Asian Pickled Ginger | Sushi Ginger | Gari

Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers,
Did Peter Piper pick a peck of pickled peppers?
If Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers,

Where is the peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper picked?

I bet you cannot say that atleast once without stuttering. Well, I cannot say it without goofing up either, but there a couple more tongue twisters I’m pretty good at. Have always loved tongue twisters and riddles right from the time I was little. I used to collect them by the dozen and write them down neatly in a diary meant specially for those. Aaah, I’m hit by a huge wave of sweet childhood memories now. But we’re not here to talk about tongue twisters or riddles today. Not even childhood memories. We’re here to talk pickles. And not Peter’s pickled peppers, but my pickled sushi ginger. My mouth is watering. I’m salivating like a baby. I’m flooding my laptop keyboard. Help!

For those of you who don’t know: Gari is sweet, thinly sliced young ginger that has been marinated in a solution of sugar and vinegar. Gari is often served and eaten after sushi, and is sometimes called sushi ginger. Gari is usually eaten between dishes of sushi, as it is said to help cleanse the palate. Have you ever tried making Sushi at home? I haven’t, yet. It’s certainly on my to-do list though. I made this Gari for something else – for a simple, yet deliciously healthy recipe that I’d mentioned in one of the previous posts. No, I’m not telling you what I used the Gari in. Keep trying to guess until the post comes along. Person with the right guess gets a bowl of Gari 🙂

Asian Pickled Ginger | sushi ginger | Gari

(Recipe Adapted from: Chef Vicky Ratnani and About.com)

Ingredients:

  • Fresh Young Ginger – 200 gms; cleaned and skinned
  • Salt – 1/2 tsp

For the Soaking syrup

  • Sugar – 1/2 cup
  • Vinegar – 1/2 cup (I used Apple-cider)
  • Water – 1/4 cup
  • Beet juice/Pink food colouring (optional) – 1 tsp

Note: You might want to make more/less of the pickled ginger depending on your requirement. In that case, ensure that the sugar : vinegar : water ratio stays at 1 : 1 : 1/2. Salt will of course vary as per the amount of ginger you’re using.

Procedure:

  • Slice the ginger very very thinly and salt them. I am not very happy with the thin-ness of my ginger slices. That’s cos I was more worried I would end up slicing my fingers too. Next time though, I’m going to throw caution to the winds and slice away as thinly as possible. (I used a mandolin to slice the ginger. If you don’t have one, you should certainly consider getting one. It is one of my best friends in the kitchen, and it’s not an expensive investment either).
  • Leave salted ginger slices in a bowl for about one hour. Dry the ginger slices on paper towels and put them in a sterilized, bone-dry heat-resistant container/jar.
  • Put the vinegar, water and sugar in a pan and bring to a boil on a medium flame.
  • Pour the hot mixture over the ginger slices. Stir well with a dry spoon.
  • Allow to cool completely, cover the jar and store in the refrigerator.

Let it rest in the refrigerator for a couple of days and voila, you have delicious pickled sushi ginger made right at home! How cool is that now.

Here’s some for you to taste as you go.

11 responses to “Asian Pickled Ginger | Sushi Ginger | Gari

  1. Did you just snack on these? I have only eaten them at Sushi bars 🙂

  2. Nags beat me to asking you that 🙂 Well I would pick them too and pop…everytime i pass the pickled ginger container!

  3. pickled ginger is a good appetiser for me… i make it in a diff way though… i cut tender ginger into juliennes and soak them in lemon syrup mixed with a lot of table salt. It changes colour with 24 hrs (actually i have not taken into note the time it takes for colour change as i keep popping them often ) … this works good for a bad tummy, full tummy and a tummy that always needs something tangy, spicy and delicious food at any given time of the day :))

    • Bhuvs, this is not your regular pickled ginger. The kind you are talking about is the typical Indian way of doing it, and definitely cannot be served to go with Sushi.

  4. I love this version, it looks so lovely 🙂 I made ginger pickle similarly but without beetroot juice 🙂

  5. wow, that looks super delicious and mouth watering 🙂

  6. it looks very delicious and while reading my mouth is watering. and the picture looks so tempting just felt like popping a peice of ginger amd wooooow just cannot tell u

  7. I don’t snack on these ….tried it with sushi ..much better than wasabi I say

  8. WOWWee i have had these with sushi…want to try out yur version of this mads…keep yu posted 😉

Leave a Reply

