Eggless Chocolate-chip Cookies

I would like to thank each and every one of you who took the time out to vote for CCN in the Blogjunta ‘Best of Indian Blogosphere 2010′ polls. We made it to the Winners’ list, and thank you all so verrrrrrrrrry much. I’m completely overwhelmed. Gracias gracias, muchos muchos. So shouldn’t we have a little sweet something to celebrate? Of course we should.

So, chocolate-chip cookies anyone? Raise your hands. Yes, that’s what I thought. Who can say no to chocolate-chip cookies? Not anyone I know. And if you, just like me, belong to the school that believes that Chocolate-chip cookies should be soft and chewy to go with that warm glass of milk for a heady, comforting breakfast, or even just a small snack between meals, then this one’s for you. Here’s the quintessential recipe to make yourself some. Whatcha’ waiting for then I say? Bake away!

Eggless Chocolate-chip Cookies

Recipe Adapted from: joyofbaking.com

Ingredients:

  • All-purpose Flour – 2 1/2 cups
  • Butter (at room temperature) – 1 cup
  • Brown Sugar – 3/4 cup
  • Granulated Sugar – 3/4 cup
  • Flax seed powder – 2 tsps
  • Warm water – 1/2 cup
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp
  • Vanilla extract – 2 tsps
  • Semi-sweet Chocolate chips – 1 1/2 cups

Yield: Makes 5 dozen 3-inch round cookies.

 

 

I normally have a batch of this cookie dough cling-wrapped and handy in my fridge (not freezer). If there is a surprise guest, all I need to do is whip it out of the fridge and bake a batch while our chai/kaapi is getting ready. My guests are flabbergasted as to how I pulled off some warm chewy cookies in under 15 mins ;)

You could even freeze this dough once you’re prepared it. Form the dough into balls and drop them closely on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Freeze and then remove from cookie sheet, place the balls of dough in a plastic bag, seal, and freeze. When baking, simply place the frozen balls of dough on a baking sheet and bake as you normally would. Only, you may have to increase the baking time a few minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

Procedure:

  • Do a mise-en-place of all the ingredients.
  • Stir the flax seed and warm water together in a bowl and set aside till it develops a gelatinous texture, about 5 minutes.
  • In the bowl of your stand mixer (or using a hand mixer), cream together the butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar and vanilla, until smooth and fluffy, about 2 minutes.
  • In the meanwhile, sift together the flour, salt and baking soda once, and set the mixture aside.
  • Add the flax seed mixture to the creamed butter, and beat for a minute until well incorporated.
  • Gradually beat in the flour mixture into the butter mixture, little by little on minimum speed, until it begins to form a firm dough.
  • Stir in the chocolate chips with a rubber spatula.
  • Transfer the dough to a bowl, cover with cling-wrap and refrigerate for atleast a couple hours.
  • Towards the end of the refrigeration period, pre-heat the oven to 190°C/375°F.
  • Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper, else grease them. If using non-stick bake-ware, lining or greasing them will not be necessary.
  • Using a cookie scoop or a greased tablespoon, drop the refrigerated cookie dough two-inches apart, on the readied cookie sheet. Don’t worry about the dough being of irregular shapes as you drop it on the cookie sheet. The cookies will even out as they bake due to the fat spreading from the heat.
  • Bake the cookies for 14-15 minutes or until they just start to turn golden brown on the edges. They will continue to cook even after you’ve removed them from the oven, so please don’t be fooled to think that they’re under-baked.
  • Remove cookie sheet from the oven and let the cookies sit on the sheet for a couple minutes before you gently move them with a thin spatula to a wire-rack, to cool further.
  • Let them cool completely on the wire-rack before you get down to devouring them by the dozen, because I simply know…you cannot stop at just one!

If Chocolate was a tall, dark and handsome man, I wonder how many wives he’d have.

18 responses to “Eggless Chocolate-chip Cookies

  1. I love my choc chip cookies soft and chewy too..looks great!!

    Congrats on being the winner..you deserve it!!

    Lol,on the Chocolate quote!!

  2. When I saw the picture – they looked chewy. When I read that they are chewy – that’s the time I got up to go see and make sure I have all the ingredients to make this today. I have a million other things to do today and somehow want to sneak this in.

    Love the magic from your new bling camera!

  3. Hey Congratulations on winning!
    The cookies look delicious but I dont have flax seed at hand – any substitutes I can use?

    And love the chocolate quote! All I can say is way too many to handle :-)

    • Thanks CF. Yeah, you could substitute the flax seed with eggs. You will need to replace it with 3 eggs in this recipe.
      PS: The Chocolate quote, was quoted by yours truly. Glad you love it ;)

  4. Those cookies looks absolutely scrumptious and fabulous..

    COngrats M..

  5. It has come out so well dear, I so need to start using more flax seeds to substitute eggs.

  6. Nice pics. Well presented. Which camera are you using these days?

  7. Nice step by step! who can resist the classic cookie? :)

  8. THose cookies look super delicious n mouth watering…I wish I could have tasted those cookies..

  9. love your food blog ! pics are awesome….looking forward to making some of these yummy dishes ! do check out my food blog : http://aspoonfulofyumm.blogspot.com/

  10. looks yummm !! pics are great :)) hope i make some of these ….

  11. Ahoy Cap’n! I’d like some of these babies. And yes, I certainly raised my hand when you asked that ‘chocolatey’ question! I must add that you are the reigning queen of eggless bakes. Totally love how you whip ‘em up these eggless fantasies. Keep it going gurl! And next time I’m over at your place I know how you get those warm, chewy cookies for me!

  12. Psst! The new CCN format – I Like! :)

  13. lovely presentation….and love the blue offset….courier the cookies!!!heeheehheee!!!!

  14. Your eggless chocolate chip cookies look drool worthy! I love the texture and the heath factor from flax seeds in them. Yummy!

  15. My husband is a vegetarian he will love this

  16. Congrats Madhuri! Chewy choco chip cookies a great way to celebrate!
    Me too LOVE to pull out things from the freezer, zap and feed people (or myself at times;-). Reminds me to make some and pop in the freezer for the holidays and always-hungry kids and their friends!

Leave a Reply

