Chatpata Pineapple Rasam

I had bought some pineapple yesterday evening and I decided to put it to some use other than making juice or just eating the fruit. I simply love the tangy, sweet twist of this rasam!

There are two-three ways to make this. What I’ve posted now is how I made it last night. I could maybe post the alternate methods some other time. Well for one, this method is quicker and easier 🙂

Ingredients:

  • Tomatoes – 3-4 nos (medium sized)
  • Pineapple – 1 nos (small sized)
  • Rasam powder – 1 1/2 tsp (you could alter this to adjust the spiciness you need)
  • Jeera/Pepper powder – 1 tsp (coarse powder; you can make it yourself in the mixer)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Curry leaves – a sprig (chopped)
  • Cilantro/Coriander – a fistful (finely chopped)
  • Water – as required
  • Mustard Seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Ghee (for tempering) – 1/2 tsp

Method:

  • Separately blend the tomatoes and 2/3rd of the pineapple into smooth pastes. Keep aside.
  • Chop the remaining 1/3rd of the pineapple into small pieces.
  • In a wok, add the tomato paste, rasam powder, jeera/pepper powder, salt, curry leaves, cilantro and boil for 4-5 minutes. Add water as required, to adjust the consistency.
  • Next, add the pineapple juice and allow to boil well for 5 minutes.
  • Add the chopped pineapple pieces and allow to boil on a low flame for 15-20 minutes.
  • Prepare the tempering and add to the rasam just before serving.
  • Serve with piping hot rice and potato wafers! Yummylicious! 😀

I’m sending this to Nithu’s ‘Think Beyond the Usual – Soup, Curry and Chutney with Fruitsevent.

7 responses to “Chatpata Pineapple Rasam

  1. I simply LOVE pineapple rasam. Yours looks mouth watering.

  2. I never made pineapple rasam at home… I had only tasted it at weddings… will try this one soon 🙂

  3. I had never heard of it ! Will remember to try it next time I get pineapple. The very many uses of pineapple… pineapple chat, gojju, juice, topping on pizza, pineapple fried rice and now rasam !

  4. Anupama: You totally should! I remember there was pineapple rasam at my wedding too 😀

    Gowri: Try it and let me know how it turns out. Im sure you’ll like it!

  5. so yummy it looks dear! next time we visit pls make this for me 🙂

  6. Hey Shami, sure thing! I would love to make it for you. Let me know when you guys are coming…i’ll have it ready for you 😀

Leave a Reply

