Kuttavalakki | Huli Avalakki | Gojjavalakki

Kuttavalakki (also referred to as Huli Avalakki/ Gojj Avalakki in Karnataka) and Moong dal Payasam are the customary foods associated with Shivaraatri at Amma’s. I thought I’d continue the tradition. Also, the mister loves this particular form of avalakki and since I hadn’t done any cooking yesterday due to my being ill, this was my chance to make it up to him…two birds in one stone!! ;)

Ingredients:

  • Avalakki/Poha – 3 cups (the really thick variety must be used)
  • Tamarind puree – 1/2 cup (preferably fresh and warm)
  • Jaggery – 1/3 cup (pounded to small pieces)
  • Rasam powder – 1 heaped tbsp
  • Turmeric powder – a pinch
  • Salt – to taste

For the Masala powder: Dry roast the following, allow to cool, and powder finely in the mixer:

  • Channa dal – 4 tsps
  • Urad dal – 1 tsp
  • Jeera – 2 tsps
  • Black pepper corns – 1 tsp
  • Red Chillies  - 4 nos (2 nos of the hot variety ‘Salem’ + 2 nos of the colouring variety ‘Byadgi’)
  • Dry Copra – 1/2 cup
  • Asafoetida – a generous pinch

For the tempering:

  • Urad Dal – 1 tsp
  • Groundnuts/Peanuts – 4 tbsps or a handful
  • Curry leaves – from a sprig, finely chopped
  • Turmeric powder – a pinch
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a generous pinch
  • Oil – 2 tsps

Procedure:

  • Coarsely powder the avalakki/poha in the mixer (to a rava like consistency). Take care not to powder it too fine. Set aside.
  • In the meanwhile, prepare the masala powder with the ingredients mentioned. Set aside.
  • In a deep vessel, pour the tamarind puree and add the pounded jaggery to it. Stir till jaggery dissolves. (This is why I mentioned that the tamarind puree preferably be warm so it aids in the jaggery melting sooner).
  • To the tamarind puree-jaggery mixture, add the rasam powder, masala powder, turmeric powder and salt. Mix well to blend.
  • Slowly pour in the coarsely powdered poha and stir well to a uniformly combined mixture. The consistency, once done, should be that of almost-done upma. You might want to add some warm water in case the mixture calls for it (not more than 1 glass).
  • Allow this mixture to soak for about 30 minutes.
  • Using your hands, try to separate the lumpy mass; it should resemble ready upma (the dry kind).
  • Prepare the tempering with the ingredients mentioned. Lower flame and add the poha mixture. Stir well and cook on a low flame for 2-3 minutes.
  • Remove from flame and serve hot. Goes best with thick curd! Mmmmmmm :P

12 responses to “Kuttavalakki | Huli Avalakki | Gojjavalakki

  1. Hmmmmm yummy :) my favorite too :) :) Good one!!

  2. Woww this spicy poha looks fantastic, looks delicious and spicy..

  3. Delicious! Reminds me of Gokulashtami. Guess we can try making an instant version of this? With dry-tam,tempering and all? Just soak in water and eat? Has anybody tried this??

    • Wow Suma…thats a brilliant idea. But for an instant version, we wouldnt really be able to use gatti avalakki right? I don’t mind giving it a try though…let’s put our heads together and figure it out!

  4. That looks soooo good. I will surely try it, but don’t know when as I have so many in my bookmarks now :-)

  5. This looks so good – but also looks like too much work! I’ve not had this before – so bookmarking it – will try sometime!

  6. Hey mads, I tried this yday..very delicious..Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

  7. Sudha Narayanan

    Hi Mads, Hot hot feedback right after dinner! Made Huli Avalakki today for dinner! The tangy dish does something to the taste buds, which gives you a feel good factor.. Thanks a lot for this awesome recipe! We totally loved it! One doubt, mine didnt quite come out with the poha grains seperated as shown in the photo, it was one mass. I guess I misjudged the amount of water required/ground the avalakki slightly too fine.. Not sure..

  8. Hi Madhuri,
    It is wonderful to read all your recipes and more pleasurable to try them. Each and everytime I have tried your recipes, the foods turned out to be very special. I have been pampered both in my mom’s place and in my in-laws, they just dont allow me to cook. Now that I’m in Singapore, I have started to learn and everytime I have made your specialities, my husband has loved it. He says it is very close to what his mother prepares. What more does a wife want to hear.

    It will be more wonderful if we could be friends :)

    Love
    Anjana

Leave a Reply

