Carrot Salad | Carrot Kosambari

‘Kosambari’ as they called it in Karnataka, is a definite fare in South Indian Weddings (where the food is served on plantain leaves). There are different varieties of Kosambari. I have always enjoyed all varieties of kosambari right from the time I was little and it was a known fact in the family. Everybody doesn’t miss a chance to pull my leg about this even today. Amma always says that when I was little, if I was given some kosambari in a bowl, I would be the happiest soul and wouldn’t ask for anything else! How easy it was to keep me happy…hahaha :D!

Now, I enjoy it more as a healthy snack rather than a side-dish. After 2-3 days of sunshine, the weather is back to being gloomy and grey today. And nothing more to cheer me up than some piping hot rasam rice and my favourite carrot kosambari for lunch!! Aah, for the simple pleasures of life 😉

Carrot Kosambari

Ingredients:

  • Carrots – 5 nos (medium sized; cleaned and grated)
  • Green Chillies – 1 no (finely chopped; quantity can be altered to suit your taste)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a fistful (finely chopped)
  • Lime juice – 1 tbsp
  • Grated Coconut (optional) – 3 tbsps (I din’t add any, to reduce my cholesterol intake!)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Mustard seeds (optional) – 1/2 tsp
  • Asafoetida (optional) – a pinch
  • Cooking Oil (optional) – 1/2 tsp

Method:

  • Prepare the tempering (if using) with oil, asafoetida and mustard seeds. Once the mustard seeds have popped, add to the grated carrot.
  • Mix in the remaining ingredients and keep in the refrigerator for half hour.
  • Garnish with coriander and serve chilled. Makes for a very refreshing salad!

This kosambari (sans the tempering) is going to Padmajha’s ‘No-cook event‘.

6 responses to “Carrot Salad | Carrot Kosambari

  1. Oh, Those look fantastic and it sounds so yummy..so healthy and a delicious salad.

  2. I totally agree with you and even I’m a kosambari lover… very rich and colorful click btw 🙂

  3. Good one! Thanks for sharing

    • Thanks Sunitha. And you’re most welcome…it’s my pleasure to share 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by.
      Great blog you have going on there. Its a group blog I can see. Very nice concept! Keep it going… 😀

Leave a Reply

