Chocolate Rum Pots

I know this blog has ‘chocolate’ written all over it. Sorry, I can’t help it. Some obsessions are not shaken off very easily, especially if they involve the C-word. I made these chocolate rum pots twice recently, and both times they were a big hit. So how could I not share it with you, right?

The first time, I made it with only dark chocolate for a lunch party. The second time, I experimented a little. Though I’m not big on White Chocolate (I consider that white and milk chocolate are only for babies), I thought it would make for a nice colour contrast, and it did taste good too you know. Maybe it’s okay to become a baby once in a while you think? ;). The first time I made these, they were for a bunch of my childhood friends who I was meeting after more than a decade, and what better dessert to give us company as we walked down memory lane than these heady rum pots. When we were little, we used to sit on the stairs of my friends’ grandmas’ house and fight for toffee and Cadbury eclairs. This time when we met, there were no stairs to sit on but fight we did, for the rum pots! Bottom line – When there’s chocolate involved, everybody is so selfish I tell you. That brings me to this saying I came across sometime back – ” If  you love something, set it free. It will come back to you, unless its chocolate!!” What a riot, no? I loved it. And it is SO true. Okay, are you telling me that I rambled on too much? Well, it comes with the package. I hear you though. Dive into the recipe, it’s all yours.

Chocolate Rum Pots

(Recipe Inspiration from: Chef Vicky Ratnani)

Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Setting Time: 15 minutes (shells) + 30 minutes (whole pots)
Yield: 10-12 nos 3-inch round rum pots (you may get more/less depending on the size of your molds/cups)

Ingredients:

For the Shells:

  • Dark Chocolate – 125 gms (Use White Chocolate here if you wish to make the Zebra Chocolate Rum pots. I would still recommend dark chocolate for that ultimate experience)

For the Ganache/Filling:

  • Dark Chocolate – 250 gms
  • Cream – 125 ml
  • Rum (optional) – 2-3 tbsps

For the Topping:

  • Dark Chocolate – Grated
  • Chocolate squiggles (optional) – as desired

Note: If you’re playing around with scaling the recipe, remember to keep the cream : chocolate proportion at 1 : 2 in the ganache.

Procedure:

For the Shell:

  • Melt the chocolate in the microwave in 30-second bursts or over a double-boiler till molten, and set aside to cool a bit.
  • Use a pastry brush and paint the insides of all the molds of the silicone muffin tray. If you don’t have a silicone muffin tray, no fret. Use small disposable plastic cups to set your shells in. Here’s a nifty tip if you’re going with the plastic cups: Gently snipe the cups at 4-5 places around the rim so you can easily peel off the plastic cups once the chocolate has set.
  • Set the silicone tray/plastic cups in the freezer to allow the shells to set.

For the Ganache/Filling:

  • Chop up the chocolate for the filling into small, uniform pieces. Place in a heat-proof bowl and set aside.
  • Put the cream in a thick-bottomed vessel and heat over a medium flame. Keep stirring till it comes to a boil.
  • Pour the hot cream over the chocolate pieces and let it sit for a half-minute.
  • Stir very gently. The hot cream should melt the chocolate completely. If the chocolate hasn’t melted fully, stick the bowl in the microwave for a few seconds (not more than 30) till it does.
  • Set aside to cool a bit.
  • Stir in the rum (if using) once the ganache has cooled. Take my word and tip in the rum. Else, you’re not going to be devouring Chocolate RUM pots later on. Just Chocolate pots. And that isn’t half as exotic.

For the Assembling:

  • Bring out your set chocolate shells from the freezer. They should have set firmly by now.
  • Pour in the readied ganache by the spoonful. You can decide if you want to fill up the shells completely or not. Your rum pots. Your call. If you believe in portion control like me, make smaller and many more rum pots. Fill them up 3/4th the way up. Not only do they look suave, you’re good too. Since I was taking them for for my special childhood friends, I didn’t really think ‘portion control’.
  • Stick the shells back in the freezer for about 30 minutes. Do note that all this while, the set chocolate shells are still sitting in your silicone mold/disposable plastic cups. You will get them out of their nests once the filling has set. Don’t make the mistake of de-molding the chocolate shells before you fill them up. Since they are so fragile, they end up breaking; themselves and your heart too.
  • Once the filling has set, gingerly de-mold your rum pots and set them on a tray.
  • Decorate/garnish as desired and stick the rum pots in the refrigerator till you serve.

Spoiler warning: If you’re making these ahead of time for a party, make sure you don’t go anywhere near that refrigerator till your guests come. You know what will happen or else, don’t you? If you still take a dare, don’t say I didn’t warn you. You will end up sporting a thick chocolate mustache when you greet your guests. What’s more, you’ll be tipsy even before the party begins. And isn’t that really embarrassing when you’re the host? Yeah, so remember to be good.

Chocolate Rum pots = Dark Chocolate cups + Dark Chocolate-rum ganache filling + Grated Dark chocolate topping + Dark chocolate squiggle garnish = your ticket to heaven on earth!

This post is fondly dedicated to one of my most favourite Chefs – Vicky Ratnani. It is his birthday today, and knowing fully well how much he loves chocolate, I couldn’t time this post on a better day. Happy Birthday Vicky! I was thinking of a perfect wish for a wonderful person with a beautiful soul, but none matched the person so I’m giving in with a meek but heartfelt birthday wish. May this coming year be as selfless, generous and wonderful as you are!!

20 responses to “Chocolate Rum Pots

  1. They look absloutely fabulous and beautiful.

  2. The pictures for this post are astounding. I literally felt my mouth water…after that, my next thought was about how professional these desserts look. Like the kind of thing you could enter into a contest or serve at a wedding or something.

  3. Long awaited recipe here! Love those shells. Do I even get so far to say about the chocolate inside 😀

  4. Wow, thats so delicious.

  5. The first pic makes me weak on my knees. And I totally agree with white chocolate. It looks pretty and luscious. I wish I can grab one of those pots now..

  6. Leos love chocolate it seems. I’m no celebrity chef, but boy, I’d do anything if someone makes these for me for my birthday. On second thoughts, how about making a treat for myself. These certainly are easy to fix. Ah, who needs birthday cake now? I want pots. I have a new equation – Chocolate + Rum + Pots = Bestest Birthday!

  7. Wow………….totally captivating

  8. Madhuri, it is surely heaven on earth. I have tried making chocolate cups with no success in past. I am going to try it out as you said, to not peel my silicone muffin cups till filling is set. May be that was the key. I will also try not to peek in and be good 🙂

  9. If looks could kill —- we have the perfect candidate here to do the honours- decadent looking piece of heaven on earth !

  10. Chocolate Rum Pots look simply heavenly. Great preparation.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  11. this looks so delicious,..luved ur header too

  12. looks amazing! wonderful pic

  13. Mads…wow….those look so professional…i’m not even a chocolate fan….but i’m still loving them a lot….:)

  14. Looks so perfect!! I am a chocoholic and am tempted now.

  15. lovely recipe……… Lovely click!

  16. Superb! Never seen such choc pots before. Just want to grab them..Looks so so delicious..

  17. Elegantly arranged, fantastically garnished!

  18. Ooh. Great pictures and i could bite into those babies right about now!

  19. Looks great and yummy! Nicely done. My kids cant wait to have a bite! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

