Flourless Chocolate Cake: My Guest Post on Suma’s Blog

Every baker needs a good Flourless Chocolate Cake recipe in the repertoire, and I found this delicious sounding dessert just in time for my guest post on Suma’s Blog. Thanks Suma, for giving me an opportunity to be the first guest post-er on your lovely blog! I’m glad you could come over so I could pass on your share as promised 🙂

Do hop onto Suma’s blog for my guest post being featured there. And while you’re at it, check out the plethora of cakes Suma has on her space!

Flour is one of the ingredients so imperative to cakes and baking at large, so creating a divine dessert without flour did seem a little daunting at first. Everyone says they’re easy to make and all that, but I din’t know that yet. I was so so so skeptical to try it though it had captured my interest, first, because it dint have any flour, and second, no make it another first, because it was swooningly chocolate! But then, what kind of cake doesn’t have flour in it? Ok, I really had to (wo)man up to this challenge because I had to make Suma something more than your regular cake, something more captivating, for both, her and her blog readers. As I put the cake in the oven, I sent up a little prayer! Aaah, and when I finally dug into a small sample piece from the corner of the cake-pan, I wasn’t disappointed at all…it tasted like a bite of heaven! You won’t even notice the flour is missing (when do you really notice the flour in a cake anyway?) when this cake is topped with some creamy chocolate frosting or just dusted with some icing sugar and garnished with a couple strawberries. In short, this dense, fudgy, decadent cake is just too divine to put into words!

Ingredients:

  • Bitter-sweet dark chocolate compound – 500 gms; I used the ‘Morde’ brand (I prefer cup measurements, however, since it is pretty direct to use the store bought half kilo packet, im going with this)
  • Butter – 1/2 cup + 2 tbsps
  • Eggs – 5 nos, at room temperature (preferably large-sized)

That’s all…just 3 simple ingredients! The rest depends on how you interpret them. The recipe comes together very easily with a hand-mixer. I give full credit to mine.

Procedure:

  • Cut the dark chocolate into small pieces and microwave with the butter for 1-2 minutes till the mixture melts into a molten liquid. Remove once in between and give it a nice stir. The pieces on top may look intact, but don’t let that fool you…the insides will be all molten. The time it takes to melt completely, depends on the microwave. It took exactly 1.5 minutes in mine. You could also melt the chocolate-butter mixture on a double boiler, stirring often. For the detailed procedure check here.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 190C/375F. Grease and dust an 8″ square cake pan.
  • Now, while your chocolate-butter mixture is cooling, separate the egg whites from the yolks and put them into two separate medium sized bowls (I used the bowl that came with my hand mixer itself).
  • Whip the egg whites in a medium/large grease free bowl until stiff peaks are formed and set aside (do not over-whip or the cake will be dry).
  • With the same beater, beat the egg yolks together and set aside.
  • Add the egg yolks to the cooled chocolate. Stir well.
  • Next, fold in 1/3rd of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture and follow with remaining 2/3rds. Fold until no white remains, without deflating the batter.
  • Pour the readied batter into prepared pan (the batter should fill the pan 3/4 of the way full), and bake for 27 minutes. The top of the cake will look similar to that of a brownie when done.
  • Cool cake on a wire-rack for 10 minutes and then unmold. Serve with your favorite ice cream/frosting or just dust with some icing sugar, drop a couple strawberries on top, and dig in! I promise you won’t be disappointed!

I’m sending this over to Divya Kudua’s ‘The Best Chocolate Cake’ Event to celebrate her blog’s second anniversary. Keep them yummy posts coming Divya. Congratulations on your 200th post as well! Cheers…ching-ching!

22 responses to “Flourless Chocolate Cake: My Guest Post on Suma’s Blog

  1. Holly Molly…The pics are drooolicious! Please do overseas paaaaaarcellllls 😀
    You are indeed so lucky to be able to grab ingredients just when you want them by stepping outdoors. I have to drive miles to fetch mine!!

  2. Omg, cant take my eyes from the click…sooooooooooo perfect for me..

  3. Oh yes…drool..drool..droool

  4. Hey Madhuri! You got everybody drooling over this!! Thank you for guest-posting on my blog… enjoyed eating your delicious cake!

  5. oooooo.. lovely color ! and I am sure it needs no comments about the taste ! Must be heavenly 😦 Sigh !.. I cant grab that piece off the monitor and taste it right away..:) ..

    • Thanks G! How I wish we could grab all the yummy food off the monitor and dig in! When you come here later this year, I’ll make one just for you 🙂
      Pssst…Im giving you one more incentive to come to India! 😛

  6. Very sinful and tempting…good pics.

  7. Saw your post on Suma’s blog..too good. bookmarked..love the clicks!!

  8. hey I was wondering if I could replace egg yolks with EnerG ???! Do you think it will work?

    • Dear G, Im not very sure if EnerG would work because egg is what is lending volume to this cake. To be honest, I was thinking of working with an egg-replacer too: my favourite ‘Flax-seed’. I even contemplated doing it when I baked this one, but din’t want to take any chances since I had promised Suma a bite 🙂
      I will surely try out with flax-seeds and let you know so you can try an egg-replacer too.

  9. Thanks… I would love to know how it turns out with out egg also !! Flourless -sugarless- eggless cake !!!!!!

  10. The pics looks sinfully tempting….I don’t know when the lunch will materialize, this will definitely be on my request list…it better be. You rock Madhuri.

  11. i baked this yesterday for my boyfrnd’s birthday and its a hit !!! everyone louved it !! though i think i dint beat the eggs enough… but its just so yummy !!! and i took all the credit for baking a cake ‘from the scratch’ and not using a cake mix 😀 😀 Thanks a ton for the recipe !!!

    PS.: would be great if you can include serving size in your recipes. I wanted to make a smaller cake and wasnt really sure what to expect out of the portions you have mentioned !

  12. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

  13. Mads Karen here calling you mads he he .. dnt mind… anyways i just wanted to know How did you manage the colour of the cake… was it because of the dark Chocolate Compound… it look so so yum….slurrp slurrp….

Leave a comment