Cabbage-Onion Soup

We tend to have soup-nights atleast 2-3 times a week so that we can eat light and healthy for dinner. Made this a few days back since a friend had requested for the recipe. Though I do add shredded cabbage in some soups, I had never tried just plain cabbage soup before this and when Sonia asked me for the recipe, I thought “What? Cabbage Soup? Cabbage?? Really??”. Nonetheless, I set out to try it and when I did taste it, I liked the soup. Will be a regular in my kitchen now on. The best part about the soup is, you cannot tell its made from cabbage! None of that stink from the cabbage; just a slurpy, creamy soup that would tickle your palate. I cannot deny that it is a little bland, so it might take some developing a taste for it.

Sonia this is for you. Try it soon and let me know if you liked it.

Ingredients:

  • Cabbage – 2 cups (chopped/diced)
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium-sized; diced)
  • Garlic – 6-7 pods (alter t suit your taste)
  • Barley (optional) – 4 tbsps (coarsely powdered) (I prefer using barley to cornstarch cos its healthier. Feel free to replace it with cornstarch powder if you wish)
  • Cornstarch powder – 1 tbsp, dissolved in 1/2 water (Use either barley or cornstarch, not both)
  • Salt – to taste
  • White pepper powder – to taste

Procedure:

  • Microwave the cabbage, onions and garlic with adequate water for about 10 minutes, on high. (Time taken to get done may vary with each microwave)
  • Allow to cool, drain the stock and blend the veggies to a smooth puree in the mixer (without much water). Do not thrown away the stock; we’d need to use it later.
  • If using Barley, boil it with 2 cups water in a deep pan, till it forms a starchy composition. If not using, skip this step.
  • Add the cabbage-onion puree to the wok (is using the barley, add the puree to the barley-water mixture).
  • Allow the puree to boil on a medium flame till it thickens a little. Add some of the stock if the consistency is too thick.
  • In the meanwhile, make a paste of the cornstarch powder with water and keep it ready.
  • Simmer the flame and add the cornstarch paste to the boiling soup. Ensure to simmer the flame, else the soup will thicken too quickly (and will end up like the starch you would prepare to stiffen your cotton sarees!).
  • Allow to boil on a sim for about 5 minutes, stirring in between.
  • Stir in some salt to taste and a wee bit of white pepper powder (They can always be adjusted by each individual as per their taste).
  • Pour into soup bowls, garnish with a blog of butter, some chives (optional) and enjoy it hot with some bread/bread-sticks to make it a wholesome meal.

Alternately, you could even prepare a clear soup i.e., sans the barley/cornstarch powder and that would taste better maybe! Give it a try.

11 responses to “Cabbage-Onion Soup

  1. Hey, am seeing a cabbage soup for the first time.. Will take your word and surely try it out.. looks good for sure!!

  2. cabbage soup??? wow looks yummy

  3. I love cabbage soup and used to make it quite often. :) It goes well with any veggy combination. Nice click and yummy soup :)

    Take a look at my version here: http://www.4thsensecooking.com/2009/11/cream-of-cabbage-soup.html

  4. hey this looks so tasty..refreshing color..

  5. Bowl of delicious soup makes me hungry, i love cabbages in soup and also loved ur addition of barley, truly yumm!

  6. madhuri I love the use of barley instead of cornstarch,the soup looks perfect:)

  7. I love cabbage in my soup..this looks awesome and sounds healthy..

  8. I am in for the cabbage soup. I make them too. But what I loved is the use of Barley, healthy version. I need to try them too.

  9. Thanks everyone!

    @Nithya: I loved your version too! Must try sometime.

    @Priya: You have to stop me from adding barley and flax seed into everything I cook. I quietly slip them in when the hubby’s not looking ;)

    @Mallika: Please do! Barley is extremely good for health, and what’s more, they dont have a distinct taste, so they wont spoil the original taste of the dish you’re using them in!

  10. Shaheen Fairoze

    Hey Madhuri,
    I tried the cabbage onion soup and guess what…everyone at home loved it, this happens whenever I cook some dish from CCN. Barley is indeed a very good option, my brother is …..slurping the soup while i’m writing this comment :)
    Take care,
    Shaheen

Leave a Reply

