Phodanichi Poli

Khatta-meetha, tongue-tickling, crunchy-munchy! Who’d believe that left-over Chappathis can be turned into something so lip-smacking as this! And they taste best when made with chappathis that are a day old. Fresh chappathis don’t do much for this dish…so for once, eating something stale can be fun! I learnt this from my Marathi friend Bharati Kadam. Bharati, if you’re reading – Thanks very much for sharing this yummy and quick-fix Maharashtrian snack with me. We loved it, and it sure will be a regular on our menu from now on.

Ingredients:

  • Chappathis (a day old) – 6 nos (made into small pieces by hand or coarsely powdered using a mixer. I chose man over machine!)
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium-sized; finely chopped)
  • Green Chillies – 2 nos (vertically slit)
  • Curry leaves – a sprig; finely chopped
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a fistful; finely chopped
  • Lime juice – from one large lime
  • Red Chilli powder – 1 tbsp (alter to suit your taste)
  • Turmeric powder – a pinch
  • Sugar – 1 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Water (if required) – 2-3 tbsps

For the Tadka:

  • Raw Peanuts – 4 tbsps (I like them more. If you find it too much, reduce as per your taste)
  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Jeera – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida/Hing – a generous pinch
  • Oil – 1-2 tbsps

Serves: 2 persons

Procedure:

  • In a wok, heat the oil. Pop the mustard seeds and jeera, and add the asafoetida.
  • Add the peanuts and fry till they turn golden brown.
  • Add the finely chopped onions, green chillies, curry leaves and turmeric powder. Saute till the onions are cooked nice and tender.
  • Throw in the powdered chappathi pieces.
  • Add red chilli powder, sugar, salt and stir well to incorporate.
  • Sprinkle 2-3 tbsps of water if the chappathi pieces are a little hard. You could skip this step if they are still soft.
  • Cover the wok with a lid for a couple of minutes.
  • Once done, remove from flame, stir in the lime juice (remember to remove from flame before you add the lime juice, else your dish will turn butter, oops bitter!!)
  • Garnish with finely chopped coriander/cilantro and serve hot! I realised it also tastes lip-smackingly good with cool curd…try for yourself!

16 responses to “Phodanichi Poli

  1. I do somewat similar with those leftover chappathis, urs looks very tempting and droolworthy..

  2. Wow!! This is good lip-smacking use of leftover chapathis… will try this out Madhuri!! Lovely clicks!!

  3. Hail Maharashtra 😛
    Great pics babe.. and yes, this is defn. something they make back home and does taste yum-de-dum!

  4. Madhuri, love the pic and the sound of the recipe. Bookmarked, whenever I make left over roti’s sabzi , I am going to use this recipe 🙂

  5. They look soooooo gud. I must try them. Thanks for sharing.

  6. That looks like Chappathi Kotthu Parotta! Wow – next time I make chappathis, I’ll make extras and leave them over so I can make this! Looks gooooood..and I’d love to bite that green chilli with every spoon I eat! Wow!

  7. Maithili Kulkarni

    Yummy!!!!!I love it!!!!:) Back home mom also makes a sweeter version to go with this….its simple and quick…The coarsely powdered chapati is mixed well with jaggery powder(as you’ve mentioned,you can use you mixer for better blending).Add a dash of pure ghee and some ground cardamom.Make medium sized laddoos out of it.And Voila! you have Churmyache Laadoo!!!!:)

    P.S: This combination works something like the South Indian “Kharabath-Kesaribath”.:)

  8. Love this!! Definitely trying it soon 🙂

  9. I am planning to make chapathis for dinner and after reading your recipe I plan to make some extra so that I can prepare this tomorrow morning.Looks very tempting….

  10. Sudha Narayanan

    Hi Mads, tried this today for an evening snack. Deliberately made some extra chapathis after dinner yesterday. Lovely snack to munch and enjoy.. Loved the peanuts (being a big peanut fan 🙂 ).. Thanks for this lip smacking recipe.. !

    • Wow, feedback from two people on the same dish on the same day, within minutes of each other’s comments…could I ask for anything more from my readers? 😀
      So glad you guys loved it Sudha! Thanks very much for letting me know. And yeah, the peanuts definitely are akin to the icing on a cake 😉 (I love them too!)

  11. This surely sounds interesting, I must make this fr my kids.

  12. My kids will absolutely be delighted with this in their lunch box. Anything with peanuts usually works for them. I add tomatoes and eggs to the leftover chapatis but I like this one a lot more. Will give it a try and let you know.

  13. Was just skimming thru ur blog and I must say you have come such a long way with what you are doing here. Kudos!!

Leave a comment