Southekayi Avalakki (Cucumber Poha)

Ever heard of Cucumber Poha? Neither had I, before my dear friend Gowri told me about it a few months back. We were chatting one day and when I asked her what she had dished up for breakfast that day, pat came her reply – “Southekayi Avalakki”. Well, if you are a regular in the kitchen, when you hear of a new dish, most times you can do some guesswork on how it will be made and most of those times, you will have gotten your guesswork right! But when I heard of this, I was pretty clueless because I had never before heard of either the combo, or the dish. My curiosity stirred, I was instantly asking her for the recipe. I loved the simplicity of the recipe and set out to make it the very next day for breakfast. Now, it has become a regular breakfast in my household. I made this for breakfast today and wanted to share this yummy, quick-fix breakfast with you all. Thanks so much for sharing it with me Gowri!

Ingredients:

  • Cucumber – 2 nos
  • Poha (medium thickness) – 4 cups
  • Onion (optional) – 2 nos (small sized, finely chopped)
  • Green Chillies – 2 nos (finely chopped/slit)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a sprig, finely chopped
  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Jeera/Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Sugar – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Cooking Oil – 1 tbsp

Procedure:

  • Clean, peel and grate the cucumber. Add the sugar and salt. Mix well.
  • Soak the poha (dry, without washing) in the grated cucumber. This is what lends the dish its flavour. Mix the dry poha and grated cucumber well, so that all the poha is coated with/soaked in the grated cucumber (as in the image above).
  • Set aside the poha-grated cucumber mixture for about 15 minutes, to allow the poha to soften.
  • Once the poha is soaked, heat oil in a wok, add the asafoetida and pop the mustard seeds.
  • And the jeera and fry for a minute.
  • Add the green chillies and fry for another minute.
  • If using onions (which Gowri does not recommend, since the cucumber flavour gets diluted), sauté them with a little salt till they are cooked well and tender.
  • Now, add the soaked poha and stir well. Fry for 3-4 minutes till the raw fragrance of cucumber is gone.
  • Remove from flame, garnish with finely chopped coriander/cilantro and serve hot!

Now thats what I call a quick-fix breakfast! Do try it out and let me know if you liked it.

Co-incidentally, Gowri too had made this for breakfast today and she shared a picture of her poha for you all to see. Here it is –

Happy Holidays and a Merry Christmas to everyone! Ho! Ho! Ho! (Psst, don’t forget to hang up your stockings tonight. I’ve already put mine up ;))

9 responses to “Southekayi Avalakki (Cucumber Poha)

  1. The name of the dish aroused my curiosity, as you said, its a unique combo. Thanks for sharing Madhuri, will try it soon 🙂

  2. Thanks for giving me the credit Madhuri..I am glad you liked it and your friend too.. I have a small suggestion.You can add the salt to the poha mixture while soaking, so it helps the cucumber to ooze out the liquid from it and help soak the poha faster.

    I always add salt to the poha before transferring it to the saute pan even whenever I am making any other variation of poha.That is I add salt after draining the water.It helps in mixing of the salt evenly.

  3. I have never heard of it either, but bet it tasted real good. I normally like any preparation with poha and it is my savior on most mornings :-). Will try your preparation soon.

  4. Interesting recipe! Good snapshot too!

  5. Wow – you have so many poha recipes! I do like only one poha – the usual one!

Leave a Reply

