Vella Kuzhipaniyaram | Sweet Kuzhipaniyaram

What better way to start my next set of hundred posts than with something sweet, yet not so sweet to send me on an impending guilt trip!

Ingredients:

  • Idli/Dosa batter – 2 cups (I used idli batter)
  • Jaggery – 1/2 cup (add more if you like it very sweet; I like mine just moderately sweet)
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp (if you already have it added to the batter, please omit)
  • Elaichi powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Freshly grated coconut – 1/4 cup
  • Ghee + Oil – in equal quantities as required, to fry the paniyarams

Equipment: Paniyaram chati / Appam skillet / Pancake puff skillet and a Paniyram Stick, to remove the paniyarams from the skillet. This is what the skillet looks like:

kuzhi-copy

Serving size: Makes about 15-20 pieces, depending on how deep the kuzhis in your skillet are.

Procedure:

  • Pound the jaggery as finely as you can. The better pound it is, the sooner it will dissolve in your batter.
  • In a bowl, mix together the batter, pounded jaggery, elaichi powder and freshly grated coconut.
  • Whip the batter lightly with a spoon and set aside for about an hour, to let the jaggery dissolve in the batter.
  • Once the batter is ready, heat the Paniyaram Skillet and pour 1/2 tsp oil +1/2 tsp ghee in each of the impressions and allow the skillet to heat.
  • Once the skillet is heated, pour the readied batter into each impression.
  • Cover the skillet with a lid and allow to cook on a medium flame. This is very important here, as keeping the heat too high or too low will either result in burnt or under-cooked paniyarams.
  • After a couple of minutes, you will see the batter fluffed. Using a spoon or a paniyaram stick, gently turn the paniyarams to cook on the other side.
  • Cover with the lid and let it cook for another 2 -3 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and crunchy.
  • You can use a tooth pick to check if the paniyarams are cooked on the inside, by piercing to the centre. If no batter is stuck to the toothpick, then your paniyarams are ready.
  • Serve hot either along with breakfast, or as your main breakfast itself. It would even make a good evening snack. I’d say making paniyarams is the best way to finish up remnants of idli/dosa batter in small quantities.

This is going straight to Gomathy’s ‘Left-over Delicacies‘ Event. Gomathy, I’d completely forgotten about your event and realised I could send this over when I hopped onto your blog today 🙂

20 responses to “Vella Kuzhipaniyaram | Sweet Kuzhipaniyaram

  1. I’m drooling Madhuri 🙂
    When I was in hostel, one of my closest friends was from the place – kaaraikudi – known for paniyaarams… she used to bring 2 huge boxes of kuzhi paniyaarams every week – one sweet and the other savoury… and they used to disappear in 30 seconds 🙂

  2. I was just talking about these with a friend this afternoon – actually about the unniappam – which is similar but with banana. But I like this made with Dosa batter! I have some batter at home – maybe will make for dinner tomorrow! Thanks Madhuri for a fun recipe!

  3. Just to also add to your last statement, i think you should also make Dosa batter just so you can make these yummy paniyarams!!

  4. I’ve some dosa batter left..running into the kitchen to try these out 🙂

  5. Awesome!! Perfect for people with sweet tooth.. like me:-))

  6. I can eat this anytime…prefect for my sweet tooth dear…delicious..

  7. I love guntapunganalu (thats what we say in telugu). But ive never made it this way. This looks very easy to try.

  8. I love appams and crave for it often. Amma makes them, but haven’t tried my hands at them yet. We make them with bananas, while this recipe looks a little different. This looks tempting with an excellent click as usual!

  9. Hey these looks so delicious..never tried sweet appe..will try the next time I make idli batter..

  10. Kuzhipaniyaram is my all time favourite…looks very tempting and your blog is beautiful and informative 🙂

  11. Hi, tried this option with left over dosa batter…tasted awesome..Thanks for this delicious recipe.

Leave a Reply

