Rasam Powder | Rasamozhaga Podi

I know every household has its own traditional recipes and proportions for things like these. These are what are handed down from generation to generation and all the women-folk in a household will more or less make their rasam powder, sambhar powder and all the other tradition spice powders pretty much the same way. So why am I still posting such a daily affair recipe here on the blog? Well, some of you wrote to me saying that you want the recipes for some typical Iyer-aathu podis (‘aathu’ is Tamil for ‘home’), and would I be willing to share our family heirloom recipes with you. So I said “Why not? Of course I would. I’d love to”. Ask me to share something on here, and I’ll be on it pronto. Why? B’cos I just love you all. And I love that you all keep coming here time and again to partake from what I share. There, isn’t that simple? Yes, and it’s just as simple as our family heirloom recipe for Rasam powder too, or rasamozhaga-podi as we call it. Do me a favour – make this podi and prepare your rasam with it. Here’s why – the aroma of the rasam wafting through your house will have you longing for rasam like never before. Trust me when I say that no store-bought rasam powder can have that effect on you. Thank you Kol-Pati (that’s Tamil for ‘great-grandmom’, and yes she was a great cook). We owe it to you for the proportion you so perfected and handed down to us. This and the many more you did too. I hope you’re watching from up above ‘cos we really miss you so.

Rasam Powder | Rasamozhaga Podi

Ingredients

  • Methi/Fenugreek seeds – 1/2 cup
  • Black Pepper – 1/2 cup
  • Jeera/Cumin seeds – 2 cups
  • Dhaniya/Coriander seeds – 2 cups
  • Salem Chillies (the hot variety) – 2 handfuls
  • Byadgi Chillies (the colouring variety) – 2 handfuls
  • Oil – 1 tsp for each batch

Note: My 1 cup size is the same as the 1 cup measure we use in baking (approx 250ml). This proportion makes roughly about 750 gms of Rasam powder. Usually lasts me 2-3 months. If you feel the quantity might be too much for you, just halve all the proportions.

Procedure:

  • In a wok, fry the methi, pepper and jeera separately without oil, for about 3-4 minutes each on a low flame till they turn fragrant. Set aside in a wide plate so they can cool off a bit.
  • Fry the dhaniya and chillies (both varieties together) in batches, with the oil and add to the fried methi-pepper-jeera mixture
  • Allow the mixture to cool and grind to a fine powder.
  • Allow the powder to cool completely. Store in a dry, air-tight jar. It keeps well for 3-4 months if you don’t allow moisture to enter the jar. If you are keeping it for longer, pop the jar into the freezer and then you wouldn’t have to worry about it going bad. Not that it would. Nonetheless.

OK, here’s a wicked idea before I sign off – pair that rasam with piping hot rice  and some straight-from-the-pan Aloo-roast, and you’ve given yourself the best comfort meal that man has ever discovered till date. Really, you really shouldn’t wait any longer.

14 responses to “Rasam Powder | Rasamozhaga Podi

  1. I am a sucker for homemade masala powders and would love to try this out [halved quantity though]. It might sound stupid, but can you also add how much quantity should be added when you actually make the rasam, or is it coming up in another post??

    • You should try it Divs. Do let me know how it turns out for you. About how much powder is needed when you make the rasam, I normally eye-ball everything during my daily cooking acts, but you could say roughly about 2.5-3 tbsps for every litre of water should work just fine. The quantity can be upped/reduced depending on your spice tolerance level.

      Now that you and some others have mentioned it, I might actually do a post on my Rasam as well 🙂

  2. Nothing will beat the homemade spice powder, great looking rasam powder..

  3. I am also waiting for the rasam post !

  4. I’ll have to try this, I love home-made pwds too, thanks ri for sharing this. 🙂

  5. Lovely- nothing beats the home made spices right? And yes the comfort food works wonders all the time.

  6. Enakku innoru additional podi kedaichchaachchu to keep changing my rasam taste 🙂 Yay!!! love the colour, mine always has the brown tinge more, guess the byadagi milagai is the contributor!

  7. Mads! This is a killer recipe! Thank you!

    I somehow always get my rasam podi from mom and my sambar podi from my mil – they are the classics and so perfect! Like you say – every family has the traditional rasam and sambar taste and it all lies in the podi. And thanks for reminding, I have to get the recipes from both my moms!

    Do you give it outside for grinding or do you grind at home?

    Also another hint. I learnt this a few weeks ago from my brother in law whose latest fad is to read up on the health books. Pepper by itself has anti cancer properties and also turmeric by itself has anti cancer properties. But when the two are combined together, the anti-cancer properties increase by a whopping 1000%. That’s right. So, try and add a little turmeric either directly to this podi or to the rasam directly while cooking. I’ve started adding both together in a lot of my dishes now.

    And btw – I’m proud you are using Salem Chillies – but have never heard of them referred to this way! I had no idea my home town was famous for chillies! I knew they were for mangoes and stainless steel – but chillies too. No wonder I turned out so hot! LOL!

  8. Nothing beats home-made rasam/ sambar powder! Am a huge fan of rasam and have liters of it (am exagerrating a bit?? :D) .
    Will try the Iyer version sometime. Like the new CCN look!

  9. I never ever eat Rasam although its made at home daily by both my MIL and Mom. But I sure am a fan of home-made powders and masalas. This one, I will try!

  10. I made this rasam powder , and made rasam with it. Yes ! It is good !
    Though I could not get wicked enough to make a aloo roast along with this… I had a tiring day and wanted to finish dinner fast (kids’ exams, is’nt that tiring enough ? :)).. but wanted to make it a good meal for hubby dear who would come home more tired.

    But something quick, and delish ?? Then I had a brain wave, sliced one big onion, sauted, added sliced capsicum, salt, turmeric, chilli powder… and put some of your flax- mint- chutney powder… and the dish was the star of the dinner ! Another wonderful way to use the chutney powder… I am sure this will add flavour to Brinjal, Bhendi, Tendli… oooh !

  11. I love rasam and survive on rasam alone everyday. I’m always looking for new rasam powder recipes, and your’s is pretty unique. I have never seen the use of methi seeds in rasam powder before. Will try this very soon, the color looks awesome 🙂

    And btw, you have an awesome blog!!!

  12. Hi Madhuri,
    I have tried this one and I have no words to express my gratitude 2wards u 4 sharing this one.The rasam was lip smacking and finger licking gooood. God bless and yes Thanx again!

Leave a Reply

