Summer Salad

This is a new concoction I put together for our Ugadi lunch. I normally cook the corn kernels before adding to my salad, but this time I wanted to try something new. And since I realised the corn kernels were juicy and fresh, I thought I’d keep everything raw. Everyone loved it and this is sure gonna be a regular at home now on! You’ll love the refreshing taste and it can even make a meal by itself when you’re feeling lazy to fix you a proper meal 😉

Ingredients:

  • American sweet corn on the cob – 3 nos
  • Onions – 2 nos (large-sized; finely chopped)
  • Tomatoes – 2 nos (large-sized; finely chopped)
  • Spring Onions – 1/2 bunch; chopped
  • Coriander/Cilantro – 1 handful; finely chopped
  • Lime juice – from 1 lime
  • Salt – to taste

Procedure:

  • Hold the corn cobs vertically and shred the corn kernels away from the cob. (Sure, you could use the shelled corn kernels which are readily available in the market, only it wouldn’t taste just as fresh!)
  • Transfer the corn kernels into a large bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. If you are planning to make it ahead for a party, mix in everything except the salt and lime juice. Add them both just before serving to prevent the salad from getting soggy.
  • Refrigerate, garnish with coriander and serve chilled. Scrummy and refreshing salad, all yours…a salad you could chill with!

17 responses to “Summer Salad

  1. Very colorful and refreshing indeed!! Great idea for lunch on a summer noon!

  2. Lovely n healthy salad.. thanks for sharing!!

  3. HI,
    What a colorful Photo!! Wonderful Summer Salad! 🙂

  4. Loved the yellow colors come together with the redness of tomatoes and fresh green leaves.

  5. Salad looks very colorful and the corn with the crunchy feeling should taste yum!! Btw I have an event going in my blog…do participate Madhuri !!

  6. Hm.. now that is interesting. I have never tried corn fresh either. Always end up cooking them.. good one!

  7. Thanks so much all!
    @Gomathy: I sure will! I’d love to. I managed to trace your foodblog through Townsquare. All this while, I just thought you had only one blog with all your lovely clicks on blooms!

  8. Love this Madhuri – this is infact served as corn salsa in some mexican fast foods here – I load my mexican food with this!

  9. wow, such a colorful and healthy salad, looks so delicious.

  10. so colorful..yummy and healthy

  11. Wat a colourful salad, looks refreshing and healthy..

  12. hmmm.. colorful !!

  13. Hey the stuff looks yummy. Its really getting hot here in California. Could you put some cool dishes and cool drinks /cold drinks other than lassi plzzzzz

  14. Hi,
    Interesting, colorful salad. I liked corn bhel n kokum juice too.
    Cheers,

  15. Colourful and refreshing salad

  16. Thank you all!
    @Ananya: Sure dear. Im in fact having an event all this month which calls for recipes for Juices, Shakes and Smoothies…just to combat the heat. If you would like to contribute, please do! The details for the event are here – https://cookcurrynook.wordpress.com/2010/03/01/serve-me-some-juices-shakes-smoothies/

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

