Corn & Makkai ki atta Dhoklas

I had already mentioned the D-word in yesterday’s post. So you knew what was coming today, weren’t you? 🙂 Whenever I hear/say the word ‘Dhokla’, I cannot help bursting out laughing loud in fond memory of an incident that took place when I was newly married. Read on, I promise you’ll be laughing hard too!! The hubby is really bad, no actually pathetic, when it comes to Hindi and when I first made dhoklas (the regular ones) soon after marriage, he had some and soon, he absently handed me his empty plate, all the while staring at the television screen, and said “Very yummy, give me some more dhoka“!!!! (Don’t miss the missing ‘L’). I jumped out of my skin and screamed “Huh? Whatttttttt? You want me to what? Are you out of your mind?? *#$^&%*@$%”. Poor guy was aghast when I bawled at him! It’s only after I explained the difference between ‘dhokla’ and ‘dhoka’, did he realise his mistake and even to this day, this is one of those cute ‘every-married-couple’s-secret-jokes’ jokes we share! And even now, when I make dhoklas, he comes up to me and says “Give me some more dhoka!!” with that naughty gleam in his eyes, and I cannot help falling in love all over again, forgetting all thought of giving him any dhoka, oops dhokla!! 😉

Ingredients:

For the Batter:

  • Makkai ki atta/Super-fine Whole Cornmeal – 1 cup + 2 tbsps
  • American sweet corn kernels – 1/4 cup (cooked with adequate salt for 5-7 minutes in the microwave, till softly done)
  • Curd (preferably sour) – 1/2 cup
  • Warm Water – 1/2 cup
  • Ginger-green chilli paste (optional) – 2 tsps
  • Lime juice – 1 tsp
  • Sugar –  1 tsp
  • Fruit salt/Cooking Soda –  1 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Oil – 1 tbsp + 1 tbsp

For the Tempering:

  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Oil – 1 tsp

For the Garnishing:

  • Freshly grated Coconut – 4 tbsps
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a sprig, finely chopped

Procedure:

  • In a bowl, combine 1 cup makkai ki atta, curd and warm water. Let sit for a good half hour.
  • In the meanwhile, pat dry the cooked corn kernels and roll them in the remaining 2 tbsps of makkai flour. (This is done to prevent the corn kernels from sinking to the bottom when the dhokla cake is getting steam-cooked).
  • Once the basic batter has sat for half hour, stir-in the flour-coated corn kernels, ginger-green chilli paste (if using), sugar, salt, asafoetida, oil, lime juice and lastly, the fruit-salt.
  • Without losing any time, grease a wide, deep container that would fit in your cooker (I used my cooker container itself) and pour the readied batter in.
  • Steam cook on a high flame for 20 minutes, and medium flame for another 10 minutes. This does take longer than your regular dhoklas to cook. However, I think the extra 15-minutes are worth it b’cos this one is definitely much more healthy that your regular besan dhoklas…what say?
  • Once done, remove from the cooker/steamer and allow to cool for 10-15 minutes.
  • Run a serrated knife along the edge of the container and gently upturn the container onto a plate. Pat lightly on top once you’ve upturned it, in case the cake decides not to behave itself.
  • Prepare a tempering with the ingredients mentioned and pour onto the upturned dhokla cake.
  • Cut the dhokla cake into 2″ x 2″ squares.
  • Garnish with freshly grated coconut and coriander, and serve with some refreshing Pudina Chutney.

Makes for a really healthy snack on a Sunday evening, when Monday blues are looming ahead of you. This is something I’m sure would cheer you up to a certain extent (I don’t know about you, but good food sure cheers me up in a jiffy 😉 ).

This is going to Divya’s ‘Sunday snacks – Healthy snacks‘ at Dil-se, and also, Srivalli’s ‘Kid’s delight: Wholesome Snacks

22 responses to “Corn & Makkai ki atta Dhoklas

  1. Oh your poor husband ! You published his secret to the whole world !! Hmm now he might give you a dhoka for doing this! Hahah…very innovative…would love to try it. Not sure my husband would like me giving him a dhoka though! He is not very fond of them!! But no worries in giving a dhoka to myself…eh??

  2. Super recipe!! Must try it out!! I can imagine the ‘dhoka’ scene!! LOL!

  3. Just what I needed to use up those american sweet corn kernels in the freezer!! Thans Madhuri… and needless to say hubby loves anything with corn in it & absolutely loves dhoklas!!
    A question – when you say fruit salt, do u mean that Eno thingy that’s in the stores? And would baking soda & cooking soda be the same?

    • You’re welcome Geetha! And in answer to your question: Yes, fruit salt, Eno, Baking soda, Cooking soda are all the same. Try it with whichever one of them you are able to procure.

  4. Hi Madhuri your corn recipe is nice do u have th tomato pickles recipe too

  5. Corn dhoklas looks healthy and prefect with pudhina chutney…yumm feel like having rite now..

  6. Very cute incident..dhoka..ohh.. dhoklas looks perfect..very healthy too

  7. Hey
    Me first time here through Priya’s blog and i loved your presentation and pics.Very unique collection of recipes.
    Love
    Subhashini

  8. such tasty dhokla…and when its served with that pudina chutney..yum, finger licking..

  9. Loved your healthy recipe with that eye catching chutney.

  10. Wow..looks great.. I have never made dhoklas now I can.. thank you

  11. Thank you for the lovely entry!

  12. Hi the dhokla looks v yummy!!good one

Leave a Reply

