Tender Coconut Payasam

I’m totally kicked about tender coconut. Always. A few months back, a couple of friends told me that they’d been served ‘Tender coconut payasam’ as part of a meal at the ISKCON temple here in Bangalore. When I heard them, I went “Gawk! Really? Payasam with tender coconut?”. I kept telling myself I should try making it. In the midst of my hectic schedules in the last 2 months, I’d completely forgotten. Yesterday though, I was once again reminded about the payasam by one of them friends who’d tasted it at ISKCON and there was no stopping me this time. Thanks Shruthi, for the inspiration. As soon as the tender coconut-walla came around on the streets today, I got me some fresh tender coconut water and the malai and got down to making this. I didn’t really have a recipe on hand. I just threw in whatever I thought would work with the tender coconut. This is probably the easiest payasam I have ever made; took me just about five minutes to fix. Even a 5-year old could whip this up in no time. So all you moms out there, you could make a small kitchen project of this recipe. Your little one will surely love the play-time in mamma’s domain.

Yesterday was a close friend’s birthday, and I wish to dedicate this post to him. Gops, I know I live too far away to bake you a cake. Nonetheless, I thought I’d share a virtual sweet something with you. Happy Happy Birthday once again! Hope you like this e-treat :)

Tender Coconut Payasam

Ingredients:

  • Tender coconut water – from 3 medium-sized tender coconuts
  • Tender coconut pulp/Coconut malai – from 3 medium-sized tender coconuts
  • Condensed milk – 200ml (1/2 of a 400ml tin)
  • Cold milk – 1 tall glass
  • Elaichi powder – 1 tsp
  • Charoli seeds/Chironji seeds (optional) – 3-4 tbsps
  • Ghee – 1 tsp

Serves: 4 persons

Note:

  • Select tender coconuts which have a moderately tender pulp. They are best suited for this payasam. Also, the water in them is sweeter.
  • You could increase the quantity of the condensed milk to suit your sweet-tooth. We prefer our payasams just moderately sweet and 1/2 a tin was just right for us.
  • The charoli seeds could also be substituted with cashew bits. I love the crunch of charoli seeds and hence used them. You could use either.

Update: A couple of readers asked me what Charoli/Chironji seeds are. They are those small, brown melon seeds which you see in basundi and sometimes even in rasmalai and kheers. For more information, check this link. Here’s a picture (courtsey: the www) to help you better.

Procedure:

  • Transfer the tender coconut water to a big-mouthed clean vessel and set aside.
  • Clean the pulp of any shell bits and set aside. It is imperative you don’t miss this step, else you may have to make a surprise visit to your dentist’s right after.
  • Reserve some cleaned pulp for garnishing the glasses if you wish. Put the remaining pulp and half a glass of the tender coconut water in a mixer/blender and run it for about 10-15 seconds. Dont puree the pulp completely. You still want small pieces of the pulp in your payasam.
  • Dunk this mixture into the vessel along with the remaining tender coconut water.
  • Tip in the milk, condensed milk and elaichi powder as well. Stir well.
  • Heat the ghee in a small wok and roast the charoli seeds till they turn fragrant and golden brown in colour, about 2-3 minutes. Dunk them in as well.
  • Refrigerate the payasam atleast an hour before serving. Serve chilled.

This payasam is of thin consistency, like that of buttermilk, so its best served in tall glasses garnished with a bit of the pulp on the rim of the glass. If you, like me, are a big fan of tender coconut water, you will take to this immediately. The crunch from the charoli seeds tremendously compliments the luscious payasam. Though this is a payasam and can be served at the end of a meal for dessert, it will also make a very refreshingly exotic beverage during the summer. Next time I make this, I’m going to try throwing in some coconut milk too. I intend calling that ‘Tender Coconut Payasotica’. That would be nice, don’t you think?

For now, I have to try really hard to save a glass of this for the husband. Can somebody please stop me from going to the refrigerator every five minutes? ;)

Sending this in to Ally’s ‘Delicious Desserts‘ event. How I wish I get lucky atleast once and win that wicked book she’s giving away…sigh. Let’s wait and watch.

25 responses to “Tender Coconut Payasam

  1. Very irresistible Payasam,truly inviting..

  2. Surely tempting recipe :D Double likes for this post. Will definetely try ur version of the payasam next time.

  3. Pure eye candy ! Looks so luscious

  4. Wonderful idea and looks so delish ..I like charoli too …

  5. Sluuuuuuuurp, I could finish it all by myself!! I am a big fan of tender coconut -‘anything’ and just thinking of the cool glass of this payasam makes me want to try it!!

  6. This looks soo yumm .. loved the presentation Madhuri :)

  7. Will try it in a day or two n revert..looks n feels so cool!!!

  8. Looks yummy madhuri…Me dont remember having this at ISKCON te last tiime I was in b`lore??? Your payasam reminds me of sunny days, thirst, water, beach and everything summer…and I am sitting in -20C cold!!! Your payasam has a pink tinge???

    Shobha

    • Thanks Shoba. I guess the tender coconut payasam is a concoction from the new chef at ISKCON, or so I heard. I wish I could lay my hands on his recipe and compare it with mine. And nope, my payasam does not have a tinge of pink, but my glasses do :)

  9. Looks so yummy, gorgeous presentation.

  10. Lovely twist to tender coconut….I make bonda soup(tender coconut drink) which is mangalore special but never made this way….might b I will try it this summer….loved d concept..there is no way it will go wrong bcoz all d ingredients used r just irresistible on their own..

  11. Slurrpp..awesome clicks..would love to have this payasam anytime esp during summers..nice and chilled..

  12. Oh Maddy. Why do you do this to me?

    I’m sitting here jollu uttufying..at the payasam yes, but more so with the actual tender coconut. We hardly get that here – some thai restaurants serve just the water but they never break open and serve the tender coconut meat. I’m craving this so much now.

    I’m sure this is one helluva tasting payasam – all the ingredients got to work great on here. Love it. Thanks to your friends who go pray at the ISKCON. Now I wonder, if they go there just for the payasam!

  13. Wow! Is this your own innovation of the recipe? :) .. its sounds awesome. will have to try it out to taste it! and M, what’re charoli seeds? Never heard of the ingredient?

    • Thanks Gee. Charoli seeds are even called Chironji seeds (same as what is used for basundi and sometimes even in rasmalai). I think if you ask for Chironji seeds, you should be able to get them. They are small and brown in colour. Check this link – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charoli
      Another friend also asked me about them. Maybe I’ll update the post with a picture of Chironji seeds. That should help.

  14. Definitely irrestible… yum… would love to have a glass now :)

  15. The humble tender coconut in gourmet avataar!!! I have heard and read about this payasam and been meaning to try this out, but never really got there.. Sounds like a perfect dessert, specially in summer. Love the chiroli touch..

  16. wow, what a beautiful presentation. Lovely to see and I am sure even more delicious.

  17. Tender coconut in payasam is wonderful :) Yummmm I wish I could grab that cup right away :) lovely clicks buddy :)

  18. I kept wondering which ingredient gave that lovely rosy pink hue to the payasam. Finally broke the mystery that the glass was the culprit! That payasam looks yummy and irresistibly good. Nice clicks too.

  19. We do make tender coconut payasam ..but adding condensed milk is cool idea.. simply love it..sure I am gonna make this soon but not in US during my visit in India. Loved all the pictures Madhuri. I love Iskon..I used to go daily when i was in LA cos its just 100 feet from my apartment. I am really missing the temple and offcourse the prasadams :)

  20. First time here and loved it…… new follower :)

  21. Absolutely gorgeous… Love your presentation and clicks!!
    http://krithiskitchen.blogspot.com

  22. where can i purchase charoli in bangalore?

Leave a Reply

