Bread Upma

For one, I cannot eat bread every other day, and two, even if it’s once in a while, I need to spruce it up and make it as interesting as possible, or it won’t just go in! Yeah, I admit I’ve been spoilt real bad by my folks with all the variety of good food et al. Bread is a very very rare thing at Amma’s, and if bread was brought home, most often than not, it meant that one of us was down with fever, because that is one of the few palatable foods when you have a fever and your taste buds are dead! Old habits die hard, and bread comes even into my home only about 3-4 times a year, unless I need to make us some garlic bread to go with an appropriate entree once in a while. How some people can eat bread dipped in tea/coffee for breakfast every other day, gets me thinking if they have any taste buds at all! Ick!

I’d got some bread to make us some Bread Dahi-vada last week, and was left with a packet full of the crust and a few last slices (yeah, that includes the 2 end slices that no one wants to eat!). I wracked my brains to put it to some use other than feeding the neighbourhood stray-pups, which I had already done. Anymore bread crusts from me, and the poor pups would have fled the neighbourhood for good!

Ingredients:

  • Whole Wheat Bread – 1 loaf (I used just the crust from one loaf + 4-5 slices)
  • Onions – 2 nos (medium-sized; finely chopped)
  • Tomatoes – 2 nos (medium-sized; finely chopped)
  • Green Chillies – 2 nos, slit
  • Curry leaves – a sprig, finely chopped
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a handful, finely chopped
  • Lime juice – from 1 lime
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida – a pinch
  • Oil – 2 tsps
  • Water – 1/4 cup

Procedure:

  • Crumble the bread crusts/slices with your hand, onto a large, wide plate.
  • Gradually sprinkle the water with your hands, onto the bread and crumble gently, some more, to ensure all of the bread is moistened. Make sure you don’t overdo the water.
  • Now add the lime juice to the crumbled bread and give it a stir so it is well incorporated. Let the bread soak in the water and lime juice for atleast 10 minutes.
  • In the meanwhile, heat oil in a wok. Pop the mustard seeds and add the asafoetida.
  • Add the finely chopped onions, green chillies and curry leaves. Saute till onions are tender.
  • Add the tomatoes, and after 2 minutes, add the turmeric powder and salt. Stir well and cook till mushy.
  • Add the crumbled bread, stir well and cook on a medium flame for 4-5 minutes. Remove from flame.
  • Garnish with coriander and serve hot.

12 responses to “Bread Upma

  1. Very inviting bread upma and lovely click! As I keep telling you, u need to contemplate a change in vocation and become a food writer and photographer!!

    And psst.. I feel ravenous and have severe food cravings when I have fever:-))

  2. Wat a better way to enjoy leftover breads, very useful for me..thanks for sharing dear..

  3. hey this is one of my favorite snacks..a great change from the usual poha and upma..love the click..wish could grab the plate..yummy..

  4. this is surely my best bet on days when I am utterly lazy and have slices of bread resting over for days and peeking at me from the fridge counters! I love them chatpata and make them exactly like urs with lime juice to give that zing in flavor. I am going through hunger pangs as I see these here! Nice clicks. Keep it up!

  5. PS: Madhuri, you should definitely post a write up on your secrets of good photography.

  6. First time here.You got a wonderful space with a lot of delicious unique recipes.

  7. Luv anything with bread, looks yum!

  8. Thanks All!
    @Mallika: Sure lady, secrets are on the way :)

  9. vow madhuri …. good as i always throw the bread and feel for it later

    let me try this /

Leave a Reply

