabhi,
      I’m good thanks 🙂 Just follow the recipe here to the t, and you shouldn’t have any problems. The problem is when you have so much cake on hand and don’t know what to do with it 😉

      PS: Sorry about the late response. I’d somehow completely missed your comment.

  32. Rajeswari Rajaram

    hi madhuri,

    i just tried ur basic eggless sponge cake and it came out well, am looking for a basic eggless choclate sponge cake and am not able to get it, where should i search for it.

  33. Hey Madhuri ,
    Thank you for such good baking recipies that every time turn out to be successful….

Leave a comment