Sweet-potato Chat

The benefits of sweet potatoes need no introduction. I’d put my hands up for them any day! They’re a sweet source of good, anti-inflammatory nutrition, rich in anti-oxidants, excellent source of Vitamins A and C, have unique proteins, and the list goes on… Surprisingly, even though they are sweet, they are very good for diabetics too. So that gives everyone a reason to try this out. I made this healthy snack for us yesterday evening, to ward off the looming Monday-blues settling over us like a dark, gloom-laden cloud. I was starting to feel miserable that Sunday was getting over too soon, and what best to cheer me up than some healthy, sweet taters!

Ingredients:

  • Sweet Potatoes – 4-5 nos (pressure cooked/steamed, de-skinned, and diced into small 1/2 inch cubes)
  • Onions – 2 nos (large-sized; finely chopped)
  • Tomatoes – 2 nos (large-sized; finely chopped)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – a handful, finely chopped
  • Lime juice – from 1 whole lime
  • White Pepper powder – 1 tsp
  • Chat powder – 1 tsp
  • Kala Namak/Black salt – 1 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Muffin-cup shaped chat katoris (optional) – as many as you would require (I used up about 20 of them for the 2 of us)
  • Sev (optional) – 1 cup (I din’t use any)

Procedure:

  • Combine all the ingredients together in a large bowl and stir well to incorporate.
  • Scoop spoonfuls of the mixture into the muffin-cup shaped chat katoris (if using), garnish with sev and serve immediately to prevent the chat katoris from getting soggy. For a healthier version, just garnish  with sev (if using) and serve in a plate/deep bowl.

This one is off to Divya’s ‘Sunday snacks – Healthy snacks‘ at Dil-se, and also, Srivalli’s ‘Kid’s delight: Wholesome Snacks

20 responses to “Sweet-potato Chat

  1. Your recipes and pictures are getting better and better by the day… I’m a chaat fanatic, and this does no good to me. WHY? Lady, I am drooling and I CANNOT eat this. Yea, I can make it.. but I want it NOW outta that picture. YUMMMAAX!

  2. Lovely picture! Great recipe.

  3. Tongue tickling!! Yummm… Now you gotta tell me where can I get those katoris!!

  4. Thanks All!
    @Suma: You get them in this small store in Sheshadripuram. I bought just 1 set (each set has 22 such katoris) to try. It’s really good. Im going again to that area soon (my friend lives there). Will get you some if you like. Let me know how many sets you need.

  5. Cute and attractive chaat….lovely recipe!

  6. Hi, lovely chat recipe.thanks a lot..btw, i have those moulds..here i use it for small pastry tarts…can u pls tell me the ingredients(from the package…) for that katoris..so that i can try them at home! plssssssss.this is mouth watering!!!!! i need to try it out.

    • Hi Arathi,
      The packet did’nt have information dear. It was just wrapped in stiff cling film. I’ll surely try and get you the details soon. My gut feeling is that it was made from a mixture similar to samosa dough or kachori dough – a mixture of maida, butter and salt, and patted into the metal tart containers for the shape, and then deep-fried. Hope this helps for now.

  7. Good pic and a lovely dish too! Feel hungry looking at it!

  8. Sudha Narayanan

    Aww cute katoris.. :) I love sweet potatoes, whereas the hubby does not.. I guess this is one way both can enjoy it.. Will try this out..

    • The katoris were really cute, which is why I flipped for them in the first place! Do try it without telling A. He wont know its sweet potato unless you tell him. He’ll think the sweet taste comes from the chat concoction. Psst…I hope he doesn’t see this comment of mine ;)

      • My H doesnt like Sweet Potatoes.. coz he was cheated saying they were potatoes in his childhood..
        I definitely need to use them in my chat… and try…

  9. I want !

  10. wowwwww..I want these..how I wish I could visit you for this..too good. what a click..mouth watering and delicious..

  11. Good enough for any child to fall in Love with this.Excellent presentation.

  12. Thank you for the lovely entry!

  13. Wow! these looks awesome and yum!! where did u get the chat katoris from or did u make them?…they are sooo cute and look awesome for a snack….for kids and adults.

  14. Ruchika Singhal

    Hi… please tell me the name of the shop at Shesadripuram>… thanks

Leave a Reply

