Fudgy Chocolate Burfi

Now this is what I call a ‘two-birds-in-one-stone’ kind of solution! You must be wondering what I’m talking about aren’t you? Had I not promised to let you dive in the pool of chocolate nirvana? You remember? Good! Had I not told you that I was also going to give you a lot of melt-in-the-mouth sweets for Diwali as well? Yeah, you remember this too? Very good! You have now passed the small memory test I intended to put you through! So what’s the perfect solution when I’d promised you both? This – A Chocolate Burfi, which has the best of both worlds! Do you agree with me? 🙂 Since I must have bored you with my long banter just earlier this morning, come let us dive straight away into the recipe for this yummy, fudgy, chocolate-y concoction. Let me warn you though – when you’ve started gorging on this, you cannot just stop at one piece! Don’t you dare hate me for that, it’s not my fault…not one bit 😉

Ingredients:

  • Maida/All-pupose flour – 1 cup
  • Sugar – 2 cups (I used 1.5 cups levulose sugar)
  • Cocoa powder – 2 tbsps
  • Ghee – 1/2 cup
  • Milk – 1 cup
  • Grated Khova/Mawa – 1/2 cup
  • Dry fruits of choice – 1/3 cup (I used Chironji seeds)
Note:
  1. If you wish to make a slightly low-fat version, replace the mawa with equal quantity of skimmed milk powder, and you can feel a little less guilty as you pop in piece after piece of the burfi.
  2. I used a 8-inch square tray to set my burfi in, and I got 36 pieces of burfi.
Procedure:

  • Place a thick-bottomed pan on the flame, and directly add all the ingredients except the dry-fruits to the pan.
  • Keep the flame on a medium, mix the ingredients in the pan well to incorporate everything and keep continuously stirring. This will definitely give your arms some good exercise, and help them look a lot slimmer in time to flaunt some skin during the Diwali parties 😉
  • After about 15 minutes, the mixture will start thickening, and will slowly start leaving the sides of the pan.
  • In the meantime, grease a square tray and set aside. If you don’t have a square tray, use a regular round plate. Don’t neglect the mixture in the pan while you’re doing this. Yes, here’s where your multi-tasking abilities are put to test, so come out with flying colours please.
  • By now the mixture in the pan would have formed one large mass. Stir in your dry fruits, and incorporate well.
  • Pour the mixture onto your readied tray, level with the spatula, and allow to cool.
  • Once it has cooled, cut into desired shape. I chose plain old squares, since my tray was square and I wanted to avoid wasting the pieces on the edges. Cutting them any other way only meant giving myself a bigger chance of binging on those funny-shaped pieces on the edges, and NO, I didn’t want to do that. Who needs to carry pre-holiday weight before you bring on the holiday weight? Not me! That being said, I did pay the occasional visit to the kitchen just to see if the burfi was doing fine. Of course it was doing fine, I just needed an excuse to pop a piece into my mouth. Shhh, don’t tell anyone about it though…this is a secret just between you and me. Deal? 😉
While I have some more easy-peasy, yet terrific sweet preparations coming your way, you might also like some other Indian sweets like these –

or even something not-so-traditional like Home-made Chocolates & Chocolate-coated Biscuits for your Diwali giveaways.

I bet you’re all gearing up for the great weekend ahead. Keep at it, and make something nice for your family to ring in the Festival of Lights too! I’m going for a splash in the chocolate nirvana pool now. It’s beckoning to me from god-knows-how-long. See ya around. Splaaaaaaaaaaaaaassshhhh!!

11 responses to “Fudgy Chocolate Burfi

  1. Wowwwwwwww…..looks yummmmmmmmmm 🙂 mouth-watering 🙂

  2. Fudgy burfi looks irresistible..

  3. Oh – you keep splashing my dear! Way to go.

    I love that you started off with Chocolate and more chocolate – indeed will be a sweet Diwali! Can’t wait to see the rest of the stuff. Now, I just wish you send some over here so I can secretly pop a few!

  4. I was so busy packing my bags as I’m headed home in two days, I had almost forgotten that we have a festival coming our way. But, you sure lit up the mood for me with this one. And, yes, talk about killing two birds in one shot!! Love way you’ve used the diya stand and the tea lights. A perfect way to present the marriage of chocolate and burfi! Kudos!

  5. They look truly divine, Teach!! Now, I only need figure out a vegan replacement for Khova!! :0))

  6. Who can say no to these mouthwatering choco burfis !! Fab Madhuri 🙂

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  7. The barfi looks awesome.

  8. Wow looks soooooo delicious and Wish you happy Diwali.

  9. I am surely going to blame only u for all the chocolate desserts I may gorge on in the next few days 😉 Though am not a big fan of burfis, (except kaju-katli) I may be partial to the chocolaty kinds like this 😀

    Looking forward to seeing more on your Choc Fest, looking forward to sending some of my stuff to your event…

Leave a Reply

