Sabudana Kichdi

This Maharashtrian dish is a favourite with me and the hubby. Last I made it was in June last year and I suddenly felt like eating it again (I don’t make it as often as I would love to b’cos it takes quite a bit of grease to make it tasty). But today being Sunday, I thought of splurging a bit. Also, since I’d recently heard that Sago cools down the body, I had the perfect excuse if the hubby said anything!

Ingredients:

  • Sabudana (Sago) – 3 cups (the small variety which is used for kichdi)
  • Onions – 3 nos (medium sized; finely chopped)
  • Potatoes – 4-5 nos (medium sized; chopped into small rectangular pieces)
  • Green Chillies – 3 nos (finely chopped)
  • Curry leaves – a sprig, finely chopped
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a generous handful, finely chopped
  • Groundnuts/Peanuts – 1/2 cup (dry roasted, cooled and powdered coarsely)
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Jeera/Cumin seeds – 2 tsps
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a generous pinch
  • Oil – 5-6 tbsps

Serves: 4 persons

Procedure:

  • Soak the sago overnight (or about 6-8 hours) in a deep, slightly wide vessel. Ensure the water level rises to just about an inch above the level of sago. Else, it will end up all soggy and the kichdi will turn out like pongal!
  • In a wok, heat the oil. Add the asafoetida. Pop the mustard seeds, and add the jeera. Allow to splutter.
  • Stir in the finely chopped onions, green chillies and curry leaves. Add the turmeric powder and saute on a medium flame till the onions are tender.
  • Add the chopped potatoes. Stir well for a minute.
  • After about a minute, add the salt. Stir-fry on a medium-high flame till the potatoes turn a lovely golden brown in colour and have browned edges.
  • In the meanwhile, gently stir the soaked sago with a spatula so the grains are separated from each other.
  • Add the sago to the wok and stir gently to ensure all the ingredients are well incorporated. Cook on a medium-high flame for another 5-6 minutes till the sago grains turn somewhat translucent.
  • Remove from flame and stir in the coarsely powdered peanuts.
  • Garnish with coriander/cilantro and serve hot! It’s a pleasure to dig into this lip-smacking kichdi. It is very filling and I wouldn’t dare take a second helping…that should give you an idea how much.

12 responses to “Sabudana Kichdi

  1. Never tried kichdi with sabudana, looks prefect for breakfast!

  2. My favorite khichadi is been served here..too good..love the click..never tried adding onion..

  3. Not sure if you know, this is what they make in Maharashtra when they fast for festivals/pujas. Pretty absurd doing so…considering how it fills you up!

  4. I did not find any place to add this comment.. but, I LOVE the current ‘mood in ur kitchen’!

    • Yup, I know this is used as Vrath-ka-khana in Maharashtra. I don’t think they were being absurd…just smart! Eat something that fills you up and then pretend you’re fasting! How fake! Lol 😛
      Regards the mood in my kitchen, all I can say right now – “geeeeeee” 😉

  5. And, the funnier part is that altho we are descendents from Maharashtra we dont make this dish at all. I eat it only when we go to Pune/Mumbai to meet my maternal relatives.

    • IS that so? I love this kichdi and wish I could make it often. Only, only, only, its the oil required to make it that puts me off 😦
      Anybody with a healthier option out there? 🙂

  6. Yummy!! Great click too! Its been ages since I made this dish. Too much oil being the major reason and do not normally stock up on sago.

  7. I used to crave for this dish but now cannot as it is full of calories and carb

  8. yum yum yum… surfing your blog was a bad idea… i now want EVERYTHING!

    Madhuri… i am moving in. Shift up

Leave a Reply

