Be Cointreaupolitan!

Is it apt for me to begin by saying – “Welcome back!” both to you and me? I think so, yes. I’ve missed blogging like crazy. I’ve missed you all even more. Moving to the new domain is taking time due to small hiccups, so here’s what I’m doing. I’m going to resume blogging on here for now and then move to the new domain once everything is ironed out. And I’m resuming by raising a toast to 2012 and all you wonderful people who’ve stood by me right from the start. A real toast replete of real spirit. The kind of spirit that *hic* makes you go tipsy *hic* all the way *hic*!

I have been very ill in the last month and a half, thanks to a terrible E.coli infection that hit my digestive system real bad. Things got ugly and I spent a couple of days in hospital. Fun. So not. The bright side: E.coli sent me spinning closer to my weight-loss goal. The not-so-bright side: Even after 1.5 months, my stomach is still not enthused about anything to do with food *sigh*. I’m slowly recovering and hoping I’ll be back to my normal foodie-self soon.  I cannot afford to be ill and away, and let you guys miss me for long too, right? Absence does make the heart grow fonder, but what if you people forget me all together? I know you won’t, but I’m not going to risk it either.

Today’s recipe features a Cointreau cocktail, and is perfect for the party animal in you ‘cos  it’s super easy to put together and you’ll still feel merry (the intoxicating kind). What’s more, you get to have a lot of fun at the bar counter with your guests too. Even if you’re not having that party, who cares? Just pick up a bottle of Cointreau from your local BWS store, some cranberry juice from your grocer’s, and you’re all set for that tipsy night. Pull your partner close to you, drink up and cuddle on the couch. Watch a movie. Play a game or two. Or do all of them. Just have fun. That’s what matters.

For those who don’t know, Cointreau is an orange liqueur made with naturally sweet orange peel, alcohol, sugar and water. What’s not to like, eh?

Cointreaupolitan

Preparation Time: NA
Comes together in: <1 minute
Serves: 2 persons (if each stops at one glass ;))

Ingredients

  • Cointreau – 50 ml / 1.6 fl oz
  • Cranberry juice – 30 ml / 1 fl oz (I used cranberry juice from the brand ‘Real’)
  • Lime juice – 20 ml / 0.6 fl oz
  • Ice cubes – 2-3 nos

Procedure

  • Put all the ingredients into a shaker and give it a good shake.
  • Strain and pour into a martini glass.
  • Drink up.

How easy was that? Go on then, get ‘Cointreauversial’. Cheers!

Before I go, I have something important to share with you. One of my dearest friends Siri Pulipaka of Cooking with Siri‘ has taken on a note-worthy and selfless task of organising a fund-drive for a destitute home housing 108 girl children in Hyderabad.  I hope that like me, you too will join in and help Siri in the noble cause she has undertaken. The girls have such heart-wrenching stories, it will leave you torn between wanting to sob your heart out and wanting to do something to help them as much as you can and make a difference in their lives.  More about it in my next post ‘cos it deserves a separate post altogether, so stay rooted.

In other news,
a) Have you seen my photog yet? Go see!
b) Did you know that Cook-curry Nook is on Twitter? Follow me!

Signing off for now, but before that, here’s wishing you and your’s the best of all things good in the year to come. I know the wishes are coming in a month too late, but it’s the thought that counts, right? :D

4 responses to “Be Cointreaupolitan!

  1. Simply awesome and colorful drink.
    Deepa

  2. Welcome back Mads. It feels good to be blogging again and hit that “Publish” button Isn’t it? ;-).

    Looking forward for more such yummy posts in coming days.

    Hugs,
    Siri

  3. Get back to your normal foodie self soon Mads! We’ve missed u enough…

  4. Alcohol kills all traces of ecoli – you should have just had this in plenty – would not have fallen sick.

    Hope you are doing alright now!

Leave a Reply

