Creamy Spinach Soup with crunchy Croûtons

It’s been a long day, work has totally kicked your butt, you are cranky and hungry and tired. What do you throw together for dinner? What is easy and delicious and requires practically no effort on your part? And most importantly, makes you feel better? And while we’re at it, raise your hand if you’re like me and answer – ‘Soup!’, yeaaaaaah I like you. My love affair with Soups began when I was a little girl, still running around in a frock with a doll clutched in my hand. Amma tells me that I would eat my soup only if a restaurant ambience was created – dim lights, soft music, a neat table setting, good company, cheer and laughter…all of it! So does this mean I’ve been such a romantic fool right from the start? I’ll leave that to you to fathom ;)

Oh and btw, the bowl and plate in the pictures were gifts for my Birthday from a dear friend – Shubhada. Shubs, thanks so very much! As you can see, I’m putting them both to good use, and you bet CCN will see more of them with time!

Ingredients:

For the Soup:

  • Spinach/Palak – 1 bunch (cleaned and blanched)
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium-sized; diced)
  • Garlic – 2-3 pods (crushed with a knife)
  • Salt – to taste
  • White pepper – to taste
  • Water – as required
  • Oil – 1 tsp

For the Croûtons:

  • Whole wheat Bread – 1-2 slices (diced into 1/2″ pieces)
  • Ghee – 1 tbsp (for frying)

Procedure:

  • In a wok, heat the oil and saute the diced onions and crushed garlic till the onions are cooked nice and tender, and turn transparent.
  • Cool the blanched spinach and saute-ed onions and garlic.
  • Once cooled, blend to a smooth paste in the mixer.
  • Return the ground paste to the wok (no need to use any oil this time), add enough warm water and bring your soup to the desired consistency and let the soup boil for about 3-5 minutes on a medium flame. If you keep the consistency thick, you will have a nice, creamy soup. If you make it watery, it would make a ‘Punjabi Palak Shorba’; take your pick. I like mine a little thick b’cos soups are usually my dinner nowadays and I try to get in as much as can to fight those hunger pangs.
  • In the meanwhile, make your croûtons. Fry the diced bread pieces in the ghee till they turn golden brown. Remove from ghee and drain onto a tissue paper. Let it cool for a couple minutes. They will turn crunchy once they cool a bit.
  • Your soup should be ready by now. Add salt and pepper to taste, remove from flame, pour into bowls and serve hot with the crunchy croûtons. I served mine with croûton and home-made bread-sticks (which I will post soon).

All-in-all, this wouldn’t take you more than 15 minutes to fix, and the weather is so conducive for soups, that I could eat them for every meal and feel so good about it. Slurrrrrrrrrrrrrppp!! Soups up!

I also have a little something else to share – a token from a friend and blogger, and you can read about it here. Deepa, thanks so much for making this special badge for me! I’m glad we were able to fight those plagiarists and that Facebook actually paid heed to our requests and blocked them out finally. Phew…it was a tough fight, and I’m glad we won in the end!

Here’s the badge Deepa made for me. Isn’t that sweet? -

17 responses to “Creamy Spinach Soup with crunchy Croûtons

  1. Sluuurr..ping the yummilicious looking soup right off the monitor…. So u wanted a ‘restaurant setting’ at home, wonder how your Mom manged it. LOL!! Congrats on winning hands up against plagiarism!!!!!!

  2. hmmmIt looks so comforting….the bowl really is lovely
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com

  3. Hahaha..anytime dear..the arrangement looks awesome and ur soup looks very yummy.

  4. oops!! sorry..loved the badge too :)..

  5. this looks yum and indeed a beautiful presentation just like served in a restaurant

  6. Wat a beautiful bowl of comforting soup, looks fabulous..

  7. This spinach soup does make me oh-so-hungry…best part is I can make myself a comforting bowl right at home without stepping my foot out…..All I need to do is dim the lights :) Yum-de-dum!

  8. Oh and yes, that badge you SO deserve!

  9. lol at the ambience thing… I would be on your side… I love to have soups in such a “romantic” setup. Soup makes me feel so warm.. Beautiful clicks Madhu

  10. Madhuri, congrats on your award, that sure is sweet !!! And, wow, what a beautiful green color of the soup.

  11. woow..the soup looks so warm and comforting…slurp..

  12. Award looks cool and the soup looks hearty and comforting!
    Regarding the flax seed replacement query I followed this dear – http://www.egglesscooking.com/2008/10/15/egg-replacement-event-flaxseed-meal/

    I guess you can go ahead with your measurements too. Guess it should not hurt the recipe. Let me know how it turned out.

  13. In the first two pictures, the cream make an A ( if you look sideways) – and I’m going to take it that that A stands for my name. Which means, this is my bowl of soup. Really. So, get your hands off – actually no, get your hands on working and make me another bowl – will ya, please?

    Love the breadsticks too and waiting to see ur recipe on that.

    Congrats on the award – well deserved!!

  14. Lovely!!! Whats more comforting than the thought of a bowl of soup, topped with heapfulls of croutons and bread sticks…sitting n the couch and watching a movie???
    oh Awesome..

    Shobha

  15. That bowl of healthy spinach soup make me want to grab some right away! ! The pics look fabulous and nice presentation! Congrats on the award too.

  16. Hi Madhuri,
    Chanced upon your blog recently. Love the recipes.
    For the spinach soup, what’s the right way to blanch the spinach so as to retain its colour and nutrition.

    Dipika

    • Thanks so much for your kind and encouraging words Dipika. Im so glad you enjoyed the site. The right way to blanch spinach would be to – Take a wide and deep bottomed vessel (proportionate to the amount of spinach you’re blanching). Fill it up 3/4 full with water, dunk in your cleaned spinach (whole, dont chop), and let it boil on a medium flame till the spinach is all wilted and forms one big mass. Spoon out the spinach, cool on a wide plate, and tada, you’re good to go :)

Leave a Reply

