Potato Saagu

I was left with some Aloo Parantha stuffing after making all my paranthas and I dint want to put it in the refrigerator cos I knew it’d be long forgotten. Daisy blue’s event has had me thinking of what to send over. No, I’m not purposely making sure I end up with leftovers to transform and send to her event, but there was enough stuffing to make just another 3 paranthas and that wasn’t good enough for our dinner. If you have a husband like mine, with a voracious appetite, you’d know what I mean. So the Aloo Parantha Stuffing very conveniently became Saagu to go with the Neer Doses that I’d made for breakfast. Oh and transforming the left-overs doesn’t end here! Watch the upcoming posts to know more 😉

Aloo Parantha Stuffing >> Easy-peasy Potato Saagu >> ?? (Anybody wants to try guessing?)

Ingredients:

  • Aloo Parantha Stuffing – 2 cups (or as much as you’re left with)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a sprig, finely chopped
  • Warm Water – as required, to give the saagu the right consistency
  • Jeera/Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Oil – 1 tbsp

Procedure:

  • In a wok, heat the oil. Add jeera seeds and allow to splutter.
  • Add the aloo parantha stuffing and adequate warm water. Stir gently to get a uniform consistency.
  • Adjust salt if required and cook on a medium flame for 3-5 minutes.
  • Garnish with coriander/cilantro and serve hot with rotis/puris/dosas, whatever you deem fit!

This is going straight to Gomathy’s (Daisy Blue) ‘Left-over Delicacies‘ Event.

5 responses to “Potato Saagu

  1. Easy saagu with the leftover stuffing.. Great idea Madhuri!

  2. Thats a delicious saagu Madhu, that too with leftovers..prefect entry..

  3. I love this consistency of the potato saagu! It reminds me of the ones that come with rava idly in restaurants !

  4. This is a wonderful idea to use the leftovers Madhu

  5. Thanks all! Guess Im just being at my innovative best 😉

Leave a Reply

