Cabbage Parantha

I know, I know, I know…I’ve been missing in action for some time now and you must be rolling those pretty eyes and wondering why. I was really held up on the personal front. There was a medical emergency in the family, and I had neither the time nor the inclination to come and talk to you guys. No inclination b’cos I didn’t want to rub off my sombre mood onto you all. I like to spread cheer, not gloom. Luckily, all our prayers worked. God gave us the strength to brave the situation, and a major disaster was averted. All’s well again, thanks to a wonderful set of Doctors who worked a miracle with their healing hands. I have always admired the medical fraternity for their selfless work and my respect for them has only increased many-fold in the last one month. Thank you Doctors, for giving us your best and saving a precious life in the family. Saying ‘thank you’ seems lilliputian in comparison to what you have done for us, but that is the only word I can think of to aptly express our heart-felt gratitude. Thanks to all the support staff at the hospital too. I cannot think of anyone else being able to give the kind of focused attention and care to the patient like you guys do. I humbly bow down to all of you for your selfless service. Thanks also to all my friends and family for the prayers and wishes…they really helped us stay positive throughout.

I must admit that in the last 3-4 weeks, cooking has taken a back-seat and I was just barely managing to fix us wholesome meals to keep us going. The idea for the cabbage paranthas was born on a day when all I had in my fridge was a large green cabbage staring me in the face, and I had just one hour to fix us lunch and get to the hospital. Rice didn’t quite appeal to me right then, so it had to be something else. Enter paranthas…distant cousins of one-pot meals (distant, cos they can be eaten all by themselves just like one-pot meals). Only, they’re not made in pots, but on a smoking-hot griddle. Apart from the ease of preparation, the reason why I love paranthas is that you can stuff pretty most anything into it, and the end result is always good. A good way to fool fussy eaters to boot. Not that anyone in my household is, but I’m giving you the idea if you need one 😉

Cabbage Paranthas

Ingredients:

For the Stuffing:

  • Cabbage – 1 no (small-sized, cleaned and grated/minced)
  • Garlic – 4 to 5 pods (finely chopped)
  • Ginger – 1″ long piece (grated/minced)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a fistful (finely chopped)
  • Green Chillies (optional) – 2 nos (finely chopped/minced)
  • Chilli powder – 1 tsp
  • Garam Masala – 1 tsp
  • Jeera Powder – 1 tsp
  • Dhaniya Powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Amchur Powder (optional) – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
For the dough (covering):
  • Whole wheat flour – 2 cups (plus extra for dusting)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Water – as required
  • Oil – 2 tbsps

Note: If you are making extra stuffing to use up later, set it aside and add salt only to the amount of stuffing you intend to use immediately.

Procedure:

  • Prepare a dough with whole wheat flour, as you would for rotis/chappathis. Cover and set aside for atleast 15-20 minutes. That way, the dough soaks up a little and makes working with it easier.
  • Mix together all the ingredients for stuffing (except salt) and set aside.
  • Add salt to the stuffing just as you are about to roll out your paranthas, else the stuffing will get soggy, and you’ll end up with a messy mass that will make you go “ugghhhh!” instead of “yummmm”!!
  • When you’re ready to begin, take a small amount of the roti dough, dust with some flour and flatten with a rolling-pin.
  • Put a nice heaped tbsp of stuffing in the centre and press down a little.
  • Draw the edges of the dough towards the centre to cover the mixture (like a potli).
  • Dust with more flour, and roll out to a thickness slightly more than that of your rotis. Too thick a parantha will not cook well and too thin will break/crumble easily.
  • Heat a griddle/tawa and cook the parantha on a medium flame. Use oil to cook the parantha on both sides, else it wont get cooked well and will also taste a little blah.  Paranthas usually take longer than rotis/chappathis to get done so be patient with them.
  • In the meanwhile, whip some thick curd till it is smooth textured. Add 1/4 tsp each of black pepper powder, red chilli powder and jeera powder. Add salt to taste and some finely chopped coriander (optional) to make some finger-licking-good masala curd. Dip a finger in and take a lick now. Do I hear you going “mmmmmm…”??
  • Serve paranthas piping-hot with the cold masala curd, and watch the pile of paranthas disappear in a trice! If you’re not calorie conscious unlike me, feel free to drop a big blob of butter on your paranthas before you have a go at them.

Oh and did I forget to mention: These taste just like gobi paranthas, and I even managed to fool the kid bro with that line. Only after he finished gulping them down, I told him the stuffing was not made with gobi but with cabbage. He rolled his eyes at me and I waited with bated breath to see if he would curse me. But no, he was like “Not bad sis, you managed to fool me, and it does taste just like gobi paranthas, and was yummmm too!”. I did have the last laugh after all…muhuhahahahaha 😛

15 responses to “Cabbage Parantha

  1. Very nice looking parathas…easy peasy but delicious one wholesome meal!

  2. Ah! I just finished dishing out a Chinese Menu that I served my cousin sisters who had come over for lunch. What am I left with? Cabbage! And, I certainly know what I am going to do with it now instead of a mundane cabbage sabji!!

  3. Wonderful looking and fulfilling cabbage parathas. Nice looking pics.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  4. I’ve seen this in rak’s blog before i think. never tried it though 🙂

  5. Hey Madhuri,

    Never knew cabbage can be stuffed insisde paranthas. Love the way you present food. Awesome clicks. Glad that the dark cloud in your life has gone and a silver lining appeared. All the best.

    Thanks,
    Seema
    amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com
    seemabbas.blogspot.com

  6. I too make this often..:)
    looks yummm

  7. Cabbage paratha sounds cool..and stuffing sounds quite fuss-free!

  8. Delicious stuffing and wonderful looking parathas…yumm!

  9. Yum ..I made with carrot before …only with cabbage have to try ..

  10. Sorry to hear about the medical emergency. Good to know that all’s well now 🙂 take care… Cabbage paranthas good amazing!

  11. Never tried parathas with cabbage. Looks Great and I did go mmmm after tasting the spicy yogurt.

    HAPPY VISHU & Hope you had a Great Tamil Puthandu.

  12. Hi Mads….good to know that all went well…your parantha looks delish n’ so soft…i have to try your recipe….mine never turns out to be soft n’ smooth…btw…i have kind of started blogging again :)…didn’t know i wasn’t following you…but i’m promptly doing so now 🙂

  13. looks amazingly mouthwatering..tempting n yummy..
    First time here..u hv a wonderful space..visit mine as time permits..
    Sanyukta
    http://creativesanyukta.blogspot.com/

  14. Mads…i tried this recipe and my parathas turned out really nice (i used aloo instead of cabbage)….i’m linking you on my blogpost….:)
    http://invogueathome.blogspot.com/2011/04/coin-aloo-parathas.html

  15. Maladhi Kanagarajan

    Heeeeyyyyyyyyyyyy !! I tried this out like justtt 2 hours back…it tastes really yummy…I did have some struggle in rolling out the paranthas after stuffing the cabbage though.. as always, the first 2 to 3 ones messed up before I could get the hang of it…the only flip side was i added more flour to avoid the stuffing from getting stuck all over and finally the paranthas were powdery or blackening soon , if you know what i mean.,,, I hope to get it better and faster next time… but it sure tasted yumm yummy after all that effort I put in . I’m loving your space and turn to it every now and then ….thank god for people like you 😀 😀 .. oh and the curd too turned out yummmm just as u said. 🙂 i dint know i could love someone for helping me make good food…hee hee… but its true…i loveee you 😀 :D.. I dint want to forget to reply, before I crash with my big stomach full now, thanks to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

