Neer Dose II (Instant)

Neer Dose is another Karnataka specialty which I love. ‘Neeru’ is Kannada for ‘Water’. The batter for this dosa is very watery and runny, and hence the name. I used to have this at my friend’s place during college days. Her mom would make amazing Neer Doses, and Peas masala to go with it. I approached my friend for the recipe sometime back. Tried it today (sans the peas masala) and it came out great. One more to break the fast! Thanks for sharing Bindu.

Like my friend Anu says, these turn out looking like delicate lace hankies!

Ingredients:

  • Rice flour – 1 cup
  • Maida/All purpose flour – 1/4 cup
  • Chiroti Rava (fine variety semolina) – 1/4 cup
  • Grated Coconut – 1/2 cup
  • Jeera – 1 tbsp
  • Sugar – 1 tbsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Curd – 1/2 cup
  • Onions (optional) – 4 nos
  • Green Chillies (optional) – 4 nos
  • Water – 2 1/2 cups

Oh, and did I mention another secret ingredient – ‘Patience’ ? Make sure you’re loaded with it! 😉

Procedure:

  • Make a paste of the onions and green chillies (if using).
  • In a bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.
  • Stir in the grated coconut, onion-green chilly paste, curd and water. The readied batter will have a very runny consistency. Don’t panic!
  • Using a deep ladle, pour the readied batter onto a hot tawa/griddle, in concentric circles. The batter will spread by itself. Do NOT attempt to spread the batter with the ladle, like you normally would your dosas.
  • Cook both sides on a low flame; it takes longer to get done than your normal dosas. Be gentle while turning the dosa over. (You know the first side is done when the dosa changes colour from white to an opaque off-white).
  • Serve hot with choice of chutney/spicy gravy. I’ll try and post the recipe for a nice and spicy gravy soon.

7 responses to “Neer Dose II (Instant)

  1. Hey, thanks for this. My variation of the neer dose is slightly different. Soak one cup rice for two hours. Add 1/2 cup freshly grated coconut and grind to a fine paste. Add 3/4 cup or more water for a runny batter. You can make these dosas immediately after the batter is ground, as this does not need to ferment. Some Mangaloreans add toddy to the batter for extra fluff. The dosas almost come out like lace hankies! Best eaten with fish curry / chutney.
    Or heat 1/2 cup of jaggery and 1 cup coconut in 2 tbsp of ghee, and cook it in a pan till the two have fused well. Sprinkle elaichi powder and serve with neer dosas.
    Waiting for your peas curry recipe.

    • My pleasure! And wow, your version sounds mouth-watering too. Im definitely gonna try it sometime soon. ‘Laced hankies’ is the best way to put it! 😀
      And thanks for the jiffy sweet coconut concoction to go with the neer doses too…one more bookmarked to try!

  2. This sounds awesome. Will try it soon.

    Is’nt it pretty close to how we’d make rava dosa. I think the only thing with rava dosa is that we vary the amounts of the three flours.

    As in for Rava Dosa I normally add about a couple table spoons of maida and rava:rice flour in a 2:1 ratio and make the batter runny, then add finely chopped green chillies, coriander, onions, coconut, salt and jeera. My knowledge of dosas is limited, so correct me if I’m wrong.

    I am gonna try neer dosa for breakfast this weekend. Yum-O!!

    • Deepti, yeah you’re right. Its pretty much similar to the Rava Dosa batter. Mine’s the same as yours…just a wee bit different in the proportion of rava:rice. Rava dosas turn out golden brown on both sides. This on the other hand, like my friend Anu Bijur says, turns out like delicate lace hankies 🙂

  3. Hey Madhuri, I too make Neer Dosa, but exactly similar to what Anu Bijur has mentioned above.This is way different from what we make. Mangalorean roots, u see 😉 Need to give a try.

    • Hey Mallika,
      Im positive that the version Anu and you make is the authentic one. I want to try it soon. I got my recipe from a Telugite…and Im sure it’s just an adapted, easier and instant version of the authetic Manglorean one.

  4. I’ve heard a lot about this – but never really had this! Will try soon – looks delicious – looks like I would just wnat to eat this with sugar. I love crispy rava dosas with sugar – that part of me never grew up!

Leave a comment