Sweet-corn Panna Cotta

Is it August already? Oh. My. God. Is time really flying fast or is it just me? The memory of the new year party is still fresh in my mind (so is the memory of the hangover, but let’s not go there now ;)). And I can’t believe that the Free-spirit Bloggers are into the 4th month already. Phew, now I know it’s just not me. Time IS really flying. Well hello there Mr. Time. Why don’t you take it easy for a bit huh?

This month’s FSB theme was chosen by the Lata Raja of Flavours and Tastes and was pretty versatile for each of us. We got to pick a number of our choice between 1 and 12, and Lataji had put 1 main ingredient and 1-2 favourable add-ons against each number. Once all of us had picked numbers, she revealed the list to us, and also said that we had to dish out desserts using what we got. So I went with 9, my favourite number, and look what I got – ‘Sweet corn’ as the main ingredient, with ‘Cream’ as favourable add-on. Yayyy! I love sweet corn. Over the top of my head, there were so many ideas whizzing past me. But err, none of them was actually a dessert. So I thought and I thought and I thought and I thought. Nada. And then, it happened. I saw that tiny bulb glowing beside my head. I had attended a workshop on Active Foods recently and we had made an Orange and Buttermilk Panna Cotta there. *ting* And that is how the idea for my Sweet-corn Panna Cotta was born. I haven’t used the recipe from the workshop. I did some research on how the recipe for a Panna cotta works, played around a bit and came up with my own version. So here we go -

Sweet corn Panna Cotta

Preparation Time: 15-20 minutes
Setting Time: 1 hour
Serves: 4-6 persons

Ingredients:

  • Sweet corn kernels – 1 cup (I used fresh kernels off the cob)
  • Cream – 2o0 ml (I used one Amul tetra pack)
  • Sugar – 3-4 tbsps (alter to suit your taste)
  • Milk – 2-3 tbsps
  • Gelatin – 2 tbsp
  • Orange Juice – 4 tbsps
  • Orange zest (optional) – 1 tsp
  • Orange oil (optional) – 1/4 tsp
  • Vanilla extract – 1 tsp

Note: 1) You can also use water in place of orange juice to dissolve the gelatin in. I did it to enhance the flavour.

2) Some people don’t like using gelatin. If you’re one of them, you could use china-grass/ agar-agar in place of gelatin. Personally I haven’t tried working with agar-agar yet. If you do, please come back and tell me how it turned out for you.

Procedure

  • Cook the sweet corn kernels in the microwave and set aside to cool.
  • Puree the cooled corn kernels along with the milk, strain and set aside.
  • Take the orange juice in a small bowl/glass. Sprinkle the gelatin on the orange juice and leave in another bowl of hot water (not mentioned in ingredients) till it melts and becomes a clear liquid, about 5-6 minutes. Keep stirring the gelatin mixture every couple of minutes just to make sure it doesn’t get lumpy.
  • Bring the cream, sugar and vanilla to a boil.
  • Add the strained sweet-corn puree. Stir.
  • Add the orange zest and oil (if using). Stir to incorporate.
  • Tip in the gelatin, mix well.
  • Use a ladle and pour readied mixture into tall martini glasses and allow to set in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours. Serve chilled.

Alternately, you could set your panna cotta in sauve-looking silicone pans if you have any. Or even cute candy moulds (that’s what I did to show you). Whatever works for you. If you like, you could pour some fruit sauce over the Panna cotta before serving too. Choose a fruit that would compliment the sweet corn. I’d go with orange. How about an orange reduction? Just boil some orange juice and sugar in a pan till the volume reduces in half, and voila! See what we have here.

Now why don’t you go check out what my FSB mates have for you this month and duly slobber?

13 responses to “Sweet-corn Panna Cotta

  1. Wow what a beautiful treat :) It looks so light and fresh :)

  2. wow .. very interesting … shall try it when i have time :) thanks for the recipe … looks easy on the hands and a treat to the growling tummy :))

  3. I can sink in that Panna Cotta and never come out. It’s like spa treatment for the taste-buds!

  4. i love panna cotta too….these look so cute n’ delish….wud just love to dig into them….:)

  5. I love the colour! It looks creamy … And are those the new candy moulds from the US consignment ;) ? it looks super cute!

  6. Ok Missy – these cups have to be designated food models for panna cotta. Love the simple clean lines and the awesome dessert itself! Who would have thought you could do this with good old sweet corn! Kudos – to you, your camera, and your sweet little panna cotta!

  7. this is so creative. I love this month’s theme for the exact same reason!

  8. You are using gelatin here in this recipe and many of us being vegetarians find including this stuff not right for gelatin is protein from animal bones and hooves (usually cow and pig ) being boiled for long hours.Perhaps one could use some other substitute like agar-agar that is plant based pectin that sets easily.
    This is just a tip for people like me who do not eat meat and meat based products.

  9. Gorgeous Blog and fantastic pics! Adore…

  10. Of course Madhuri cooking is always ‘experimental’ and experiential!!!
    Thanks for your prompt response.My very best to you.

  11. Your recipes all looks great and yummy! Ive been following your blog. Thanks for sharing :)

  12. Hi, madhuri, I m following ur blog from 2weeks. I made this dessert today.I called my sister in law n her fly for lunch.everybody liked this very much.it is yummy.for the orange reduction I added 1/2t.spoon of corn flour mixed in the water. I added in the end. The sauce is tangy and it is delicious with pannacotta.thanks for ur recipe.

Leave a Reply

