Oats Kharabhath

Most of you visiting daily must be wondering why Im eloquently posting breakfast recipes, that too emphasizing healthy ingredients. If you’ve done any guesswork, then you got it right…Im on this biggie ‘eat healthy’ spree this new year. Who says healthy meals cannot tickle your palette? Eating healthy certainly does not mean killing those poor taste-buds. Have some pity on them I’d say!

I tried this for the first time only today. Although I’d heard it being mentioned many a time before, I somehow din’t have the confidence that it would satiate my taste buds. But then I thought, why not! So this morning, I woke up all groggy eyed (‘cos I’d stayed up working into the wee hours last night) and went digging into my pantry, all set to make it as luscious as I could. And when I had the first mouthful, ooh-la-la…I had that giddy sense of accomplishment! So yayy for oats, and yayy for my ‘eat-healthy’ spree! Hope you enjoy this one.

Ingredients:

  • Quick-cooking Oats – 2 cups (toasted in the microwave for 2 minutes, or dry-roasted in a pan till fragrant)
  • Onions – 3 nos (medium sized; finely chopped)
  • Capsicum/Bell Pepper – 1 no (medium sized; finely chopped)
  • Tomatoes – 3 nos (medium sized; finely chopped)
  • Green Chillies – 3 nos (finely chopped)
  • Curry leaves – 1 sprig, finely chopped
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a handful, finely chopped
  • Salt – to taste
  • Turmeric powder – a pinch
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Oil – 2 tsps
  • Water – 4-5 cups
  • Grated Coconut (optional – to garnish) – 2 tbsps

Serves: 2 persons

Procedure:

  • In a wok, heat the oil and pop the mustard seeds. Add the asafoetida.
  • Add the chopped onions, curry leaves and green chillies. Saute till tender.
  • Add the chopped capsicum, and cook on a medium flame till done.
  • Stir in the chopped tomatoes, turmeric powder and salt. Cook till mushy.
  • Pour in the water and bring to a boil.
  • Gradually stir-in the toasted oats and cook on a medium flame till the oats are done and the mixture comes together.
  • Garnish with coriander/cilantro and grated coconut (if using). Enjoy it steaming hot!

This one too is going to Srivalli’s Kid’s Delight – Wholesome Breakfast Event. My friend tried this and she said her little one loved it; I hope your little ones like it too Srivalli!

18 responses to “Oats Kharabhath

  1. Looks really yum.. Waiting for more of your healthy recipes. Way to go! 🙂

  2. Hi Madhuri! Looks very tempting indeed… oats on my grocery list now. Keep more of these recipes coming. Do we get rolled oats anywhere in Bangalore? I haven’t come across so far..

  3. Thanks for the lovely entry

  4. My husband hates eating oats as porridge and this recipe inspired me to finish the oats lying in the kitchen cabinet! I tried this for breakfast today and it was yummmmm!! He loved it!!! Tweaked the recipe a lil though.. I had run out of green chillies, so instead of using red chillies / chilli powder, I added a dash of good old sambar powder.. It ended up tasting just like the Khara bath served in the Sagar chains 🙂

  5. Oh.. One more thing .. I used white oats in the dish I made!

    • Wow…Im sure that tasted great! Im glad you could put your jar of oats to some good use 😉 I share the thought of hating oats porridge with your husband, but I had contrived to dish up something new to get me to eat oats since its healthy. Thats how this was born! I make this quite often now and both, me and the hubby love it! Join the bandwagon 🙂

  6. I am not an oats lover, but definitely looks good and tempting. A good way to consume oats.

  7. I made this Oats Kharabhath yesterday for one of my dad’s friend, he is a diabetic. He liked it soo much, mom said we should make this atleast once a week. 🙂 thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu….

  8. Sudha Narayanan

    Yummy yumm dinner today! Thanks to your Oats Khara bath.. 🙂 The perfect taste of Kharabhath with a healthier option of oats.. Loved the taste! And to top it all Mads, Anand – the healthy food hater – liked it so much that he went for a second helping!! 🙂 Thanks so much!!

  9. Het Madhuri,

    I tried out this recipe and it turned out to be very yummy. Thanks for the recipe!!

  10. Hi Madhuri, Came across your recipes today and no doubt they look really tempting. But .. I too have never come across rolled oat/oat meal etc in Banglore. I can see that Suma has already enquired on this. Could you please share the same info with me too?

    Thanks for the great recipe!! 🙂

  11. Hi Madhuri,Made this a couple of days ago. Added a little sambar powder instead of green chillies. It was Yummy yum..Thanks for sharing this recipe. Its on my blog now 🙂

  12. this one is an yum recipe. Must try !!
    Just bumped into your lovely space thru PJ’s recipe above 🙂 wonerful collection of recipes Madhuri, and lovely to note so many many Karnataka recipes too !! Just the word Khara bhath made me sooooo nostalgic about Bangalore, !!

    Happy to follw you too !! Do visit my space when time permits !!

    Cheers
    Kalyani
    Event: One Pot Meals

Leave a Reply

