Rocky Road Bites

“The 12-step chocoholics program: Never be more than 12 steps away from Chocolate!!” – Terry Moore

I simply adore lazy, got-nothing-to-do weekend getaways. Specially if those involved swimming pools! I love to spend all day splashing about, or just floating on my back in a bright blue pool of icy cold water, watching the sky and the plethora of various shaped clouds drifting about. Does that tell you of how much I love being in water, or of how much I love watching the clouds? Does it matter though, ‘cos I love both. And if I can do them both together, all the more better!!

I’ve always found watching clouds a very engaging thing to do. Trying to fathom shapes and figures, from the tufts of clouds gradually changing shape; imagining creatures, faces, objects from real life and weaving stories from them, trying to connect stories you’ve read with the stories you’re weaving, suddenly wishing you’d actually see tufts of clouds shaped like Harry Potter and his friends Ronald Weasly and Hermoine Granger fighting their way through, destroying Horcruxes, bringing the downfall of Lord Voldemort… Alright, ok, I hear you…I’m coming back to ground reality. You must have guessed by now that I’m an ardent Potter fan and oh yes, I’m very lucky to have already watched ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – I’, thanks to a close friend of mine, another ardent Potter fan. Thanks heaps P! Did I love the movie? I certainly did! So much so that it rekindled Potter mania in me, and as soon as I got home from the cinemas, I brought out my dusty copy of ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ and started reading it all over again, and finished reading a 600-something pages in one day too. I’m still definitely living in Potter world. It will take me some time to come out of it and back into our Muggle-world. But till then, I’m going to enjoy imagining the clouds to be replaying scenes from the Potter movie while you can drool like a shameless puppy over these decadent chocolate-y babies!

ROCKY ROAD BITES

Ingredients:

  • Dark Chocolate – 250 gms
  • Mini-marshmallows – 1/2 cup, heaped (I just used strawberry flavoured, regular-sized marshmallows cut into 1/2-inch pieces)
  • Walnuts – 1/2 cup, chopped
  • Black currants – 1/4 cup
  • Rice crisps – 1/2 cup
  • Butterscotch chips – 2 tbsps, coarsely powdered/crushed
  • Strawberry Essence (optional) – 1 tsp
  • White rum (optional) – 1 tbsp (If you’re adding this, don’t share the rocky road bites with the one who’s driving, on the pretext that they’ll end up doing some risky drunken driving ;))
Note:
  1. You can pretty much make your own desirable combos with the chocolate, marshmallows and the other ingredients. The other ingredients/flavours can vary as per choice. Chocolate marries well with pretty most everything, so get creative all you like!
  2. I used strawberry essence to highlight the same flavour of the marshmallows I used, and the chocolate combined with the tart flavour of the berries turned out to be really good.
This proportion makes about 20-22 bites.

Procedure:
  • Line a baking sheet with parchment and set aside.
  • Break/cut the chocolate into small pieces and place in a large microwave-safe bowl. You could either melt the chocolate in the microwave, or on a double boiler. To know how to do that, lookie here.
  • Melt the chocolate till it is completely molten and a liquidy glaze. Make sure the chocolate doesn’t seize. Chocolate seizes when it is heated too much, for durations longer than required.
  • While the chocolate is melting, assemble the rest of the ingredients except the strawberry essence and rum (if using) in a bowl.
  • Once the chocolate has melted, stir-in the essence and rum (if using) and incorporate into the molten chocolate.
  • Stir in the mixture of marshmallows, walnuts, black currants, rice crisps and coarsely powdered butterscotch chips, and toss in the melted chocolate until well covered.
  • Place heaping teaspoons of the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet. I lightly oiled my cookie scoop and dropped the mixture onto the baking sheet.
  • Chill in the refrigerator until set, then carefully remove from the baking sheet. When they had partially set, I rolled them into balls, cos I somehow fancied them round. Once I rolled them into balls, I let it set fully till done.
  • Place the balls/bites in paper petit-four cases if you wish, and serve. I covered mine with thin brightly coloured chocolate foil wraps. I love anything bright. I love anything chocolate. And when anything chocolate is wrapped in anything bright, try stopping me from not making them disappear!! 😉
I actually made these rocky road bites since we had planned to go to a resort over the weekend; I wanted some quick and non-messy snacks for the long drive, but we unfortunately ended up not going at all. We did end up gorging on these decadent pick-me-ups nonetheless; rocky roads or not, the bites didn’t get a chance to delude us. And now, I’m sitting all guilty for having given in to my chocolate cravings. Oh don’t you dare look at me like that now, ‘cos I know you’re no better than me. Atleast Im shamefacedly admitting it…will you? 😛
9 responses to “Rocky Road Bites

  1. Feeling like popping in those rocky road bites….looks gr8 dear..

  2. As usual……….Looks yummyyyyyyyy :)) gimme some 😉

  3. This is just lovely … BTW, where wud yu find marshmellows & black currants?? will I be able it find it in Ahmed Bazaar or do yu knw a specific place where yu find all the baking ingredients??

  4. I dont mind to munch some rite now…sooooo cute looking bites..

  5. they look so good,..;-)

  6. These look yumm, my kids will love these for sure. TFS Madhuri..

  7. I know what to make when we hit the road next. These are super easy!
    What can I say? You sure ‘rock’ dear! 😛

    And don’t you think 12 steps is too far to be from chocolate? 😉

  8. Yummy rocks here Madhuri!! Wouldn’t mind being pelted at by these all day ;). Deepti is right, 12 steps is too.. far away to be from chocolate. Terry Moore is being heartless, bah!! 😛

  9. Wow, looks amazing and I am sure tastes delicious !!!

Leave a Reply

