Tomato Chutney

“Knowledge is knowing that Tomato is a fruit; Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.”

Make Tomato chutney instead. Yumm-de-dumm.

Versatile. Easy to fix. Gets done in a jiffy. Tastes finger-licking-good too. And goes with pretty most anything. I’ve tried this with idlis. I’ve tried it with dosas and akki rotis, I’ve tried it with phulkas and paranthas. I’ve even tried mixing it with rice and made tomato rice. Just like that. Snap! Did I have you at the word go? Good. And sorry, I’m not talking much today. I’m still busy licking my fingers.

Tomato Chutney

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Cooking Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • Ripe red tomatoes – 12-15 nos, medium-sized; cleaned and finely chopped
  • Tamarind puree – 1/4 cup
  • Red chilli powder – 3-4 tsps (alter to suit your taste)
  • Rasam powder (optional) – 1 tbsp
  • Jeera powder – 2 tsps
  • Dhaniya powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Mustard powder – 3/4 tsp (using any more than this will render your chutney bitter)
  • Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Sugar – 1 tbsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Mustard seeds – 2 tsps
  • Asafoetida – a generous pinch
  • Oil – 2 tbsps

Makes enough to fill up a nice medium-sized bowl, and keeps well for more than a week if stored in the fridge.


Procedure:

  • In a wok, heat the oil. Add the asafoetida and mustard seeds. Allow them pop.
  • Dunk in the chopped tomatoes and turmeric powder. Saute on a medium flame for 2 minutes.
  • Add the tamarind puree, salt, sugar, red chilli powder, rasam powder, dhaniya powder, jeera powder and stir well to incorporate. Save the mustard powder for later.
  • Allow the tomatoes to boil with the spices so they infuse well.
  • Keep stirring the pan every once in 2 minutes to make sure the bottom of the pan doesn’t get burnt.
  • After about 10 minutes, the tomatoes will get all mushy and the pieces would have melted into the mixture. If they haven’t, use a masher and give it a gentle beating, and they’ll learn how to behave.
  • Gradually you’ll notice the mixture thickening and leaving the sides of the pan/wok. Now’s when you throw in that mustard powder.
  • Give the mixture and good stir and remove from flame after a minute. And that’s it! Didn’t I tell you it was easy-peasy?

Pair this up with anything, and you cannot stop licking your fingers. I’m not saying anything more. Make it and see for yourself.



11 responses to “Tomato Chutney

  1. Super yummm….I am drooling at the colour of the Bengaloor thakkali only!!! Slurp!

  2. really yumm…looks gr8

  3. yum Madhuri, looks superb, beautifully presented :)

  4. Hey… It had been sometime since I had been here… & I must admit it has changed to look even more yummy & gorgeous!!!! That chutney is way too tempting for me to stop gazing at the pics….. :) I loved everything about this space….. My favorite mustard yellow makes me feel at home….. Kudos sweetie….. Wishes & Hugs))))

    Ash….
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  5. Simply irresistible, my fav with dosas..

  6. Easily my fave chutney :) those tomatoes look gorgeous!

  7. Like you said it does look “yum de dumm”:D. This is similar to our thokku though we allow it to dry out more and skip the mustard powder. Pictures are beautiful, Madhuri!

  8. Lovely mouth watering chutney. Nice clicks!

  9. Finger licking good is the correct and truly apt description for this chutney. I can eat this as a meal and have idli or dosa on the side. I love this kind of a chunky chutney with puris as well – something about all the deep fried oil soaked in a tomatoey gooey goodness. Super clicks Mads!

  10. Loved the saying!…LOL so true :) Chutney looks delicious!

  11. Am loving the quote and those tomatoes are truly captivating. Slurpp..

Leave a Reply

