Akki Rotti

This was perfect for the lazy weather outside. I hadn’t made Akki Rottis in a while…and then my friend Sudha was raving about akki rottis couple of days back, I knew I had to have them too! Sudha, I’m dedicating this post to you :)

Ingredients:

  • Rice flour – 4 cups
  • Jeera / Cumin seeds – 3 tsps
  • Onions – 5-6 nos (large size, finely chopped)
  • Carrots – 3-4 nos (medium sized, grated)
  • Fresh Methi leaves/Sabsige Soppu (Dill weed) (optional) – 2 handfuls (finely chopped)
  • Avarekalu Beans (optional) – 2 cups (cooked with salt, till soft)
  • Green Chillies – 3-4 nos (finely chopped; adjust quantity to suit your taste)
  • Coriander/Cilantro – one big sprig (finely chopped)
  • Grated Coconut (optional) – 1/2 cup
  • Salt – to taste
  • Buttermilk/Curd – 1 cup
  • Water – as required

You could even use kasuri methi if you do not have fresh methi leaves handy. This recipe can be used to make Ragi Rottis too. Just replace the rice flour with Raagi flour.

I normally make a dry mix of the ingredients (except buttermilk and water) and keep it handy in my refrigerator, which makes it easy to fix breakfast easily in the rush hour on weekdays.

Procedure:

  • Mix all the dry ingredients together (except buttermilk and water). Ensure even mixing.
  • Now, little by little, add the buttermilk (secret to soft akki rottis) and water.
  • Keep mixing the dough till you have a chappathi dough like consistency. The trick here is to get the perfect consistency. If the dough becomes too watery, it will be difficult to pat the rottis. And if the dough is too hard, it will crack while patting and you’ll get really hard rottis.
  • Make small portions of the dough, each about the size of an orange.
  • Take a a tawa/griddle and smear some oil on it.
  • Now, take an orange-sized portion of the dough and start spreading the dough on the griddle slowly by patting in all directions (Use the inner-side of your fingers collectively to pat). You could smear some oil on your fingers to ease the patting process. Or you could even wet your fingers before patting.
  • Pat in all directions to form a circular rotti. The thinner the rotti, the crispier it gets, the tastier it becomes!
  • Once done, make 5-6 random holes on the rotti with your index finger (just the size of the tip of your finger) and drizzle a drop of oil into each hole.
  • Now, cover with a large plate and cook the rotti on a low/medium flame till it turns golden brown (there is no need to cook on both sides unless your dough was very watery and the rotti is not cooked well).
  • Repeat with each orange-sized dough portion.
  • Serve hot with freshly churned home-made butter (I love this combo! ;)) or with coconut chutney. It tastes great even with tomato ketchup!

8 responses to “Akki Rotti

  1. Looks very tasty. Terrfic for breakfast..

  2. Hi Madhuri,
    Thanks so much for the post! Will surely try your version.. :)

  3. I had this yesterday for lunch at a professor’s place and was telling his wife that I came across this recipe in a blog, but yet to try it. Since it has veggies, it was pretty filling I should say :-).

  4. This brings back my nostalgia , my granny always used to give me as evening snack

    I called my granny and told this now ….am excited:)

    thnx

  5. I tried this one last night and I feared if I would get the dough right since you dint add an image of the dough for cross reference. But it came out really well :) Thanks to you to help me start trying to cook some good food outside the regulars . And yes, this is the first time I’ve had Akki Roti :) :) It was very filling. Since I dint have avarakelu, i used cauliflower instead keeping all the other ingredients just as mentioned above. Thanks Mads , u r the best !

Leave a Reply

