Frappé Mochacchino

Sometimes, life throws so many curve balls at you, you just don’t know what to do. That’s what happened with me for a while, and I was completely disoriented to say the least. The only thing that I kept at was the Baking workshops, to ensure I retained my sanity. But hey, I’m out of the blues now and I’m back to being my normal self so y’all can forget this lull even happened. How about I put an end to my hiatus with something that is pure evil? Yes yes, can you see my shiny bright red horns? Good. And precisely why am I treating to you this evil concoction? ‘Cos my BFF Deepti asked me to. No, she din’t exactly ask me to make it like this. She only mentioned coffee, but you know me and my irrefutable love for chocolate. Some things can will never change. I simply HAD to marry them off together.

So yeah, the theme for FSB for September was chosen by my chuddie-buddie aka Deepti (hey that rhymes; well, almost!) and she called it ‘Cafe Casa – Bring home the Coffee Shop!’. Here’s what her deal to us was -

  • Pick any coffee-based drink recipe from hereOR choose your own from anywhere else OR conjour up your own
  • Share with us your inspiration for the drink, if it’s your own or why you chose a certain drink
  • Present it the way it would be in a Coffee Shop (Think cinnamon dusting, whipped cream etc.)
  • Add a snack to accompany your drink (Optional)

And then she added – “How’s that for a coffee party?” That is one smart woman I tell you. She was asking us to conjour up not only some fancy-shmancy kaapi, she was also sneakily asking for a snack to go with it. She thought we wouldn’t see through her clever little game. But I did. ‘Cos that’s how well I know her. Btw, I urge you all to visit that barista link. It has over 100+ recipes for exciting kaapi-based concoctions.

So here’s what I made in keeping with Deepti’s theme – A yummilicious concoction of melted chocolate, coffee and whipped cream, topped with more whipped cream and chocolate vermicelli sprinkles. What was my inspiration to make this? Well my love for chocolate of course! And I have always believed that chocolate and coffee make a wonderful couple. Tall, dark, handsome chocolate married to demure-yet-strong coffee. I know what you’re thinking. What’s not to like? Dive straight in.

And to go with my Frappe Mochacchino, I made us some Spinach-Corn-Cheese Sandwiches (recipe to follow in my next post).

Frappé Mochacchino

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Comes together in: 3-5 minutes
Serves: 2 persons

Ingredients

For the Mochacchino

  • Bitter-sweet (Dark) Chocolate – 1/2 cup, chopped into uniform pieces
  • Whipped cream – 2 heaped cups
  • Cold Milk – 1 tall glass
  • Instant Coffee powder – 1 1/2 – 2 tbsps (alter to suit your taste; this was perfect for me)

For the Topping

  • Whipped cream – 2/3 cup
  • Chocolate vermicelli sprinkles – as required
Note:
  1. Whip 1 1/3 cups of whipping cream in all. This will suffice for both the mochacchino, and the topping.
  2. If using whipping cream sounds like too much work or if procuring it is hard, simply substitute it with chocolate ice-cream and your mochacchino will taste just as good.
  3. I didn’t use any added sugar in my mochacchino since the chocolate was bitter-sweet. Also, the whipping cream in India comes already sweetened. If using unsweetened whipping cream, add sugar to taste.
  4. For the topping, you could use a garnish of your choice. I had chocolate vermicelli sprinkles on hand and hence used them. You could even try dusting the whipped cream topping with cocoa/cinnamon powder.

Procedure:

  • Melt the bitter-sweet chocolate in the microwave or over a double-boiler till it is molten.
  • Dunk the melted chocolate and rest of the ingredients mentioned under the mochacchino into a mixer/blender and pulse till the mixture comes together and has a frothy consistency (use the whipper blade). Alternately, whip all the ingredients together using a hand-mixer.
  • Pour the mochacchino into tall glasses, top with whipped cream and garnish with chocolate vermicelli sprinkles, or a garnish of your choice (refer note).
  • Serve immediately. If not serving immediately, pour into tall glasses and refrigerate. Do the whipped cream topping and garnish just before serving.

Here you go, a kaapi and sandwich date for two. Pull your partner close to you and enjoy the e-treat :) Or better yet, make this and surprise him/her. Then you’ll have a real treat that you can dig into.

Deepti, I hope you like this as much as we did.

Here’s what my fellow FSB-ites dished up for the beverages:

Will post the round-up for the snacks along with my sandwich recipe in the next post. Until the next one then.
22 responses to “Frappé Mochacchino

  1. I absolutely love the first pic! Considering how gloomy & cloudy it was today evening, you did an awesome job babes.. I expected you would make something out of chocoooooolate!!!! :D

    Welcome back babes and no more MIA please!

    Siri

  2. Super duper hit with the whipped cream and the snack too :) Love this one!

  3. This looks totally fab !! The pics are yummilicious :D

  4. The pics are amazing Mads. Gotta love your Nikon, eh? :)

  5. Frappe, maketh me Happe!! I heart the second pick. Deep, dark backgrounds with the tall glass beckoning the devil in me. Yuuuummmmmmmm! Oh and yes, the sandwich that you have complimenting this one is something I’d like to sit with, perched upon my patio, forgetting the world even exists!

  6. I really fell in love with these pics!!! Glaring(drooling) for a long time!!!! Lovely!!!! :)

  7. Welcome back , Madhuri…and wat a come back….drooooooooooling!!!!!

  8. Omg, makes me drool, super tempting click..

  9. Good to see you back lady:)

  10. Loved the pics Madhuri. The spinach-cheese sandwich is to die for. Waiting for the recipe!

  11. Looks lovely! One question – where can one find whipped cream in Bangalore and what brand do you use?

  12. beautiful clicks Madhuri and frappe – mochacchino looks absolutely divine and loved the sandwich looks gorgeous

  13. Makes me drool…. I am off to your place now!

  14. omg! looks delectable… beautiful pics :)

  15. Aiyyoo…you aaru killingu me….en ma indha kolaveri..!

Leave a Reply

