Instant Mor-kuzhambu | Majjige Huli

I learnt this from my dear friend Sudha when we had been to her place over the weekend. Though Im not a fan of morkozhambu, this one had me falling in love with it as instantaneously as it can be dished up. I loved the simplicity of this dish and the taste was simply fantastic, with the curd lending its usual tangy twist. Sudha served the yummy instant morkozhambu with crisp, hot dosas and tangy-sweet tomato-onion chutney for breakfast. I must admit that initially I was a little skeptical about trying the morkozhambu, but in no time, I was begging for more! Sudha, I must thank you for turning around my dislike for morkozhambu. This one is a definite winner and I will certainly make this often now! Psst, the hubby is going to be extremely happy about this turn of events, since I would vehemently refuse to make morkozhambu for him, just b’cos I dint have a taste for it all this while ;)!!

Ingredients:

  • Thick Curd – 1/2 litre (whisked lightly to form a smooth texture)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a sprig
  • Green Chillies – 3 nos (alter to suit your taste)
  • Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
  • Urad Dal – 1 tsp
  • Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Cooking Oil – 1 tsp
  • Salt – to taste

Procedure:

  • In a wok, heat the oil and add the asafoetida. Pop the mustard seeds.
  • Add the urad dal and fry till golden brown.
  • Add the turmeric and whisked curd.
  • In the meanwhile, give the coriander and green chillies a spin in the mixer (without any water), till they both blend well.
  • Add this to the curd mixture and allow to boil on a low flame for 5 minutes. It does not take more than 10 minutes in all to prepare this dish.
  • Serve hot with rice, or as a side dish with dosas. Simply finger-licking good!

6 responses to “Instant Mor-kuzhambu | Majjige Huli

  1. When I saw the post of Morkozhambu by you I was like..???? Madhuri and this??? If the dish has been successful enough to change your mind toward cooking mor, then I think this is surely a winner !!

    • Lol…you bet it is a definite winner Gowri! Im really thankful to Sudha for this 🙂
      Ahem, now you and V cannot gang-up against me for hating Majjige huli and poke fun at me 😛 [evil grin]

  2. Mads.. I am so so glad you liked it! Enjoy 🙂

  3. I’m very glad that you liked it, coz this dish goes very well with a whole bunch of podis, thogayals etc etc

Leave a Reply

