Eggless Triple Chocolate Whipped-cream Cake – CCN Anniversary Cake

“Man cannot live on chocolate alone; but woman sure can.” – Anon

I’m back. With some more chocolate! Oh did you think I was done already? No way! Not before I gave you the grand finale. And if you know me by now, I don’t give up so easily…not on chocolate. Ever. I’m going to let you all have the highest splashes in the pool of chocolate nirvana…yeah as high as you like, as high up there as you can get! Create an uproar! Make some noise. Wake up the other chocoholics as well. ‘Cos they ruddy well should be here by now. If they aren’t, they sure are missing out on a lot. So yeah, I give to thee – The grand finale of my Chocolate Fest. And how I wish I could really meet you all and share all this good stuff, and together, with all of you, have the chocolate-iest party of our lives!

Alright, there’s two reasons why this special cake is brightly winking at you today. One – like I said, it’s the grand finale of the Chocolate Fest. Two – this is CCN’s 150th post. Oh yeah, we’re inching closer to the double century…half-way there already! So let’s give out three whooping cheers to CCN, and to you all, my dearest blog readers. Hip, hip, hurraaaaaahhhh! I humbly thank you from the bottom of my heart, for getting me here, and for being with me all the way. CCN is what it is, b’cos of you all, and no matter how many times I said my thank you-s, it would still be very small in comparison to the amount of motivation and encouragement you have all given me. Saying ‘Thank-you’ is the very least I can do in return for all the love you shower the blog with. Thanks heaps, and a big bear hug! :)

And yes, I will be picking the winner for the giveaway tomorrow, so keep those fingers, toes, and everything else possible, crossed for good luck! Best luck to all those who’ve sent in their entries! Now go on, you can come running and make as many splashes as you wish to in the chocolate pool. It’s all yours…dive away ;)

EGGLESS TRIPLE CHOCOLATE WHIPPED-CREAM CAKE

Ingredients:

For the Cake:

Adapted from Rose’s Heavenly Cakes

  • All-purpose flour (APF)/Maida – 1 3/4 cups
  • Cornflour/Cornstarch – 1/4 cup
  • Cocoa powder – 1/4 cup (I used 2 tbsps extra, so 6 tbsps in all)
  • Heavy Whipping cream – 1 1/2 cups
  • Powdered Sugar – 1 cup
  • Baking powder – 2 tsps
  • Flax seed powder – 3 tsps (replacing 3 eggs)
  • Warm water – 3/4 cup
  • Vanilla extract – 2 tsps
  • Chocolate-chips – 1/3 cup (I accidentally sneakily let a 1/2 cup slip-in ;) )

For the Chocolate glaze:

Recipe Source: All recipes

  • Dark Chocolate – 3/4 cup, chopped into small pieces
  • Butter – 3 tbsps
  • Honey/Corn syrup – 1 tbsp (I used honey)
  • Vanilla extract – 1 tsp

For the Topping:

  • Chocolate vermicelli – as required
  • Coloured confetti balls – as required

Note: The original cake recipe called for 2 1/4 cups of Cake flour. I substituted roughly about 10%  of the flour with cocoa powder. The general thumb-rule is 20%. However, since I was also doing a chocolate glaze topping, I reckoned 10% would suffice. And since I didn’t have cake flour on hand, I substituted it with 1 3/4 cups APF and 1/4 cup cornstarch.

Procedure:

For the Cake:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 190°C/375°F.
  • Grease and dust a 10″ fluted tube pan and set aside.
  • In a small bowl, whisk the flax seed powder and warm water together and set aside for a few minutes till it develops a gelatinous texture.
  • In a mixing bowl, whisk together the cake flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt and then sift them together thrice, to make the mixture easier to incorporate.
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk beater, or using a hand mixie, whip the cream, starting on low-speed, gradually raising the speed to medium-high as it thickens, until stiff peaks form when the beater blade is raised.
  • On medium-high speed, gradually beat in the flax seed-warm water mixture into the whipped cream.
  • Tip in the vanilla as well. The mixture will gradually come to a mayonnaise consistency
  • Gradually beat in the sugar. It should take about 30 seconds to incorporate it.
  • Remove the bowl from the stand mixer. Add the flour mixture to the cream mixture in 4-5 batches and, with a large silicone spatula, stir and fold in the flour mixture after every batch addition, until all the flour has disappeared.
  • When you add the first 2-3 batches, the batter will appear very lumpy. Dont be disheartened; keep going, and when you’re done folding in all of the flour mixture, you will have a lovely, silken, mousse-like batter. I insist you dip your finger in and taste the batter at this point. It really is worth the dash to the nearest wash-basin to wash your finger soon after. But when you have licked your finger clean, what’s there to wash? :P
  • Tip in the chocolate chips now, and gently fold it in.
  • Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and run a small metal spatula or dull knife blade through the batter to prevent large air bubbles, avoiding the bottom of the pan. Smooth the top surface of the batter evenly with a small metal spatula.
  • Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted between the tube and the side comes out completely clean and the cake springs back when pressed lightly in the center. Rose says that the cake should start to shrink from the sides of the pan only after removal from the oven, so take care about that.
  • Once done, remove from oven and allow the cake to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes.
  • Loosen the top edges of the cake with a metal spatula, and invert the cake onto the wire rack. Let cool completely.

For the Chocolate glaze:

  • In a microwave safe bowl, melt the chocolate, butter and honey for about 30 seconds to a minute, till the chocolate and butter have completely melted and you have a smooth, glossy mixture.
  • Add the vanilla, stir well.

For the Topping:

  • Spread the warm glaze over top of cake, letting it drizzle down the sides.
  • Top with chocolate vermicelli and coloured confetti balls.


Doesn’t it look like a true celebration cake? :) Though it is a little dense from using the flax-seed, I’ve never tasted a cake with a more delicate crumb. This is something you have to see for yourself, so you certainly shouldn’t delay making this anymore. I first saw this recipe on Anu’s blog, and had been obsessing with the idea of making it ever since then. I did make it once couple of months back, for 2 adorable kids who had come home, and the kids, along with the hubby, managed to polish off the cake before I could even say “pictures, for my blog, please”. Poof! The cake had vanished before my very eyes. So I had to make it all over again this time. Since when did I start needing excuses to make something chocolate-y ;) Having made such a big 10″ bundt cake all over again, I knew I had to give it away before I undid all the hard work I’ve been putting into my diet in the last 3-4 months. So who do you think got the cake in the end? Some of it went to my folks and foodie kid-bro of course; they have been very instrumental and encouraging in keeping me going with the blog, and it was only befitting they were part of the celebrations. The major part of the cake made its way to the hubby’s workplace. The workaholics, I am told, were more than happy to oblige, and took some time off from their workaholism, for some chocoholism ;) I’m happier now, than I ever would have been if only me and the hubby had sat and eaten most of the cake ourselves, even if it meant gorging on it over a few days. Aaah, the joys of sharing!

Before I sign off, I’d also like to thank a certain special friend for lugging the 10″ Wilton bundt pan and a Wilton cake caddy for me all the way from the US. You know who you are, so I’m not saying your name! Thanks heaps, for all the trouble you took for me. The day I received the package from you has been one of the happiest moments; impatiently tearing open the box to find the bundt pan and the intimidating cake caddy, you needed to see the smile plastered on my face all day! I was bobbing up and down my chair, like a small super-excited kid. And to also discover you’d hidden a packet of chocolates in the caddy only made my smile grow wider…you know me so well, don’t you girl?!! Thanks a million all over again!

If you have anymore last-minute entries to rush-in to the Chocolate Fest, go on and send it to me before 11:59pm IST tonight. I’m in a particularly nice mood, and I’m willing to give you the extra time. So make use of this opportunity while my good mood continues ;)

15 responses to “Eggless Triple Chocolate Whipped-cream Cake – CCN Anniversary Cake

  1. Sudha Narayanan

    Hi Mads,
    This triple chocolate dearie looks so good! I shall reserve this for the next special occasion which comes up!! Btw, Congrats on all the milestones and keep up the awesome work!! Best o luck! :)

  2. Woot woot!!! Congrats on reaching your 150th post and anniversary too!!!! Wish CCN all the very best, a real long innings giving us all visual treats and hopefully real ones too ;). The cake sounds way too enticing!

    This cake has been in my dreams since quite some time and I hope to bake it very soon! Three cheers to CCN and you for doing such a fabulous job!!

    Long live chocoholism!

  3. Whoa whoa whoa!!!! Amazinggggggg Madhuri :) The cake looks beautiful !!!!!! And the pictures are stunning..U shud hav surely put this—BEWARE OF LICKING THE SCREEN !!!! he he ;)

  4. Congrats on reaching the milestone and blog anniversary. Wish u good luck.. And the cake sure looks so good with lovely texture ..Anybody will drool at this.

  5. Wowwiieee.. This beautiful and chocolaty cake makes this occasion even more special. Happy Blog Anniversary and Wishing you gazillion more posts and anniversaries. Hugs!!

  6. Look at the deep chocolate color…looks really tempting!!!!

  7. Omg, very gorgeous looking cake..

  8. I am drooling all over, triple chocolate sounds divine for a chocoholic like me.

  9. Who cares how men live. This is how I want to live!

    Hifi galpal!

    What a way to celebrate! Flax Queen rules again. The little snow flying on your site almost makes it feel like these sprinkles are flying into my mouth! How I wish that was true – along with the cake sticking to it? Someone needs to develop that technology soon.

    The choco-fest is amazing and next time I need to make something chocolatey – this is where I’m coming!

  10. Congrats on your 150th post….the cake looks yumm…..you shud have just told me and I wud have rushed there to grab a bite :)

  11. Congrats on your 150th! The cakes looks absolutely delicious :)

  12. Cake looks yummmmmmmm……
    how i wish i was in blr….
    Congrats on 150th…. Wishes for many more……..

  13. congrats on reaching the milestone. Chocolate,double chocolate and triple chocolate..very tempting as usual. would try this very soon!!

  14. Hi Madhuri, First time here and have already started bookmarking many recipes :) You’ve got a wonderful space here :)

  15. Holy Molly!! I love what you’re doing to CCN. With all that chocolate and those cute confetti sprinklers, you have me all the way!!

Leave a Reply

