Spinach-Cheese Pancakes

Spinach/Palak is my most favourite among the greens. And why not, when it has so many health benefits. So don’t be surprised to see that there are a lot of recipes with spinach on the site. Remember I mentioned I always have spinach stocked up in my refrigerator? Yeah, I chose spinach over the other veggies today (though I had other veggies, unlike the other day). Aren’t pancakes a really quick fix for breakfast? Whip up the batter, pour them on the griddle to cook, and you’re ready to go in a matter of a few minutes! Pancakes per se, make those rush-hour mornings a lot more easy to deal with. So here’s another one to add to the collection.

Oh and btw, Cook-curry Nook has crossed 10,000 hits today, in just a little over 4 months of being on blogosphere! Im thrilled and tickled pink! Thank you all once again for being such avid and supportive readers! Do keep coming back for more and more…

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour/Maida – 1 1/2 cups
  • Milk – 1 cup (replace with water for a Vegan version)
  • Barley (optional) – 2 tbsps (finely powdered)
  • Flax seeds (optional) – 2 tbsps (roasted for 30 seconds in the microwave and powdered)
  • Spinach/Palak – 2 clusters (washed well, cleaned and blanched)
  • Green Chillies – 3 nos
  • Cheddar Cheese (grated) – 1 tsp for every pancake
  • Pepper powder – 1 tsp (alter to suit your taste)
  • Salt – to taste

Serves: 2 persons (If you have a husband like mine), else 3 persons. The batter makes about 10 pancakes.

Procedure:

  • Allow the blanched spinach to cool and puree with green chillies (without adding any water).
  • Mix together all the ingredients (sans the cheese) and stir well to form a smooth batter without any lumps.
  • Allow batter to rest for 30 minutes (if you can spare the time), else just prepare the pancakes right away.
  • Using a deep ladle, pour the readied batter onto a tawa/griddle, into slightly thick pancakes (about 1/8th inch thick, like set dosas).
  • Sprinkle cheese on top and cook on a low flame. No need to turn over. (I steam cooked mine to avoid using oil).
  • Serve hot with ketchup. Tastes yummmmmmmmy!


19 responses to “Spinach-Cheese Pancakes

  1. Looks yummy indeed! Great way to get kids to eat spinach…

  2. Healthy recipe with a beautiful colour!

  3. Such cute and gorgeous green pancakes with white spots, very delectable Madhuri..

  4. Looks like you are a spinachy person 😉 … a very innovative dish!!

  5. Thank you all!
    @Gomathy: You bet I am! 🙂

  6. Hey that looks yummy Madhuri!!

  7. Hey Madhuri…..me too a big fan of spinach. Tried this today and it came out real nice …and congrats on the 10000 hits…..like a lot of others I too benefit from your blog….this site helps me a lot in my experimentation of cooking. Thanks to u i’m now a little better cook.

  8. Hi Madhuri…ur friend Sudha introduced me to ur blog. Must say simple yet very delicious and mouth watering recipes. I did try your Spinach Cheese pancake and it not only looked attractive but also left me craving for more 🙂 U surely do inspire novices like me to cook more often.

    • Hi Rachitha,
      Thanks so much for your kind words. Inspires me to do more!
      I must say thanks to Sudha for spreading the word about my site…she seems to be doing a great job with it! Maybe I should more than thank her 😉
      Thanks once again for leaving your comment. Sudha did tell me about you yesterday. Hope you get to try more dishes from the spread here.
      Do check back often.

      Cheers,
      Madhuri

  9. Sudha Narayanan

    Mads, Can i substitute maida with some other flour, while retaining the taste? Thanks 🙂

    • Sudha, I wish you could and I could too. The problem is…this gets to cook only on one side. And since whole wheat and other flours take longer to cook, I doubt it 😦
      I can try it sometime and then confirm it to you. I don’t want disasters in your kitchen, on my account 🙂

  10. Madhuri,you can sure try this very nice pancake with chiroti rava. It will be just as nice.You need to give half an hour extra for soaking/seasoning.This will make the dosa crisp.

  11. Pancakes are amazing! good stuff ^^

  12. hey i hink i want to make this for my baby today… he is very fond of dosas & what better if i can make it with spinach! thanks madhuri for this recipe… I must surely try this one for him! 🙂 have a great day!!

Leave a comment