Fat-less Spiced Mango-Pistachio Bread

Sigh! The time has come. Yes, it’s finally here, that time of year when you bid adieu to the King of Fruits, Mango. I must admit though, that I’m not in such a deplorable state this year, cos I’ve ingeniously stashed away some mangoes, both in the form of pulp and pieces, in my freezer. So whenever the want to enjoy some mangoes gets the better of me, all I have to do is whip some out of the freezer and tada, I get to eat some to my heart’s content. Well, not so quite to my heart’s content; I have to ration my servings, or you can bet your last dime that I will finish it all up in one sitting alone! For all that I care, I may just end up eating the frozen mango without even letting it come to edible temperature. Now, is there really a term like ‘edible temperature’? If there isn’t, I just invented one! In a crusade to give a befitting farewell to the King of fruits, I decided that bread it was gonna be. After all, this was my first bread and I was also giving the King a befitting farewell throne to settle into. This bread will always hold a special place in my heart, why? One, cos it’s my first bread, and two, it’s my first bread with mango! Read on for some mango-tango…

Ingredients:

  • Ripe Mango – 1 heaped cup, finely chopped (the more the merrier)
  • All-purpose Flour/Maida – 1 1/2 cups
  • Whole Wheat flour – 1/4 cup
  • Wheat Bran – 1/4 cup
  • Sugar – 1/2 cup (increase to 3/4 cup if using oil)
  • Ripe Mango puree – 1/2 cup (used as a substitute for 1/2 cup of oil; I actually threw in 3/4 cup of puree…when did the flavour of mangoes ever hurt?)
  • Flax seed powder (dry roasted and finely ground) – 4 tsps mixed in 1 cup warm water (substituting 4 eggs)
  • Baking Powder – 1 tsp
  • Baking Soda – 1/2 tsp
  • Cinnamon powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Dry Ginger powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Nutmeg – a pinch (I like my spices mild, thank you! Feel free to use more if you like it that way)
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Chopped nuts of choice (Walnuts/Pecans/Pistachios) – 1/4 cup + 2 tbsps (to top), finely chopped/slivered (I used Pistachios)
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Procedure:

  • Pre-heat oven to 180C/350F.
  • Start by mixing the flax seed powder with the 1 cup of warm water and set aside. Let it do its job of getting a gelatinous texture while you fix the batter.
  • Use the muffin method for the batter. In a mixing bowl, mix together the dry ingredients – maida, whole wheat flour, wheat bran, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon powder, dry ginger powder, nutmeg and salt. Stir well with a balloon-whisk to incorporate.
  • Stir in 1/4 cup nuts as well.
  • Now, fold in the wet ingredients – mango puree, flax seed powder mixed in warm water, vanilla essence, and almost all the mango pieces. Save some mango pieces to top the loaf with. Don’t stir the batter too much, just enough to incorporate all the ingredients. If the batter is stirred too much, the result will be more like a cake than a bread.
  • Grease a loaf tin with oil, and pour the readied batter into it.
  • Top the batter in the loaf tin with mango pieces and the remaining 2 tbsps pistachio slivers. Press gently with your fingers so that they make contact with the batter on the underside.
  • Bake for 60-70 minutes or till the toothpick test gives you a clean toothpick. It took exactly 75 minutes in my oven. I increased the temperature to 190c/375F during the last 5 minutes, just to brown the top surface a little more than it already had.
  • Once done, remove from oven and let the tin cool on a wire-rack for 10 minutes. Upturn the loaf from the tin and let it cool on the wire-rack for a good amount of time (I let mine cool almost for 2-3 hours) before you can slice it.
  • Once fully cooled, slice the bread with a bread knife/serrated knife and get down to attacking it!

The flax-seed worked wonders in place of the egg, and so did the mango puree in place of the fat. No doubt we loved the bread to the hilt. First day we ate it, I thought – “Hmm, for my first bread, not bad at all, but next time I could maybe do a better job” ‘cos I thought the flavour of mango didn’t quite hit the right notes. I did think the flavours would show up much more the next day. And so with the slightest of hopes, I despondently dumped the loaf into an air-tight container, stashed it away in my fridge, and pretended I was suffering from amnesia and forgot all about it. 3 days later, I decided to treat myself to a slice and when I bit into it, the mango flavour hit me right where it should and I was doing the tango without my knowledge, like a happy dance, cos I knew right then that this recipe was a keeper! Try it, and you’ll know precisely why, and let me take a bet you’ll do the happy dance as well :D

24 responses to “Fat-less Spiced Mango-Pistachio Bread

  1. Oh man, thats is so gorgeous…haven’t seen anything beautiful like this :) :) Wow, mangos and pistachios…got to be very tasteee, awesome job :)

  2. No words to express!
    Great job, nice clicks, wonderful recipe, yummy ingredients. What a way to bid adieu to the King of Fruits!!

  3. This looks awesome, I love nutty bread and cakes, hell, I like nuts in all dishes ! ….love the fact it is fatless too…very good click !

  4. Wow ! Probably this is the most innovative of the recipes I have ever seen ! All the ways you find use for mangoes?! :) Great idea..

  5. Madhuri, that is definitely mouth watering :)

  6. Awesome recipe Madhuri, love to try this bread. Will let you know!!!

  7. Dude…this is indeed a fitting farewell to the mango season!

    I would not have gotten anywhere if I have cut mango slices – except a big burp after gulping all of it down!

    There is no way in heaven or hell I could tell that this is your first time baking bread! Kudos…good job!

  8. Looks fab ….love the combo ..drooling over it now …bookmarked

  9. Looks absolutely delicious Madhuri. Love the pistachios on top!!

  10. Omg, with all those nuts bread looks scrumptious, beautiful and irresistible..

  11. Very very innovative, Madhuri !!! U r just grt :D

  12. So gorgeous!!! I love mango and anything mango flavored! pistachios are definitely a bonus!

  13. fatless and sinful all rolled into pistachios. yummm!!

  14. thats worth..waiting..madhuri..!! well a family..recipe..!! would be loved by all..just have to buy flax seeds..and well have to try soon..and wait for my master tasters ( my sons candy and choky) to give the feedback..!! tnx for this..

  15. Sigh! I have already drooled enough over the ‘preview’ of this sinful looking thing Madhuri!! So u have mango in ur freezer is it?? That’s grt as I don’t have any :-D. So I will come over for a weight-loss-programme-ended -successfully-special-Mango-dessert. And u bet, am gonna try this out (with mango from ur freezer,lol!!)

  16. Fat-free,full of mangoes and topped with pistachios..now when did dieting get so easy..??Love the nutty slices,but seems like I’ll have to wait till next year to try this one out.But no worries,even I had truckloads of mangoes this season,so happily waiting for the next season now!!

  17. Ohhhhh..I m just droooling over that bread…..Just want to grab that complete loaf dear……yummmy yummy

  18. looks so pretty with the pista…yummy..

  19. what a delicious bread madhuri!! Mango n Pista Combo sounds delicious

  20. Everyone has said so much about this and left me with no words. Yet…yet…yet I can feel my feet craving to do the happy dance. So…you know what’s going to happen next, don’t ya?!

  21. Lovely to be here Madhuri. Came from facebook, following the mango bread. Great clicks and good presentation.
    Going to follow you to get more of such delicacies.
    Best wishes.

  22. Wow! It looks great… and fat free!! Simply wonderful!

  23. Congratulations on getting such great results on your first attempt. I also tried mango bread today, and was happy with how it turned out. I want to try yours next.

  24. How mean can u get!!!U are so tempting me with this bread and not sharing any.Send me some soon or I am coming straight there and going to make u bake one for me..Seriously,this looks soooo gorgeous and I can’t stop drooling…

Leave a Reply

