Instant Oats Idli

This was a recipe I put together sometime back but was not really happy with the end result. Today, I did some tweaking and it turned out just right!

IMG_1144

Ingredients:

  • Quick cooking Oats – 1/2 cup (I used Quaker Oats)
  • Fine soji (Chiroti rava) – 1/2 cup (ensure oats and soji are in 1:1 proportion)
  • Cooking Soda – 1/2 tsp
  • Curd (preferably sour) – 1/2 litre
  • Carrot – 1 no (medium size, grated)
  • Green Chilly – 1 no (finely chopped). You may alter this to suit your taste.
  • Cilantro/Coriander – a fistful, finely chopped.
  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Cooking oil (for tempering) – 1/4 tsp

Serves: Makes 16 idlis.

Procedure:

  • Toast the oats in the microwave for 2-3 minutes, stirring once in between. Alternately, you could dry roast the oats for 2-3 minues in a wok till they turn fragrant. Keep aside to cool.
  • Repeat the same procedure with the soji and keep aside to cool.
  • Once the oats have cooled, coarsely powder it in the mixer.
  • Make a tempering with asafoetida and mustard seeds.
  • Mix together all the ingredients in a bowl. The curd goes in last. Blend the mixture well and allow the batter to rest for 15 minutes.
  • Pour the batter into the idli moulds and steam cook for 15-20 minutes, like you would your normal idlis.
  • Serve hot with coconut-pudina chutney. Makes for a wholesome breakfast.

These idlis taste just like Rava idlis, and just as fluffy…no one can actually tell the difference. I normally make the dry mixture (toasted and powdered oats+roasted soji+tempering) and keep it handy in my freezer. This way, I can whip up breakfast real quick on a lazy morning 😉

14 responses to “Instant Oats Idli

  1. Ahaaa… another oats dish!!! I love using oats in different dishes… thanks for sharing

  2. Hey Anupama…you’re most welcome! I too try and use oats and barley as much as I can.

  3. I always have a hard time getting fibre into my family’s breakfast. This is a good fix. Tx!!

  4. Hi Madhuri! Interesting recipe… Will definitely try this out… Thanks for the tip on making the powder, it should be really helpful!

    • Hi Suma, thanks for dropping by. Im sure you will like this dish. Do try it out and let me know.
      Btw, I dropped by your blog and couldn’t help drooling at all those lovely cakes! Keep them coming!
      Cheers!

  5. Hey Madhuri, I like the way you have so many variety of recipes using Oatmeal in an Indian way. It’s a good way to use them in breakfast.

    • Thanks Mallika! Yeah, since I so hate to eat oats porridge, I try and come up with something more yummy to tickle my palatte, once in a while. I do my best to make the healthy stuff yummy too! 🙂

  6. Hey Madhuri, I tried the oats Idli. My hubby loved it and asked me to make it more often! Cant thank u enough for this oats recipe as my hubby does not like to have oats by itself! Cheers to u!

  7. hi madhuri

    wat is chiroti rava ? is it idli ravva /

  8. Hey Madhuri,

    I stumbled upon your blog when I saw your guest post in Suma’s Cakes and More. Your Flourless Chocolate Cake drove me nuts! Your recipes are easy to prepare with minimal and simple ingredients, which is what I admire the most. I recently happened to prepare your instant oats idli and I got very good reviews from my idil hater hubby. Thanks a ton for such recipes. I have blogged about both these recipes of yours. I had left a comment in Suma’s blog on your guest post as soon as I blogged about the Flourless Chocolate Cake but I wonder if it reached you. So now that I’m writing mt tastymonial for this idli, I thought I should include it as well:
    Instant Oats Idli:
    http://amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com/2011/03/instant-oats-idli-with-coconut-mint.html

    Flourless Dark Chocolate Muffins:
    http://amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com/2011/01/flourless-dark-chocolate-muffins-just-3.html

    Regards,
    Seema
    amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com
    seemabbas.blogspot.com

  9. Hi Madhuri,
    Your friend Meera told me about her experience in your baking class and also introduced me to your blog. I also live in the same society as hers in Lagos. I’m new to the blogging world, trying to make a small space for myself. I am looking forward to learning more of your delicious recipes.
    Garima

  10. Hi Madhuri,
    Thanks a lot for this wonderful receipe. I accidently happened to get into your site today, and I am quite happy to be part of this. I am waiting to try this out tomorrow. I would love to have more oats receipes, as i have a diabetic person in my family. I am sure, this is going to be of great help to us.
    Please do share more of such receipes.

    Regards,
    Vijayashree

Leave a Reply

