The 2-Minute Chocolate Wonder Cake in a Mug

Devil in me: Chocolate Cravings, chocolate cravings! Gimme something with chocolate in it, quick. Else, i’ll have an attack of hypo-chocomia (akin to hypo-glycemia)!!

Angel in  me: Noooooo, don’t you dare.

Devil in me: Isn’t it a special occasion anyway? There’s nothing wrong in celebrating. Anniversaries come just once a year.

Angel in me: Oh, shut up. That’s what you say every time. You pick on some occasion or the other, or you say it’s been a long time since you had something with chocolate in it. NO, I am NOT giving in. Don’t forget your promise to eat healthy this year.

Devil in me: Fine, so don’t bake a big cake and pig on it for the next one week. Make a small one to celebrate the occasion, have a bite and forget all about it. Is that too much to ask huh?

Angel in me: Small cake? Small ‘chocolate’ cake? Bah, I don’t know. I’ve never really made a ‘small cake’ and a ‘chocolate’ one at that. Don’t give me ideas now.

Devil in me: Bake that 2 minute Chocolate mug cake you put together. It will churn out just one mug-cake each, for you and him. It’s just purrrrrrrrrrrrfect!

Angel in me (finally conceding defeat): Alright, alright, but only because it is Anniversary time. Lets find my recipe notes and surprise the mister at midnight!

Devil in me: Phew, finally! Yayyyyyyy, let’s do it!! :D

Angel in me: You gotta double your walk tomorrow, only then I’ll get down to making this. Promise me…right NOW!

Devil in me: Yeah, whatever!

Angel in me: PROMISE ME!

Devil in me: OK, I promise, I promise! Now let’s get cracking on these, or we’ll ruin the plan.

These were the battles I had going on in my mind before I had even contrived to make us these 2-minute Chocolate Mug Cakes for our Wedding Anniversary yesterday. So what do you do when you want to eat cake like ‘NOW’?? Like really really Right NOW!! And yet, you don’t have the time, or the patience, (or the need) to bake a big chocolate cake and then feel all guilty about it for the next one week and sulk in remorse. I’ll tell you what you could do to fulfill those cravings! (Yeah, my shiny, red, devil’s horns are glowing their brightest ever). I put this together sometime back but never really had had a chance to make it after the trial run,  and was it perfect for me now or what? The serving size is just about the size of a slice of cake, so there is no chance of overeating! So I decided to bake this, surprise the mister for our anniversary, and still not go on a guilt-trip, all at once. Now how many cakes actually let you do that? ;)

For the first time, I decided to work with an egg-replacer I’ve heard so much about – Flax seed. Though I use flax seed in my cooking daily, I’d never used it in my baking earlier. Well, there’s always a first time for everything, isn’t there?

Don’t the mug cakes look all smug and cute?

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour – 1/4 cup (or 4 tbsps)
  • Brown Sugar – 1/4 cup (or 4 tbsps), firmly packed. Note: You could add 1-2 tbsps more to suit your taste (If you don’t have brown sugar or if procuring it is tough, just go ahead and use the normal, white sugar).
  • Cocoa powder – 2 tbsps
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Flax seed powder – 1 tsp mixed in 1/4 cup warm water (substituting 1 egg)
  • Milk – 3 tbsps (replace with equal amount of water if you want to make a Vegan version)
  • Oil – 3 tbsps (I used Rice Bran, the next best to Olive Oil)
  • Vanilla extract – 1 tsp
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Chocolate Chips (optional) – 3 tbsps ( I dint add any, chose to frost my mug cakes)

Procedure:

  • In a bowl, mix together the flour, brown sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.
  • Add the milk, oil and vanilla extract
  • Add the flax seed powder mixed in warm water .
  • Whisk well to form a smooth batter. (I just worked with my spatula).
  • Pour equal quantities into 2 microwave safe mugs.
  • Microwave one mug at a time on high power, for one and a half (1.5) minutes. (My microwave sets to 900W at high power. Please check yours and increase/decrease the time by 30-60 seconds, or as required). There is no need for baking in the convection mode! (If you’re one of those who couldn’t bake all this time cos you din’t have a convection MW or oven, you are gonna give one big whopping cheer when you read this!!).
  • Check and give it another 30 seconds only if needed. It should be cooked, but the middle should be gooey. So don’t overcook since it continues to cook during standing/cooling time.
  • Top both mugs with equal amounts of chocolate chips at this stage (during standing time) and keep covered. The chips will melt into a nice, gooey molten liquid on the top of the cake. I would suggest doing this rather than stirring in the chips before cooking. If you stir them in before cooking, the chips would all either sink to the bottom or melt and fuse with the cake…what’s the use if you cannot see and experience the sin, when you are sinning? ;)
  • Allow the mug cakes to cool and serve with some fresh cream/ice cream, or better yet, just dig in!! :D :P

Oh, and did I mention…all in all, to whip up the batter and bake the cake, it takes just 5 minutes tops. Give it another 5 minutes to cool if you’re using any topping, else just dig-in!!

Here are some more topping variants I tried – with silver mint balls and coloured sugar balls; with frosting topped with chocolate vermicelli; with butterscotch chips; with frosting topped with coloured sugar balls (in the same order).

33 responses to “The 2-Minute Chocolate Wonder Cake in a Mug

  1. Nice blog Madhuri..lovely recipes. Have added your site to my blogroll.

  2. Couldn’t get any more easier !! You are spoiling us all !

  3. Just love this microwave chocolate cake, lovely frosting dear, looks wonderful and tempting..

  4. DIM – I’m pretty darn sure you did not make just two mugs… the pics of the cake with the topping varieties did’nt happen by mistake, did they? *devilish laugh* *droool*

    • Angel in me: Hahaha…good observation Deepti! No, they certainly dint happen my mistake. My parents and us share the same anniversary day. So I made one each for all of us, my bro included.
      Devil in me: Ok, why am I trying to explain here. Make these cakes and gorge too…sooner. I need company! Muhuhahahahha :P

  5. Nice argument with the devil – but ultimately chocolate wins! Looks great!

  6. they look sooo yummm Madhuri ……….. wish u n Vinay a belated chocolatey anniversary !! yum yum :)

    if the devil looks like chocolate, it ain’t devil
    :)

  7. Droooool !! I think i am definitely gving it a try tonight… :)

  8. Just proves that true chocoholics can spot chocolate anywhere! I just need to get my hands on some cocoa pwdr (which I will when the snow melts a bit) and then Ill make these.. and SIN!! Eeeeeeeehhh hhhaaaaaaaaaaawww!!

  9. Wow! This looks very tempting! I am dropping to your site for the first time. The cake looks yum!

  10. Gosh..I go through the same battle every time I want to bake a cake.But I do give in to the devil since I like baking.I do listen to the angel too..I only keep a slice for myself and give away the rest of the cake to friends.Thank God :) :)I have heard so much about this cake but never tried it myself.I really need to :) :)Looks so tempting!!!

  11. Teach!! YOU GOTTA TELL ME – Wherever do you source all the scrumalicious toppings from?! :0| I have looked, and I’ve looked and I’ve looked some more. NOTHING!! Except for the silver dots from Nilgiris!! And even those melted into deflated silver nothings when I studded the cake with them!! Boo hoo!! :0(

    • Sneh, would you believe me if I said that I got every one of them from Nilgiris (Jayanagar 3rd Blk branch)? Yeah, I did! Only the butterscotch chips are from M K Ahmed (Jayanagar 9th Blk branch). Tell you what, next time Im at either place, will pick up these up for you (depending on what they have), and I could pass it on to you sometime. OK? :D

  12. Keeper Keeper Keeper! I am saying this after trying the bigger version of this cake that you posted recently!

  13. Gurl, I made this again. This time I made this small version becuz the gimme- chocolate-cake-now devil pounced on me this afternoon. And, I had leftover flax seed powder from the last time I made it. I made it and ate it and I cannot tell you the satisfaction I had.. Almost could feel my soul thank my taste-buds!! Danke Schone!!

  14. Tried this… n ma son whoz a chocolate lover just enjoyed it!! Thks ya!!!

  15. Hi Madhuri,
    See, I took so many days to try this wonderful cake. Its a hit!!
    My two mistakes were, I added more salt and I tried to fit the batter in one mug and half the cake was on Microwave glass.
    But the taste is just too good. Going to bake it again with correct salt and making in two mugs.,
    Thanks for such a lovely recipe.

  16. hey this is indeed an awesome cake.. creative,easy, time saving and looks great too.. wud try this recipe soon……………….. and my microwave is 800 W… Thanks for sharing this recipe…..

  17. Hi Mads,
    Long overdue feedback, though I gave it over to you over the phone instantly! :)
    I have made it thrice since then. This is truly a 2 minute wonder! Whenever I feel like eating cake, all that I have to do is whip this up in 2 minutes and a few more minutes in the oven for it to bake. Voila! Yummy cake ready! Dont I love it!! :D

  18. Made this cake twice…This is a keeper recipe…Topped it with chocochips once and chopped dark chocolate the next time….Deliciously sinful with no guilt…:)

  19. awsome I just made 12 of your recipes

  20. I love this recepi. But can I use yoghurt instead of flex seed as egg substitute. If yes, then how much shall I use it.

    Do you have a recepi for quick bread baked in microwave again eggless.

    Thanks

    • Monicaa,
      Firstly, it is ‘flax’ seed. Not ‘flex’ seed.
      I haven’t tried this with curd so I’m not sure how it will turn out. My guess is that it should work fine. You would need 3-4 tbsps of curd to replace the flax seed+warm water mixture.
      I do have a quick bread recipe, but it needs to be baked in an oven. Baking breads in the MW is not a great idea.

  21. Hi Madhuri! Have been following your blog, specially for the baking recipes. So far I ve tried out the eggless black forest cupcake and this one. I skipped the cocoa and made a vanilla cake. Didn’t do it in mugs, but I had a small silicon mold… Like a 4 piece cake. The quantities in the recipe fit my mold perfectly. I have added your blog to my list.

Leave a Reply

