Nei Appam

An all time favourite, and the part I love most about Karthikai – Nei Appams! I would always ask Amma why she wouldn’t make it on any other day as a snack. I think its only after I grew old enough to realise the amount of love handles the appams give you, did I forgive Amma for not letting us indulge in this often ;) Don’t moms always know best?!! I think the yearly wait made the Nei Appams taste even better, and savour them even more! Want to know more about Karthikai festival and a very interesting symbolism? Lookie here.

As promised, Im sharing Amma’s recipe for Nei Appam, and hope you will find it useful. Happy Karthikai wishes to y’all! :D

Ingredients:

  • Rice – 2 measures (Amma uses the ‘paav’ glass for her rice and jaggery measures here)
  • Jaggery – 1 measure
  • Grated Coconut – from 1/2 shell
  • Dried Copra – 1 cup (finely chopped pieces)
  • Ripe Bananas – 2 nos (medium sized)
  • Elaichi powder – to taste

For Frying:

  • Ghee and oil in equal measures.

Equipment: Paniyaram chati / Appam skillet / Pancake puff skillet, and an Appam Stick to remove the appams from the skillet. This is what the skillet looks like:

kuzhi-copy

Serves: Makes about 40-45 pieces (yield could be more if the impressions in your appam skillet aren’t too deep)

Procedure:

  • Soak the rice for 8 hours.
  • Grind the rice to a smooth paste with as less water as possible.
  • Add the jaggery and bananas. Grind for 5 more minutes.
  • Transfer to a deep vessel and add the grated coconut, copra pieces and elaichi powder.
  • Allow batter to sit for 3 hours.
  • Heat the appam skillet and pour 2 tbsps oil + 2 tbsps ghee in each impression (Keep the oil : ghee ratio as 1:1 – this is the secret to perfect Appams).
  • Fry on a really low flame, till the appams turn golden brown all around (Use the steel appam rod to turn the appams around once one side is uniformly done).
  • Allow to cool and serve warm. Sinfully yummmmmmmmy! ;)

12 responses to “Nei Appam

  1. I have the paniyaaram pan, so I think I can give this a try soon :)

  2. Wooooooooooow – my favorite – has turned out perfect! But I like it without the bananas – I usually deep fry these – but will try out your way in a paniyarachatti.

  3. can rice flour be used instead of rice ( soaking and grinding is an elaborate process). If so can i have the receipe.

    • Saraswathi,
      Unfortunately, rice flour cannot be used to make nei appams, cos the consistency is very important here. This is the traditional recipe, and Im sure you will like it if you try making it. Soaking and grinding the rice will hardly take you 15-20 minutes in all! Im sure you can manage to devote that much time and energy to make the prasadam for Karthikai Deepothsavam :)

  4. appams looks yum. Typical Palghat iyer way :)

  5. I make them without bananas…and always thought that the vellam quantity I was given(1:1) was more. Looking forward to try this one with bananas, and hope I do not have to wait long for the kitchen to be up and running.
    Just looked at the traffic feed tab and realised it no longer reads ‘home volta’ as it used to, instead is the Nigerian flag there:)…one of the many things I have to get used to!

  6. They look sinfully delicious and nice golden color…2 tbsp oil + 2tbsp ghee in each impression???I think one appam is enough for one week workout dear..but sometimes one has to do that sinful things to enjoy these delicacies..

  7. Thanks Madhuri…
    I have Amma’s recipe handy :) Will b making according to that and sharing…
    I cant stand Banana’s in Nei Appam…
    Minus banana’s it stands heavenly :)

  8. Hi Mads,
    Thanks for this recipe before the festival!! Will surely get to try it, because I started today :).. So Sunday, your nei appams it is!! :)

  9. These look picture perfect! And I agree whole heartedly that moms are always right – that’s what I teach my daughter too! LOL!

    Bookmarking for my Karthikai feast! Thanks to you and your mom!

  10. Hey thanks Madhuri, I love this but somehow never got around to make perfect ones. I was using wheat flour to make it – a friend had given me that recipe. I’ll try your method and hope it comes out yum. Also I don’t have appam chatti here, I’ll just have to make pancakes with them for now.

  11. Hi Mads,
    I should thank you a ton for this nei appam recipe.. It turned out wonderfully well.. :) I generally use only oil for my appams, but the combination of ghee and oil was really really good! The touch and feel of the appam was also just perfect!!! Thanks a ton!

Leave a Reply

