Eggless Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake

Can I tempt you with something sweet and chocoliciously divine this new year? Of course, I’m doing this on purpose! Did I not tell you that some serious food coma was on its way here? So be it! And what better way to start you all off with food coma, than a dessert such as this one?!!

Would you believe me if I said that I’ve made this Eggless Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake atleast 8-10 times till date, but not eaten any of it, even once? Gasp, I know! No seriously, I havent. Pinkie swear. Every one of those people who got to lay their hands on this cake has always come to back to me with rave reviews, including my patrons on ‘Sweet Somethings‘, and it has been really hard to stop myself from making myself one and gorging on it. On the other hand, I’m really proud of myself for having stuck to my resolve to shed those extra pounds and get rid of those love handles. And oh yes, mission is being accomplished! Those darned love handles are gone (yayyy!), and so are some pounds, and I’m still counting. Suddenly, I’m in love with my weighing scale, ‘cos its tipping in the right direction and showing me just the kind of figures I want to see ;)

Now now, just b’cos I’m not indulging, doesn’t mean I can deprive you lot of some sin. No way! So, here’s to beginning this new year with loads of sin like in this one. May this new year be just as sweet and silken-smooth as the mousse in this cake, for all of you! And if you’re sinning, stick just to food…that’ll do ;)

They say necessity is the mother of invention…so true. I have never really agreed with the eggless versions of mousse that are prepared with marshmallows, b’cos at the end of the day, marshmallows contain egg. Oh yes, they do! So it’s just like using egg in a different form. Nada, so I had to come up with something other than that. Coming to the science of mousse, egg is basically used as a setting agent. Chocolate was already there in the recipe for a setting agent, so exit eggs, and the marshmallows. Enter whipped cream, another setting agent, and voila! piquant Eggless Chocolate Mousse – all yours! This mousse and mousse cake have now become signature desserts of mine, and I couldn’t wait to share it with you all. You know me by now…I revel in the joy of sharing :)

This one’s off to join all the other treats already partying at Cakes and More!!!’s first Bloggiversary. Happy first Suma! Wish you many many more years of delicious blogging. I know this is later than even last-minute (you know why). Nonetheless, I’m so glad that you agreed to accept my late entry.

Eggless Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake

Ingredients:

For the Eggless Chocolate Cake Base:

  • All purpose flour/Maida – 1/3 cup
  • Cocoa - 1/2 cup
  • Sugar – 1/3 cup
  • Baking powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Baking Soda – 1/8 tsp
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Flax seed powder – 1 tsp mixed in 1/4 cup warm water (substituting 1 egg)
  • Water – 2 tbsps (In addition to the 1/4 cup warm water)
  • Oil – 2 tbsps (I used Rice Bran)
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

For the Eggless Chocolate Mousse:

  • Dark Chocolate block– 125 gms, chopped (I used ‘Morde’)
  • Butter – 1/2 cup (125 gms)
  • Whipping cream – 100 ml
  • Icing Sugar – 1/4 cup (37.5 gms)
  • Instant Coffee powder (optional) – 1/2 tsp
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

For the Chocolate Ganache:

  • Dark Chocolate – 1 cup, chopped into small pieces
  • Butter – 1/4 cup
  • Honey/Corn syrup – 1.5 tbsps (I used honey)
  • Vanilla extract – 1 tsp

Note: This proportion makes a pretty tall 6-inch round mousse cake that serves 6-8 people. If you wish to make a bigger cake that would serve 12-15 people, just double the proportion, and set the cake in a 9-inch round spring-form pan.

Procedure:

For the Eggless Chocolate Cake Base:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 180°C/350°F. Line and grease a 6″ round spring-form pan and set aside.
  • Put the flax seed powder in 1/4 cup warm water, add the vanilla essence to this mixture and set aside till it develops a gelatinous texture.
  • In another small bowl, combine the oil and water. Set aside.
  • Sift all the dry ingredients together (maida, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt) thrice and transfer to a wide bowl.
  • Add the sugar, stir well with a balloon-whisk to incorporate.
  • Combine the flax seed water mixture with the water-oil mixture, and mix well.
  • Stir in the wet mixture into the dry mixture. The batter must have a ribbon-like consistency once properly combined.
  • Pour the batter into the readied pan.
  • Bake for 20-22 minutes or till done.
  • Turn onto a wire-rack and let cool completely before you proceed with the mousse topping.

For the Eggless Chocolate Mousse:

  • Chop the chocolate block and butter into small (1/2″ square) uniform sized pieces.
  • Melt the chopped chocolate and butter together at high for 1.5-2 minutes in the MW or on a double boiler. Once done, remove from MW/double boiler and set aside to cool.
  • If using the instant coffee powder, tip it into the chocolate-butter mixture now and stir well. Set mixture aside.
  • In the meanwhile, whip the whipping cream and icing sugar together for 2-3 minutes, till just before hard-peak stage.
  • By now, the chocolate-butter-cream mixture should have cooled down a bit. Go ahead and dip a finger into the bowl and lick it off. I insist! If the mixture hasn’t cooled yet, place the bowl in a bowl of cold water for not more than 2 minutes, or it will start to set right there.
  • Once the chocolate mixture has cooled, put some of the whipped cream mixture into the chocolate mixture and fold it in gently to incorporate.
  • Gradually fold in the rest of the whipped cream into the chocolate mixture and incorporate.

For the Chocolate Ganache:

You can prepare this after the mousse has set, and use it immediately after since it starts setting pretty soon.

  • In a microwave safe bowl, melt the chocolate, butter and honey for about 30 seconds to a minute, till the chocolate and butter have completely melted and you have a smooth, glossy mixture.
  • Add the vanilla, stir well, and allow to cool for atleast 3-4 minutes before you pour it on the cake. Hot ganache will give melting moments!

Assembling the Cake:

  • Place the readied sponge base on a cake platter/working base.
  • Put the spring-form pan around it and lock it in place (don’t use the spring-form base, just the rim. I used my a 6″ round cake ring).
  • Poke holes on the cake base with a fork.
  • Pour the readied mousse batter onto the cake, and level the top with a spatula.
  • Set the cake in the fridge for 2-3 hours. Yes, this mousse sets sooner than your regular mousse. Which means that you can lay your hands on dessert even sooner! Do I see grinning about it? Yeah, I do!
  • Once the cake has set for a good time in the refrigerator, give the cake ring/spring-form ring a slight jiggle sideways (in both directions), and gently unlock the spring-form rim, and take it off the base.
  • Return cake to the refrigerator till you get ready to frost it with the ganache.
  • Once the ganache has considerably cooled, spread it over top of cake, letting it drizzle down the sides.
  • Decorate the cake with grated chocolate (yes, even more chocolate!) if you wish, or with a garnish of choice. You can see what I did with mine. Go ahead and unleash your creativity, and do your own thing. Don’t forget to stick the cake back in the fridge till you need to serve it.
  • At serving time, cut with a clean, serrated knife. Wipe the knife clean between making cuts on the cake, to get neat-looking slices.

Do I have your permission to tease you with one more pic of a slice before I go? :)

Enjoy the chocolate overdose! I hope you like this one just as much as everything else you have tried from CCN. Have a fantabulous year ahead!

 

 

27 responses to “Eggless Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake

  1. oh boy, this is truly sinful, even sans eggs!!

  2. I love choco mousse and this just looks so so sinfully delicious and no eggs wow

  3. Good to see you back in action, I mean on the blog. Congrats on your new venture, wishing you all the success in life!

  4. This is seriously killing…looks very very yummy

  5. Damn pretty and elegant cake, just drooling here..

  6. At last, I get to see the Eggless Mousse Cake here after such a long wait!! But all is well now that you have sent this sinful dessert to my e-party ;) I will even forget that you made me wait for this once I get to eat it for real :D

    Thanks so much for your wishes and thanks for sending this my way!! I shall gladly accept your entry!!

  7. so sinful….. :)
    glad the scales are tipping the LEFT way and not right… ;) [pun totally intended]

    Happy New Year!!!
    Cheers,
    The Variable, Crazy Over Desserts – Nachiketa
    Catch me on facebook @ Crazy Over Desserts

  8. Welcome back Madhuri !! love the eggless mousse cake..!!! As usual getting tempted with the chocolate !!

  9. Your chocolate cake looks so appetizing and tempting! Lovely!

  10. OMG OMG OMG *tries to run away,but seems like this dessert will make me forget my diet*

  11. Wow ! What a cake to start the year with, Madhu :-) I’m seriously tempted ..Happy 2011 !

  12. OMG! What a Perfect looking cake. Would love to grab a piece of it.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  13. OMG..This looks divine..My daughter needs to bake this for her school and I was looking for eggless version..Thanks will try soon.

  14. How could u resist eating this i did not understand.. thats divine… oh boy!!!

  15. Truly tempting cake….And eggless too. Bookmarked.

  16. wow !! looks so gorgeous

  17. Superb ! Loved it–bookmarked !

  18. You are starting off the new year in a perfectly sweet note. First, congrats on achieving your goals! You go girl!!
    And any other way of celebrating that will fall short. This is on the mark. Perfect. Love the texture on the cake. And without eggs or MM, its just another reason to indulge!
    And no – you don’t have my permission to just tease me with a piece – you’ll need to actually give me one to eat. now when is that going to happen!

  19. Drool!!!!! I think I am in chocolate heaven!

  20. MY GODDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD TEACH!! It looks sooo damn good, I teared up a bit!! :0) YOU HAVE to make this for me when I am in Bangalore next… Rich’s whipped cream is vegan, right?! *wink, wink* :0DDDDDDDDD

  21. Hey Madhuri, Made this cake for my birthday and it turned out real yummmm…made my birthday real special..Thanks a ton for all the help throughout!!!!! Spl thanks to you from my hubby as well..:)

  22. Hey!! OMG! r u tryin 2 kill us or wt?!?!
    dis luks faally deliciousss!!MMMmmm!!!

    neway, just curios, r u from indore by any chance??

  23. hey,, this looks really amazing.. !! It had always been my dream to prepare such delicious cakes. !
    But I have got a problem. I stay in a rural area and getting all the above ingredients is difficult for me. Could you please tell me if I can substitute the ingredients as below:

    1. dark chocolate block = dairy milk or bournville ( may be i can reduce sugar if i use dairy milk)
    2. icing sugar = powdered sugar
    3. vanilla extract = vanilla essence ?
    4. whipping cream = ?
    5. flax seed powder = ?

    Also if you know how to make whipped cream at home without using whipping cream, please let me know. I don’t get whipping cream at my stores here. :(

  24. I tried the mousse as part of my version of banofee cake, and it was absolutely perfect! Needless to say, the cake was a hit! Will definitely visit this site again (again). Great job with this, cheers!

  25. Madhuri, can this mousse be used as a filling between 2 layers of cake? Will it start to ooze out under the weight of top layer of cake? I am also planning to use ganache on top? Thanks :)

  26. I tried it doubling the proportions for a 9″ springform pan. My mousse layer wasn’t as thick as yours and nor was it that color. The only thing I changed was: I substituted dark chocolate with semi-sweet chocolate.

Leave a Reply

