‘Tales From Your Kitchen’ – Sree Vani’s Chocolate Tart

You remember how I said some readers of the blog have now gone on to become thick pals? Remember Mittu and her Chocolate Truffle Cake? There’s another such friend who’s right here in Bangalore, and we even got to meet recently. I was so excited when I met Sree Vani last week at a taste-testing event we had all been to. Vani was another non-blogger who sent me her to-die-for chocolate creation for the Chocolate Fest. The minute I saw Vani’s email with the recipe and pictures, I told her I wouldn’t let her sit in peace till she made some for me. I’m still waiting to taste the tart Vani, and I hope I can get to lay my hands on some very soon!

It’d be a crime if I made you guys wait any longer for the recipe. Over to Vani –

“Hi Madhuri, here is my entry for the Chocolate Fest.  Thanks for kindling the fire in me….I looove challenges!  I thoroughly enjoyed being a part of this fest.  I hope you enjoy reading my post as well.

Well…well…well…here comes the TART!!!  One of my most ambitious projects!  The day I saw your post on the Chocolate Fest, I knew I had to be there!  Its baking and its chocolate AND THE PRIZE was A BOOK ON CHOCOLATE!!! Phew!!! My entry for the Chocolate Fest is the double layered Chocolate Tart!  Here comes the tart with a beautiful crust, a silky chocolate layer to dig into, and a lovely glacage to finish the effect!!! The recipe has been adapted from CitrusandCandy, which in turn has been adapted from Masterchef.

Chocolate Tart

Ingredients:

For the Chocolate Pastry

  • All-purpose flour/Maida – 320 g
  • Cocoa – 60 g
  • Castor Sugar – 160 g
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Cold butter – 160 g, diced
  • Eggs – 2 nos

For the Chocolate Tart

  • Good quality dark chocolate (with high cocoa content), chopped – 210 g
  • Valrhona jivar/jivara chocolate, chopped – 60 g (If unavailable, then just use another 60g of the dark chocolate. I used 270 grams of Morde dark chocolate.)
  • Butter – 60 g, diced
  • Fresh cream – 315 ml (I used Amul fresh cream)
  • Eggs – 3 nos
  • Egg yolks – 2 nos

For the Chocolate Glacage:

(Adapted from Joyofbaking.com)

  • Dark Chocolate – 113 g
  • Fresh cream – 90 ml (I used Amul fresh cream)
  • Butter (unsalted) – 15 g

Note: This proportion makes 2 nos 9″ round tarts or 1 no 9″- round tart and 6 nos 3″ round tartlets.

Procedure:

For the Chocolate Pastry:

  • Preheat oven to 180°C.
  • Place the flour, cocoa, sugar, salt and butter in a large bowl and rub the butter into flour until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  • Add the eggs and mix until dough just starts to come together.
  • Turn on to a lightly floured surface and gently knead until just smooth.
  • Shape into a disc and cover with plastic wrap, then place in the fridge for 10 minutes to rest.
  • Roll out the pastry in order to fit a 9” round tart tin.  The rolled-out pastry dough should be just as thick as a chappathi or thin parantha. Since the dough has egg in it will raise and become a little thicker than the layer that you put inside the tin.
  • Line the fluted tart tin with a removable base with the pastry and trim any excess. Place in the fridge for 15 minutes to rest.
  • Use a fork and prick the base of the tart all over.  This will ensure that the tart will not raise and loose shape upon baking.
  • Line top of the pastry with baking paper and fill with beans (I used rajma).
  • Bake for 10 minutes. Remove paper and beans and bake for a further 5-10 minutes or until firm to touch.  Once baked, set it aside to cool.

For the Chocolate Tart:

  • Preheat oven to 160°C.
  • Place the chocolate and butter in a bowl.
  • Place cream in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Pour cream over chocolate in the bowl and stir until smooth.
  • Stir in eggs.
  • Pour chocolate mixture into the prepared tart shell about 3/4 full (You’ll need to leave enough room for the glacage, about half a cm).
  • Bake for 25 minutes until the centre has just cooked and the top has just set. I used the skewer to check for doneness.  The skewer should come out clean.
  • Take the tart out of the oven and allow to cool to room temperature before topping with the chocolate glacage.

For the Chocolate Glacage:

  • Place chocolate in a bowl.  In a saucepan, bring cream and butter to a simmer.
  • Pour over the chocolate and rest for about 5 mins.  Stir until smooth.
  • Gently pour the glacage over the tart.  Tilt the tart till the glacage has spread evenly across the tart.  You could gently tap it on the kitchen counter top for that smooth surface.
  • Refrigerate the tart.
  • The tart can be garnished with nuts, fresh cream etc…use your own imagination!  I used roasted and slivered almonds.

The tart, once done, can be served cold as a dessert or can be served warm with ice cream or simply by itself!

I made one large tart (9” round) and lots of mini tartlets.  For the tartlets I added a splash of rum into the tart mixture and …what do I say…ummmmmuuuhhhh!! With each passing day, the flavors mature and the tart tastes divine!  It has this rich and silky texture when you bite into it which makes you go …ummmmmm!!!! 🙂 I thoroughly enjoyed making this tart.

Like at the end of some movies they show all the funny things that happened during the shoot, here are some that happened when I made this tart –

  • While making the tart mixture, once I had the homogenized mixture of cream, butter and chocolate, the next step was to incorporate eggs.  In went the two yolks…good job!  In went the two full eggs…great!  Next came the last egg…HOLY ####…a rotten egg, and broken directly over the bowl!!!!  My dear friends…NEVER EVER do this!!  Please break you eggs into a small bowl and transfer to your mixture!!
  • I had to redo the tart mixture…and then realized I had run out of baking chocolate!  Suma did tell me that there was this shop close to our house which sold baking chocolate…but I didn’t know the address.  But I knew that the shop was closed on Sundays.  And this event happened on a Saturday evening!  So…there we go…logged onto Suma’s blog.  Caught hold of the number….tring tring…’please don’t close the shop…we are coming!!!!’.  Thanks to my patient hubby, we made it in time and came back home with the trophy!
  • Hubby, while coming back home ‘With all the money you spend on the ingredients …you can go to Crossword and buy the book No???’.  Your’s truly (with that unbelievable expression on the face)  ‘but that’s not the idea…you bake…you have fun…you compete and may the best entry win!)
  • The tart is all baked…we put our photography skills/stunts to test.  We sit back and dig into a slice….there goes the hubby ‘well this is a normal chocolate tart that you get in any good bakery…what makes you think you’ll get the prize?’.  ‘Err…ummm…we’ll leave that to the judges…you shut up n enjoy your tart now!’
  • Well, when I was doing my homework on the entry for the event, I did think that maybe I should incorporate a citrus or nutty flavor…make my entry innovative etc.  But when it comes to chocolate…please make way…’Chocolate it shall be…ALL THE WAY!’”

Vani, thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe with all the readers here on Cook-curry Nook. I hope you’re just as happy seeing this post, as I am to feature it 🙂 I’m now obsessed with the thought of having this wonderful tart, so let me know when I can come crash on your couch for some 😉

For all you readers, I hope you enjoyed this virtual treat. Now before I sign off, I have a small announcement to make. ‘Cook-curry Nook’ has been nominated in the final round of ‘The Best of Indian Blogosphere 2010’ in the Food Blogs category. If you like Cook-curry Nook, and if you think I deserve to win, I’d be thrilled to bits if you can vote for me. To cast your vote, please click here. Thanks so much in advance for your support!


17 responses to “‘Tales From Your Kitchen’ – Sree Vani’s Chocolate Tart

  1. This tart was truly a chocolate lovers delight Vani – yes gals, yours truly got to eat a yummilicious gooey slice of this dessert presented just the way you see here!! Gurl – high time you started your blog !! (yeah, ulterior motive, I then get to eat your bakes more often, lol!!) Your post made very enjoyable reading!

    And before I write a whole post here, I must say, this one is a stunner, very professional looking tart, am gonna try this for sure, very soon!!!

  2. Wow.. that one is awesome… couldn’t believe it was home made.. looked so so professional… And i am so jealous u get to taste the tart… aah.. i want some… 🙂

  3. Chocolate tart looks to be heavenly. You have made it so beautifully that from a 3 year to 90 year old CHILD would crave fr it.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  4. Vani .. that tart looks deadly 🙂 must taste really really grt !!

  5. excellent stuff Vani…Suma u r the lucky one… she is been showing pics of her many such lovely creations to me for the past 2 years……but i never got to even taste any of them…
    Vani please tell me…what did Suma do to get that wonderfull stuff…I am ready to do it!! 🙂

  6. That tart looks delicious. Lucky gal Madhuri, wish we could get a bite of it too! Vani, do you hear me??? 😉

    Seriously, I would call this as Chocolate Decadence! Chocolate tart, Chocolate filling and Chocolate Ganache on top… It can’t get better than this!

  7. Thank you all for all the wonderful comments! Am truly overwhelmed! 🙂
    You all are welcome to my house…the choc tart will be waiting for you! 🙂

  8. Luckily.. I got to eat the tart 🙂

  9. The tart looks really great…and very professional. Amazing!

  10. Hey Vani,

    The tart looks as wonderful as the person you are :). Layers of surprises, warmth and love!

    Luv
    Veens

  11. looks super yum and very perfectly done–kudos to vani ! and thanks madhuri for sharing this beauty!

  12. Could’nt agree more with Veena……..Three cheers to Vani and her Chocoalte tart 🙂

  13. Voted! An award awaits you at my blog, plz drop by..

  14. That was a fun read and of course an awesome chocolate tart! Way to go!

  15. Its a delightful joy one to read the post, and to see the a totally deletable chocolatey tart!

  16. Lovely tart Vani………….From preparation to presentation to taste……..its just yummy…………….

  17. Me still thinking if I shud post a comment on the deliciously yummy looking professionally made chocolate tart, OR shud it be on the art of narrating the recipe OR shud it be just on YOU……neways, next time u wud get a call b4 even I land at B’lore & I know what I wud b treated with 🙂

Leave a Reply

