Mint Baby-corn Stir-fry

I had make some Pudina chutney to go on my sandwiches couple of days back and I still had some of it sitting in my refrigerator. I din’t want to discard it and I was wondering how I could use it up. When I opened the refrigerator, I saw – the box of chutney and next to it, a store wrapped package of Baby-corn, and Voila…Mint Baby-corn Stir-fry was born! I managed to fix it in 7-8 minutes since I had the chutney ready. If you have to start over, it should not take you more than 10-15 minutes to fix this yummy sabzi…go on, try it 😀

Ingredients:

  • Babycorn – 15 nos (cut into oblong pieces)
  • Jeera/Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Cooking oil – 1/2 tsp

For the Masala:

  • Pudina/Mint leaves – a fistful
  • Cilantro/Coriander – a fistful
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium sized; chopped into medium sized chunks)
  • Green Chillies – 2 nos (alter to suit your taste)
  • Ginger – 1″ piece
  • Garlic – 5-6 pods

Procedure:

  • Grind the masala ingredients together to form a thick paste (use very little water).
  • Meanwhile, cook the baby-corn till soft and set aside. I did mine in 5 minutes in the microwave.
  • In a wok, heat the oil and add the jeera seeds. Allow to splutter.
  • Add the ground masala and sauté on high till it thickens a bit.
  • Once the water content in the ground masala has evaporated, add the cooked baby-corn.
  • Adjust salt and stir-fry on high for 2-3 minutes.
  • Remove from flame and serve hot with rotis/rice.

4 responses to “Mint Baby-corn Stir-fry

  1. I would have loved to try it if only I had baby corn at hand. I have a lot of mint at home though :-(. Why don’t you post the recipe for mint chutney too? I’ve tried it many times, but for whatever reason, it never came out good (something was always missing)…

  2. I tried it today…as you mentioned last night, its truly “a walk in the park”!!! And its finger licking good….:) Keep it going girl… you inspire me to cook often….:)

Leave a Reply

