Kesariya Shrikhand

What would you do when you accidentally ended up with uber sour curd because the fermented curd din’t make it to the refrigerator in time? Throw it away? Naaaaah! I’d rather dish up some Shrikhand and wipe (ahem, lick) the bowl clean! I even thought I could make some cream cheese from the sour curd and whip up a cheesecake since its been on my to-make wishlist for a long time now, but the quantity of sour curd was too less for a cheesecake. I’d have had to purposely turn some more curd sour and then make my cheesecake. Arrrgghh, too much of  a waiting game. In the end, Shrikhand won the vote since I hadnt had it in eons. I think the last time I had it was before marriage, some 3-4 years back, when Amma had made some.

The Maharashtrian breakfast/snack combo Puri-Shrikhand is a very famous and scrummy one too. So if you’re trying out the Shrikhand, you could plan ahead and make some puris to go with it and one day’s breakfast is taken care of…tada! I din’t make the puris though. I’ve had the combo earlier and loved it, but puris are just not my cup of tea because they’re deep fried. In fact, I cannot even remember the last time I ate them!

Ingredients:

  • Sour Curd – 1 litre
  • Powdered Sugar – 3/4 cup (you could add more to suit your taste)
  • Saffron/Kesar – a few florets
  • Milk – 1 tsp (to grind the kesar)

Procedure:

  • Firstly, you will need to make ‘Hung curd’ from the sour curd. To do this, take a thin (muslin) cloth. Transfer the sour curd to the cloth. Tie opposite ends of the cloth together and make a bundle of the cloth such that the sour curd is tied in firmly. Hang it above your sink so that all the water content from the curd drips down. You will have to leave it this way for about 10-12 hours to get really thick hung curd. The yield of the hung curd would roughly be about a cup. Here’s a tip to check if its done: The consistency should be the same as that of home-made paneer.
  • Once you have the hung curd ready, transfer to a wide and not-so-deep plate.
  • Using a rubber/silicon spatula, rub the hung curd in circular motions in one direction for about 15-20 minutes, till it is has a smooth, creamy texture.
  • Stir in the sugar and  continue rubbing in circular motions with the spatula for another 15-20 minutes till the sugar has completely dissolved (Yes, your hands are sure gonna ache by this time but trust me, it’s well worth the effort!).
  • In the meanwhile, using a mortar and pestle, grind the kesar florets in 1 tsp of milk till the saffron imparts its lovely colour to the milk.
  • Add the ground kesar to the hung curd-sugar mixture and rub in with the spatula for another 3-5 minutes, till it is uniformly mixed in.
  • Transfer the Shrikhand to a bowl and refrigerate for atleast 1 hour before serving (This helps thicken it even further).
  • Serve chilled as a dessert, or enjoy with hot puris!

You could even adapt this method to preparing the Shrikhand in a food-processor but no, I’d still recommend making it by hand because, for some strange reason, me thinks it tastes better when prepared the traditional way!


6 responses to “Kesariya Shrikhand

  1. Why are you doing this to me in the middle of the day?
    I have soup and break sticks for lunch. But now I want shrikand and puris 😦

  2. Sudha Narayanan

    Looks lovely.. 🙂 Never knew sour curd can turn into something so awesome!!

  3. Looks tasty and lovely…. thanks for this 🙂

  4. I was going to blog this myself very soon. Great minds think alike 😉 Except I was going to put a mega easy verion of Mango Shrikhand (altho not technically shrikhand… down amongst Bangalore Marathas we call this Shikrann). Something so simple even someone who never came across the word shrikhand can do it. Will upload soon. Thank you for this authentic maharashtrian dish. You are a true cook-a-holic… someone who knows lots of all cuisines. Nice!!

    • Oh wow, Mango Shikrann sounds like heaven. Cannot wait to try it during summer here 😛
      Thanks again for your kind words Deepti! I owe to all to my folks for giving me all the good food and stirring up the gourmet in me!

Leave a Reply

